We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort in Napa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cottages of Napa Valley
Ranked #1 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Resort in Napa”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stumbled upon this place while trying to figure out where to stay for my latest Napa vacation. We rented the 2 bedroom unit, the place was beautifully renovated, spaceous and bathrooms that I wish I had in my house. The amenities were great, the stocked fridge, the breakfast baskets, the firepits, and the best amenity the compilmentary rides into Yountville for dinner. The entire property is quaint and well maintained and the staff are wonderful and always accomodating. There are nine cottages and Mike was nice enough to give us a tour of many of them and they are all lovely with the renovations done with thought and detail to preserve the rustic charm. I have told all my friends and colleagues about the place and a colleague has already booked her 40th birthday party with them. It is the perfect place for a small wedding or celebration. I believe this will be my new home for my annual visits to the valley.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluEyes1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    16
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
26
440
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The reviews on TripAdvisor steered us to our two night booking in early May; had to come back on here to provide further validation to all the positive comments about The Cottages of Napa Valley.

The privacy of each cottage creates an instant feeling of home. Thoughtful touches like a stocked fridge, bags of chips and candy, and of course, the fantastic breakfast basket (with NY Times) make it easy to unwind. Each cottage has its own outdoor firepit in the front along with a patio in the back -- my only complaint was having to neglect one in order to enjoy the other. It was that great.

Mike and Dawn were super welcoming. The complimentary rides into Yountville for dinner are very convenient. They have lawn games available in the check-in area -- bocce and croquet -- if you're hanging around the property and itching for some activity.

We loved it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teschbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I didn't take pictures, because all the ones shared here do a very good job of preparing you for the space. One thing I wanted to know was whether or not our fire pit was really private.

It is.

The shrubbery is positioned in such a way, at such a height that you rarely see or hear anyone. You feel like you have the place to yourself. It's heaven. I suspect the owner doesn't worry about filling out every single cottage like a hotel does and what you get in return is the feeling of staying at someone's country home. I was in Cottage 3 and it was just right. Easy to get in and out and to our car. Everything to start a fire was provided and we didn't even have to clean up afterwards! Talk about spoiled!

We got the smores kit and OMG so good! Ordered a bottle of red wine and that first night with yummy smores and a glass of red just melted my stress away. This would be the perfect place to rent out for your wedding. There is a nice big courtyard, where you can sit and enjoy the weather. You can take a bike ride into Yountville on the side street (avoiding traffic) and it takes you right into downtown Yountville.

We also had dinner at Ad-Hoc arranged for us by the staff and that was SO good. It was my birthday weekend and wow, what a way to really feel like a Princess! By the time we came home I was so beat. Also, it was SO nice to relax in that jacuzzi tub. WOW.

Want to know what else is cool? They've got Netflix and a Roku! I mean, its already heaven, but then techies like me can indulge a bit and still stay connected. Free wifi that's strong as well means that I could Yelp places without any issue before heading out.

Honestly, this is the best kept secret in Napa/Yountville. Why stay in $$$$$ Yountville when you can be a 10 minute bike ride away in heaven?

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. It just depends if you want a jacuzzi tub or a bigger porch, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rei A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We are so grateful to have discovered the Cottages of Napa Valley a few years ago. We stayed here in 2012 and returned again this May to celebrate our anniversary again. The cottages are a perfect blend of comfort and luxury. The attention to detail is great and the service is wonderful. The cottages are very private so perfect for a romantic getaway. The private fire pits for s'mores are a great treat along with the delicious breakfast baskets that await you from Bouchon every morning (YUM!!). A perfect location close to Napa and the wonderful town of Yountville is perfect. You will not regret a stay at the Cottages. We treated ourselves to a hot air balloon ride organized by the Cottages and it was absolutely perfect!! A wonderful place with wonderful service!!

Room Tip: Cottages away from the main office offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My recent trip to the Cottages of Napa Valley was a wonderful and relaxing experience. It was a really distinct and wonderful property to stay at. It is conveniently located near the highway but the setting made it feel like a cabin in the woods. The cottages gave you the comfort of home with a sense of luxury as well. The cottage had updated features with the most impressive being a large soaking tub. I thought an especially nice touch was each cottage has its own outdoor fireplace. This was the perfect way to relax after a long day of touring the valley. We also added the s ‘more package which was a delight and must do for any visitor.
Each morning you are greeted with a breakfast basket left which includes pastries from Bouchon, fresh orange juice and fruit. This was a wonderful way to start the day and it was really nice to have world class pastries delivered right to your doorstep. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They also provided an evening shuttle into Yountville which was a fantastic service. It was nice to go out to a wonderful dinner and not have to worry about who was driving home. It was an enjoyable relaxing experience and wonderful stay so close to the action of Napa but feel miles away.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mill3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

After a busy day of tasting, it was wonderfully romantic to retire to our own private cottage. The cottages themselves were clean, comfortable and just generally fantastic. I highly recommend getting the S'mores package! It was lovely to roast marshmallows right outside out cottage then come inside for a swim in the tub. Even more exciting was the basket from Bouchon Bakery delivered by silent ninjas every morning. **Drool** Pastries, bread and fresh orange juice was the perfect start to each day. It was amazing how you could feel like you're out in the middle of nowhere but really you're 10 minutes away from all kinds of wineries and amazing restaurants. They have a free shuttle every night to Yountville so you can have a peaceful dinner without worrying about who's driving home. It was an absolutely lovely experience and I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong. We were in the King Cottage and it was roomy and very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erininseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Cottages of Napa Valley provided a wonderful weekend retreat! Tucked away off the road, they are beautifully appointed in California Mission style. The two bedroom was perfect for our family of five adults, with our 24 year old son on the very comfortable pull out couch, and the two couples in the king and queen bedrooms. Very spacious and after a long day of touring vineyards, such a peaceful setting to come back to - away from the crowds and bustle of a hotel or resort. We were so enchanted we canceled our dinner reservations and ate in, finding a well stocked kitchen for preparing a meal (although we picked up a meal) and a wonderful fire pit outside on the terrace surrounded by adirondack chairs. Mornings began with beautiful baskets of breads and pastries, fruit and juice from the local bakery left outside our door along with a newspaper. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
2.4 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#3 of 6 in Yountville
1,283 reviews
5.7 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
1.8 mi away
SENZA Hotel
SENZA Hotel
#3 of 30 in Napa
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottages of Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottages of Napa Valley

Property: The Cottages of Napa Valley
Address: 1012 Darms Ln, Napa, CA 94558-1011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottages of Napa Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 8 king cottages and a two bedroom suite centrally located in the napa valley, 2 miles south of yountville. Each cottage has a luxurious king bed, living room area, equipped kitchenette, gas fireplace, all in one room under a vaulted ceiling. Wi-fi, HDTV, bose system for music players, are all included. The bathroom has heated tiled floors, shower, and a deep-soaking tub sized for two. The romantic king cottages include a jacuzzi tub, and separate walk-in shower.Outside each cottage is your own fireplace stocked with wood each evening.A breakfast basket is delivered to the front porch each morning, with freshly baked pastries from Bouchon Bakery.Your own home in the heart of the wine country! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and Priceline so you can book your The Cottages of Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottages Of Napa Valley Hotel Napa
The Cottages Of Napa Valley CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing