We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2013

It was a while since I last stayed at River Terrace Inn. Loved it the first time and tried for a 2nd. Reading the reviews by other travelers made me nervous with my choice. I can see the reason for some of the high scores and other not so comments. The website was challenging to make a reservation direct -- called the hotel and they didn't even know of their promotions or specials. After negotiating about other sites prices was offered a very good rate! Check in ok-- not exciting or welcoming. Rooms average-- the beds however Wonderful!! Nice shower too. The bartender on for Fri and Sat - was nasty and rude. We missed the complimentary testing by 5 minutes and he made us the butt of his jokes with other guests. Breakfast is buy as you eat-- or go their restaurant (visit Oxbow Market instead--short walk from hotel) Doesn't seem boutiquety anymore -- more chain like, but would recommend for comfort and convenience -- and shop for best price.

Room Tip: River view rooms not worth the extra $ -- Village rooms on weekends get to watch hot air balloons f...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hr1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear hr1313,

We are very sorry that we did not impress you this time around. I can assure you that being an independant boutique property is very important to us and we want all of our guests to experience this charm. We are sorry we missed our opportunity with you during your stay. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy our beds, showers and convenience to nearby attractions. We do hope you consider us again on your next stay, we would love the opportunity to win you back as a guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,728)
There are newer reviews for River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

We had a problem at check in. The front desk manager seemed to be incompetent, having to rely on his staff to correct the problem. When we stopped by the desk three different times to speak with him, he was never available and the clerks said he didn't have a pager/phone. The hotel itself is nice but lack of professionalism hurt. Good size rooms and very clean. Friendly bartender.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in September 2012. The staff was friendly, and the location was convenient if you had a car. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was nice, with a focus on local wines. Overall stay was pleasant, but forgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psychodana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Hi psychodana, please don't forget about us!! We are so appreciative of your review, thank you for pointing out some great elements of your stay with us. We would be excited to welcome you back in the future, and hopefully for a longer stay! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We could not stand it. Rooms are old, dark and roaches. Lobby is too dark. Stay away. Good thing is I asked for refund and I got my money back. I did not stay a min. There are a lot better choices around. Try Andaz

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank kasis1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Hello kasis1212, we thank you for taking the time to review our property. We do find your feedback troubling as we have recently completed a renovation of all of our guest rooms, the new interior design is fresh, clean & modern which our guests have enjoyed. We are surprised to hear them described as dark & old. We also consistently receive recognition for the cleanliness of our rooms. This is something our entire staff takes pride in, I do hope that if you found a insect in your room this was communicated to our team as this is not feedback we receive. I would really appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience, please reach out to me at shapp@riverterraceinn.com or 707-320-6910. We work very hard to provide a comfortable guest experience at our property and this feedback is something that we take very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

All pillows and blankets smell with people head smell. Despite a request for change, we think they need to replace all as the new set also smelled. Other than that the location is great as the downtown Napa and the Silverado trail is minutes away. Gym equipment is good. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jpaniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Hi Jpaniti, thank you for taking the time to provide our team with your feedback from your stay. We are happy to hear you appreciated our great location, our guests find it very easy to get out & about in Napa and return to River Terrace Inn for relaxation. Thanks for recognizing our brand new gym equipment, it made its debut in October! While the fitness area is boutique, the equipment is state of the art! We will look into your feedback regarding the bedding and linen, we recently renovated our rooms and with this design, we removed the traditional blanket/comforter style bedding and in place use a modern design top sheet, the full bed set is laundered everyday! We pride ourselves on cleanliness, and be confident this information is being reviewed with our team as guest experience is a number one priority. We hope to see you back at River Terrace Inn very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Very comfortable beds! Our room was a king with a nice view of the river. Very quiet, casual, and comfortable. Friendly staff. Near the Oxbow center, which was great for breakfast, lunch or dinner at reasonable price. We will stay here again for our Napa wine experience.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
Thank golfergary57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHapp, Director of Sales at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Hello golfergary57, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you found our property as special as we do! We agree the proximity to Oxbow Market is such a nice amenity! We look forward to your return to River Terrace Inn, your loyalty to our property means a lot to our entire team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Checked in late on our spontaneous road trip with no reservation during peak season, late August, at least it seemed like it. I cannot give you a great review on the rooms, we had to take a wheelchair accessible room with special accommodating amenities. But if our room was any indication then I am sure the remaining are fine.
The great thing about this hotel is that it is only about one block from the famous 'Wine Train' station that tours Napa Valley. We didn't have time to partake in this excursion but have heard nothing but things about it from friends. We will get a chance in the future to enjoy it though and will not hesitate to stay at the same hotel.
We were too late to get a reservation in the fine restaurant Cuvee in our hotel so we walked next door to the Westin restaurant - La Toque. Wow. Not good wow. Please see our review of the 'La Toque' establishment separately.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, creek side is quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHapp, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear mjstacey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. We hope you have the opportunity to return to Napa and River Terrace Inn, we do have great packages that include the wine train experience. Thank you again for your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £181 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing