We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Surprise!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We heard of the River Terrace Inn from a business associate in the wine industry who knows Napa and gave it a raving recommendation... so we decided to try it. What a wonderful inn in a very convenient location. The room was well appointed and clean, and the hotel staff was most accommodating. It was chilly, so I especially liked the outdoor fire pit overlooking the river and walking path. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Napa!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We thank you for being a guest of ours and we truly appreciate your kind review. It's always nice to hear when our hotel is recommended and when the experience turns out so favorably. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that our staff could accommodate all your needs. We look forward to your return visit to Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    545
    186
    67
    43
See reviews for
220
940
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
State College, PA
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I have stayed at this property a couple of times. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly. Breakfast is below average, but if you eat elsewhere, it is a nice place to spray in Napa. The other issue is bringing luggage and briefcase up the steps is not convenient. The hotels restaurant Cuvée is close. Food is good, but average.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Beth, we thank you for being a return guest of ours. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to create an optimal guest experience. We hope you enjoyed your trip and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I recommend the River Terrace Inn because it's been very reliable each of the three times we've stayed and it's a better value than many other Napa hotels. It has nicely appointed rooms, comfortable beds, a helpful concierge, and it's close to downtown Napa if you have a car. Room service was always prompt and there is a nice patio in the back with gas fire pits.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyQTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Suzy, we thank you for being a return guest of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while with us. We are pleased to hear you find us to be such a great value, and we hope you will stay with us again during your next Napa visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Let me start by saying this is a nice property with a convenient location to head out to check out the various wineries. I especially liked it being walking distance to the Oxbow Market which had a number of fine eateries, etc. for a wide range of tastes and budget (we went there all three days we stayed). The room was fine, clean and well maintained. The fireplace area near the lobby was cozy. It was raining for a couple of days so we didn't get to sit outside by the fire pit.

The one thing I felt was missing somewhat was the personal touch or attentiveness from most of the staff (the bell men were friendly). My two calls to their reservations office before coming were less than great. The first call was to ask about rates and packages and when I was ready to book, was told to go to the website and do it since the same price was available there (instead of offering to do it on the phone). The second call was I thought a courtesy to let them know we would be late checking in (around close to midnight) due to flight cancellations and the person seemed disinterested and actually seemed to be having a side conversation while I was talking (I think I had to ask if she was still on the line once). During the stay three nights, I don't think I saw anyone at the concierge desk and when I asked for some info or recommendations from a couple of the desk staff, they didn't seem very knowledgeable (except to provide a couple of 2 for 1 winery passes). I only bring these things up so that someone will read these from the hotel and work on them to improve the customer experience, as I did like the hotel and received a very good advance purchase rate.

Room Tip: Go to the Oxbow Market down the street for a great selection of eateries, shops, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for taking the time to leave us your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our property and had the opportunity to explore the area. Your feedback is definitely valued, and we appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. It does give us the chance to make sure that each and every guest has an excellent experience from reservation to check out. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Octobrt 7, 2013: We had two rooms with river view. We had a quiet, scenic landscape. The staff was terrific. We arrived early and the bellman literally ran down the front steps and asked if he could check our luggage until the rooms were ready. The reception staff was extremely helpful, discussing the different vineyards' wine tastings, where to find the farmers' market (3 blocks away) and answered all of our other questions. The price at the River Terrace Inn was very reasonable. We had booked at the Napa Valley Lodge, Yontville at a higher price, but refused to check in because they did not tell us they were literally on the main highway, so we arrived at the River Terrace Inn in Napa with a bad impression. The staff at the River Terrace Inn overcame our disappointments and made our stay in Napa a great experience. This is the place to stay in Napa. Ask for a room with a river view.

Room Tip: Obtain a room with a river view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi Owen, thank you for sharing your hotel experience with us. We are extremely pleased to hear that you had such a great stay while with us. Our staff always makes it a priority to have guests feel welcome, and we are happy we could make your stay more enjoyable. We hope you enjoyed your time in Napa and will be able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

For the price I expected a much better hotel. My niece and I stayed here for 4 nights over the Veteran's Day holiday. The hotel was clean, the beds comfortable and the staff friendly. There was no tub but the room had a large walk-in shower which was nice.

Our room had 2 queen beds and a balcony but it was difficult to get to the balcony because the desk chair was in the way (it didn't fit under the desk), bumping up against the foot of one of the beds. The bathroom has one sink with a decent size vanity.

I will look elsewhere next time I visit Napa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateWheatRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi Kate, thank you for being a recent guest of ours. We appreciate your feedback and for bringing your concerns to our attention. We hope you enjoyed your time while in Napa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I come to Napa around 3-4 times a year and have stayed at a variety of hotels. This hotel was very basic, no frills, with dated, small rooms, and thin walls. For the price, this hotel is not worth it. Don't be fooled by the hotel photographs. The only photo that accurately portrays the room is the photo with the birch trees and the bed. This photo made me think that the hotel was more of a 'boutique' like hotel when actually it is more like a Holiday Inn. The photos do not portray how small the room is or how out dated the furniture and is. The walls are so thin that you can hear the ice machine, toilets flushing, the hot water heater, and word for word conversations in the neighboring rooms. I wouldn't complain about the hotel if the price reflected the conditions. I recommend spending an extra $50 for a room at the Andaz or Westin!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank hibariSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you for being a recent guest of ours. We value all guest feedback and we appreciate you sharing your concerns with us. We do hope you enjoyed our proximity to the beach and your stay overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#12 of 30 in Napa
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing