We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
romford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely location”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel was the first of our California trip. We stayed here to combine our visit with the nearby wine train experience (it's a 5 minute walk). After finding it, we found ourself in a nice relaxing clean and modern hotel. The staff were friendly upin arrival and gave us all the information we needed. Free wireless internet and a fridge were in our room which was nice. We were staying as bed and breakfast which meant you ate in the Cuvee restaurant which was just across the car park. (The food was lovely). The location is lovely due to being in Napa which is very tranquil and pretty. The hotel offers. Free bikes to hire which we took of advantage of and had a lovely ride around town. Napa like I said is beautiful and relaxing and the hotel fits nicely into it all. Very pleasant stay whilst we were there. Tip- ask for a room over looking the river.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonye6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for a lovely review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Cuvee is certainly a treat, and we are pleased to hear you like it so much! We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. Please join us again whenever you visit Napa, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    543
    185
    67
    43
See reviews for
219
940
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel in downtown Napa. The service was excellent, the view was pretty and the beds were comfy! I appreciated the front hotel clerk Eric, he was very helpful and knowledgeable as to the surrounding area and the local wineries. Thank you for a very nice stay!!!

Room Tip: Get the room with the balcony over looking the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaDeb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Eric will certainly be recognized for his efforts in assisting you, and creating a lasting impression. We hope that you'll continue to choose us whenever you visit Napa, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garberville, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My family and I paid for a so-called "River View Suite" with a balcony. When we entered the room, we thought that there must have been some sort of mistake. The room was very small and cramped, and the balcony was so small that two people could barely move past each other. The view was of a muddy, bushy river, not much to speak of.

As we got settled in, we became aware that the room was not cleaned very well. We found a pair of men's underwear in the corner, a disgusting pile of hair on the floor of the bathroom, and long dark hairs in the sheets of the bed. We were grossed out.

The pool was very small. And completely in the shade of the building of the hotel, and the trees by the river. Hanging out by the pool was slightly depressing.

On our first full day in the room, we went out into town until 4:30 in the afternoon, and when we returned, the room had not yet been cleaned!!! We were pooped out from our day, and our room had not yet been serviced!!! We were ready to order some room service, and watch a movie in the room... so we had to call for a maid to come and take out our trash and bring us fresh towels.

Our hotel included a Bed and Breakfast package, which provided breakfast in the adjacent restaurant, Cuvee. Our first morning there was Mother's day, and when we arrived at the restaurant for breakfast, we were told that they wouldn't be able to seat us until 2:30pm in the afternoon without a reservation. Hmmm... that would have been a nice piece of information for the front desk at the hotel to provide us with before we showed up expecting breakfast. It sort of ruined the mood of mother's day :(

I won't stay at the River Terrace Inn again, and I don't suggest that you do either. I will try the Westin next door.

Room Tip: Try the Westin Hotel next door instead of staying at the River Terrace Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank mom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We can assure you this is not the norm, and we hope to make it up to you on a future visit. We will definitely address the housekeeping timing with our team, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to the opportunity to make up for your last experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2013

This Inn met our needs in every way. Our room overlooking the river was beautiful, spotless and quiet. The bed linens were luxurious and we enjoyed having the jacuzzi bath. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and eager to help. I think I most enjoyed hanging out by the fire pit at night, with a bottle of fine Napa wine and some wonderful Mexican take-out!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank geminiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. Our fire pit is definitely a treat, and we are happy to hear how much you liked spending time there. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to the River Terrace Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The room was clean. The bed (Serta Perfect Sleeper) was very comfortable. Extraordinary power in the shower heads. Very quiet. Parking was very accessible. There is easy access to Soscol Avenue. Personel at the hotel and the restaurant connected therewith were friendly and competent.

Room Tip: Our room facing the river was quiet. It may be different on the weekend. I suggest the 2nd or 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank clark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for such a pleasant review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again for a bite in the Restaurant Cuvee, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We found the River Terrace Inn via a holiday brochure and am so glad we booked it. It lived up to our expectations. Quiet location, quiet hotel even though we stayed at the weekend and fantastic room. We had a king size on the 3rd floor with jacuzzi bath and double headed shower. A small balcony overlooking the external bar area was great to sit in and chill out. Staff were so good and helpful.
Not too far to walk for a selection of restaurants

Room Tip: Sorry above re spa is not a reflection as I clicked this by mistake and can't get it removed! Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for an excellent review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We will certainly recognize our team for creating a lasting impression on you! We hope that you'll continue to choose us whenever you visit the Napa area, and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

River Terrace Inn was a recommendation to us and we weren't disappointed

The room was amazing - 3rd floor with small balcony that overlooked the front car park but got some late sun (between 5-7pm). 2 jet head shower, big bathroom and huge king sized bed - which was one of the most comfy I've ever slept in. It was so quiet that we slept with the balcony door open all night (the room had a fan as well as air con too which was great)

We had the 'quick breakfast' the next day - breakfast croissant (egg and bacon) and coffee which was added to our bill

The only negative was the initial service. We arrived at 3pm and asked for a recommendation on where we could do some wine and cheese tasting. The guy in reception was really clueless and didn't help at all - just saying that we could go the Oxbow. Met a young porter in the lift who was more helpful a gave us a couple of recommendations.

Strong 4 stars, would have been 5 if the initial service had been better

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j1mbojones94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely apologize for any short comings during your arrival process. We hope that you'll give us another chance to earn a full 5 stars! We look forward to your return, and seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
2,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#12 of 30 in Napa
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing