We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location near river and Napa town center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great location near river and Napa town center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel accommodation top draw. Great rooms, go for high up river facing with balcony.

Poor attempt in running a bar and restaurant service. You should use the hotel for accommodation and pick one of the dozens of wonderful restaurants in walking distance.

Bar and restaurant staff far too in experienced to make the setup work.

Room Tip: Third floor river facing with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you, Alan for taking the time to share your hotel experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, but disappointed that we did not meet expectations at our restaurant. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, so we can address them for improvement. We hope you had a fantastic time in Napa and will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    526
    173
    60
    37
See reviews for
204
903
24
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Location & quality of the stay are very good. A boutique style hotel on the river and close to the Napa town restaurants are big pluses.

It is a shame that it's own restaurant was not better. Did not use it in the evening because of its limited menu. Breakfast service whilst willing had staff that were woefully undertrained and in experienced. Example the menu stated "Eggs anyway". I asked for a plain omlette to which the reply was fried, boiled, poached or scrambled. I suggested ask the chef to do scrambled but don't "scramble" the mixture. i got a fine omlette.

In the evening can back from a wonderful meal in town around 10pm to be told by a very yound front of desk that drinks were not available at this time because it was a hotel and guest wanted no noise and sleep. glad I did not eat there!

Room Tip: Ask for river facing and a balcony on 3rd floor. Most riverside rooms have but worth making sure. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Susan, thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you chose to stay with us while visiting Napa and that you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant, as it helps us to focus on areas we can improve. We hope you have a chance to visit us again in the future. Thank you for being a guest of River Terrace Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We just stayed one night at the River Terrace Inn and had a delightful experience. We had a lovely room with a balcony facing the river. It was quiet, the room was well appointed, and the staff could not have been nicer. Also, the location is excellent. Nearby is the Wine Train and Oxbow Market, and it is close to downtown Napa. The inn is revamping its restaurant and wanting to be more of a destination spot. Frankie Dietz was brought from the old restaurant to try to establish the new one, and she is doing a tremendous job. We brought a bottle of champagne to the dinner table, and because we were celebrating an anniversary, Frankie did not charge us a corkage fee. We had a very nice and relaxing dinner on the patio, the portions were not overly large and with nice presentation. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back face the river and have good views. Some rooms have a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy_collinshamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Judy, congratulations on your anniversary. We are glad that we could accommodate you for such a special occasion and that you enjoyed your time with us in Napa. We hope you had a chance to explore the area and will be back again to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We did stay here on a busy holiday weekend. However, after checking in we were not even given directions to our room! We had a package that included breakfast, on the first morning we waited almost an hour for eggs and bacon and granola. The portions were meager and insufficient to prepare us for a day of wine tasting. We forfeited the breakfast we had paid for on the second day. When it came time to checkout we were not even shown our receipt to approve, my husband requested a copy and upon checking found some incorrect charges. When we stated we did not use the minibar they didn't really argue but they did send someone up to our room to check before making the refund. They also were not very happy that they already ran the charge, without giving us the opportunity to check it first anyway! Bottom line this hotel just is not worth the money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Beki, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Your experience with our staff is not typical of the guest experience we provide. We apologize if you felt that we were inattentive or unfriendly in any way. That is never our intention and we never deem that acceptable. We appreciate you being a guest of our hotel and for sharing your feedback with us so that we may evaluate the matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our recent stay could not have been better. What is so nice is that the Inn is nestled a bit off the beaten path and not quite in the thick of the downtown area, but still close enough to be able to walk it easily.
Be sure to hook yourself up with Frankie Dietz , who was amazing. She knows the area well and always available for a good tip on choosing wineries, restaurants, and entertainment geared just for you. Luke, the server at the bar in the lounge, was simply charming; an absolute love!

Whence we return we will definitely do a repeat visit to the River Terrace Inn!

Linda (Ft. Lauderdale) and Sue (DC)
"The Sisters"

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We thank you for your review, Linda. Nothing pleases us more than when a guest says they will return. We are glad our staff and hotel could provide such an enjoyable stay for you. Hope your time in Napa was nothing short of spectacular. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed in May and had a wonderful visit. The hotel is very charming and conveniently located walking distance to downtown and Oxbow market and only a 15-20 minute drive to the wineries. The food was fantastic and the staff was very accommodating. Brian was especially courteous and helpful during our stay making sure al our needs were met. The rooms have all the modern conveniences but old world charm and we enjoyed sitting outside on the patio. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you, Pamela for your wonderful review. It's fantastic when we can highlight a guest's trip to Napa with a stay at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your hotel experience with us and are so glad you enjoyed the area and your stay. We invite you to come back and visit anytime and we thank you for being a guest of ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

It was nice to find a hotel today that isn't completely modern and sterile, but is still a nice quality venue. The staff was also genuinely friendly and helpful. Hats off to Frankie (and Luke), who were extremely knowledgeable about the area, and always seemed to be around, despite the time of day.
The location is perfect--close enough to allow an easy, daily exercise walk into town, but also enough off the busy path to allow for a quiet stay. Two blocks from the Wine Train also allowed for the convenience of walking from the train station (where we stored our bags while we were on the train).
Since the hotel is also an easy walk to the Oxbow Market, there was no need to pay for a hotel continental breakfast, and unless the hotel finds it is still a money maker, I would probably eliminate it. I can't imagine paying to eat English muffins and mixed fruit when such wonderful offerings are available just a short walk away from the food venues at that tremendous market (Ca' Momi recommended--they make their own mozzarella).

Room Tip: Rooms along the river are a better option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasonNeckTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mason, thank you for your glowing review of our hotel. We are pleased our staff could make your stay even more enjoyable and that you benefited from our proximity to great spots in the area. We thank you for being a guest of ours and for taking the time to leave us your kind comments. We hope you have a chance to visit Napa again and will choose our hotel for your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing