We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Say no to room 231” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Sammamish, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Say no to room 231”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Room is nice, however, when we checked in we were not informed that this room is over the fitness center. At 6:30 in the morning, we were awoken to the pounding of the treadmill below. This was not a faint pounding. When we told the front desk about our experience and disappointment, we were given the excuse that the gym was not to be used till 7 am. This seems wrong on a couple of levels... First, it happened and we were not able sleep in and enjoy our room, secondly why weren't we informed of this when we checked in and given the option for a different room. We were given a $50 credit, however, considering the cost of the room, it's not much of a discount. This was a disappointing resolution.

Room Tip: High floor, away from fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Kelly, we thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We apologize that your stay was disrupted due to the noise from the gym. We appreciate you bringing the concern to our attention so that we could make a gesture to remedy it onsite; however, we are disappointed that your stay with us wasn't more enjoyable. We do hope you had a fantastic time while in Napa and would consider joining us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    526
    173
    61
    37
See reviews for
204
904
24
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here 3 nights to sample some local wines. The location was good, within walking distance of many restaurants and a local food mall with everything from Oysters to Pizza stalls. Also a bakery for those morning cakes etc.
We took the wine tram which collected us from our hotel, took us to 4 vineyards for tastings and returned us back.
Only negative was that the bar closed at 10pm so no drinks when returning from the town!! Also we found out by accident that there was a cheese and wine tasting for free in the lobby/lounge one evening but nobody told us.
Oh and when asked where the nearest bank was we were directed a 15 minute walk away when we returned we found there was a bank on the same lot! Surely the staff should know?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Marcho, we thank you for being a guest of our hotel and we are glad we served as such a good location for you to explore Napa. Your feedback is valuable to us so we can determine which parts of our hotel guests like best and which areas we can improve on. We are glad you had a great time and hope you will be back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, PA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

First, I booked this hotel and was given a rate I agreed to accept. I asked for confirmation to be sent via email. I then had to phone back three times, on different days, asking for the confirmation. I was told dome email addresses don't go through. Really?!? Good thing I was persistent, because at check out we were charged about $45.00/ night more than I was quoted and I had to produce the email confirmation to gave the two rooms I booked, properly charged.

The night before I asked the hotel receptionist to recommend to recommend a casual, close, place to eat. She recommended Cole's Chop a House. She provided a terrible map, with no address, just a general direction to the center of town. We drove around send around the general area, finally arriving. It was not truly casual, and reservations are preferred, therefore we waited 45 minutes for a table. The food, though great, was not what one expects from casual dining, price wise. I believe if recommending such a restaurant pricing should be considered and reservations should be suggested.

Also, I had internet connection problems. I stood and waited at the front desk, for a gentleman using a computer to recognize my presence. After a minute I said excuse me. I asked him what the URL is to get on to the hotel internet. His response, "I have no idea. ". I figured it out myself, found him and told him the URL for future reference.

Breakfast: I had to ask for coffee, ask for silverware, then find the"waiter" to get creamer. No refreshing of the coffee, and at bill time I was headed to the front desk to ask for the. Charge to be sent to. My room, when who should finally appear, but the waiter carrying my bill.

Nice hotel, great location, clean rooms, but staff does not match the expectations of such an establishment from start to finish.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Beth, we thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback and share your concerns as it helps us to continually improve our processes and guest experience. With that being said, we do apologize sincerely for the difficulties you faced throughout different areas of your hotel stay. We want our guests to feel welcome and comfortable at every point of their stay and we are disappointed that we seemed to miss the mark on your most recent trip. We appreciate you being a guest and hope you return again soon so we may have another opportunity to wow you with our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

A great place to spend three days for our wedding anniversary. Staff was super friendly, room very cozy and most of all, quiet . Tub in room was amazing and so relaxing. We were greater with a hand written card from the staff congratulating us on our anniversary and that really impressed us. Really enjoyed our second stay and we'll be back again real soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear James, we thank you for your kind review. We are happy we could accommodate you during such a special occasion and make you feel so welcome. Thank you for being a guest of ours. We definitely look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were in Napa for a wedding; some of the wedding guests visited us at our hotel, and wished they had also stayed at the River Terrace. The room was pristinely clean and roomy; the bed was extremely comfortable; the staff was kind and accommodating. We had the breakfast buffet both mornings, which we ate outside on the patio that had a lovely view of the river. Frankie and Luke were especially attentive and delightful. Overall, the staff was excellent! We wished that we could have stayed longer, and will definitely stay here next trip to Napa.

Room Tip: Loved the view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxannesuggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you, Roxanne, for your kind review. We are happy to read that you were pleased with our accommodations. We appreciate your compliments to our staff as well, as it is always our top priority to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Napa and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel before check-in time & there was no problem getting into our room early. All the staff was very helpful & friendly. The beds were very comfortable. The room & bath were roomy & clean. We needed 2 beds so our only option was a room overlooking the parking lot, but it didn't really matter. It was very quiet. My only disappointment with this property was the location. I thought it would be closer to walk to restaurants, but it was still quite a walk & didn't feel real safe at night.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for being a guest of our hotel. We are glad to read that you had such a comfortable stay while with us. We value your feedback and your kind review. Thank you again. We hope to see you for another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Close to the any areas within walking distance. Professional, Friendly and Accommodating Staff. Rooms were clean and fresh. Very nice smaller hotel. Priced well for that area. Complimentary Wine reception was great!!

Room Tip: double Queen suite w/ balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heavenlyblu98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to leave us your wonderful review. We are happy you had such a great stay with us and that you were able to join us for our complimentary wine hour. We hope you enjoyed your Napa visit and will return again for a future stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing