We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Birthday to me!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I spent a delightful five days in the Napa region and had a blast touring wineries via the train and trolley which were both easily accessible from The River Terrace Inn. We couldn't have chosen a more convenient location and the hotel itself is charming, with large, clean rooms. The staff was friendly and helpful but what truly made our stay at The River Terrace a special one was the amazing service James Crane provided to us each time we had a drink or a meal on the terrace or inside at the bar. James - you rock! Thanks for the fun. Ian and I will definitely be back because of you.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are spacious and well appointed!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Teri, we are so pleased to hear you had such a fun stay for your birthday celebration. We thank you for taking time to leave us your review and we are glad you and your husband enjoyed your time at the wineries and the Napa area. We thank you for being a guest of ours and look forward to the time you can return for another stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,728)
There are newer reviews for River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

I selected this hotel because of the description on tripadvisor. I was not disappointed. The rooms are very nice and roomy. Katie at the front desk was a delight, and has a lot of knowledge of the town and places to eat. It is very close to town whether you walk or drive. It was very hot the week we were there and we drove; parking spaces are pretty scarce but we always found spaces in the public garages.
The Inn's website said that there was a path along the river, which is true but it's only a couple of hundred feet long. It also said that bikes were available to ride along the walkway. We didn't see any bikes. There was some construction behind the Westin, maybe the path went past the blockade, I am not sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dismissme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for joining us for your anniversary trip. We are happy you had a nice stay at our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. We thank you for being a guest of ours and we hope we will see you again for a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I recently stayed at the River Terrace Inn with my husband for a 3 day vacation and I was extremely pleased with my overall experience. The location was perfect for us to walk and see all of downtown Napa and the Oxbow Market! With a short stay and not much knowledge concerning Napa Valley, Katie at the front desk gave us great suggestions for what we should do. She made us feel very welcome! I will be recommending River Terrace to anyone visiting Napa.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you, Kara for your kind review. We are happy our staff could provide you and husband some good recommendations for the area. We appreciate you taking the moment to leave us your review and we look forward to your next visit to Napa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location, pretty hotel - but overall experience for our 5th year anniversary - POOR! Spend your $500 elsewhere!

* When we got there (at 3:30pm or so), the first room given to us was dirty. So we had to go back downstairs to the lobby and wait while they got us new room, which didn't have as nice of a view of the river (we requested the "River View Deluxe Whirlpool King" and was originally on the third floor and had to go down a floor to the 2nd floor)

Room Tip: Spend your hard earned money elsewhere
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Maria, we are disappointed that you did not have a more exceptional experience upon your most recent visit to our hotel. We definitely want to accommodate our guests as best we can, and we are terribly sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for being a guest of ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed for one week mid June.
This hotel is very pretty and of a traditional kind of New England looking construction - much nicer than the other carbuncles such as the Westin next door. The rooms are decently sized, not massive but adequate and attractive. Cleanliness is very good. We stayed in the highest graded room, which was the deluxe river view with jacuzzi. The beds are the most divinely comfortable I've ever slept in IN MY ENTIRE LIFE! We even tried peeling off the covers of the mattress topper, duvet and pillows to find manufacturers labels but there weren't any :-(
The balconies are very very narrow, two chairs and a little coffee table occupy the entire floorspace. If one person was sat in the nearest chair, they would have to stand up to allow the other person to pass to the second chair. Certainly no room to eat breakfast or suchlike, only to sit with a drink. When seated on the balcony, you would have no view whatsoever except for the high planked wood top of the balcony and a few overhanging branches.
All of the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant, particularly Adam, Brian and Bree. Even the barman who initially looked a bit po-faced was great - he just had a dry wit.
We had breakfast three times and it was excellent, fresh, varied, well cooked and well served. It was a delight to eat it on the rear terrace next to the little fire pit. Expensive but worth it.
The little pool was...well...little. Notwithstanding that, it was nice and luckily not freezing cold. There was never more than a couple of other people around the pool and there were sufficient sunbeds and clean towels at all times. The gym was very small and quite honestly two people in there would have been extremely conscious of one another's proximity!
The walls of the rooms must be extremely thin as every night for four nights we fell asleep listening to the snoring of the guy next door. We heard worse from the room on the other side, but best not go into that!
The wifi was a bit tricky to get the hang of, but once you remembered to keep going to their website and signing in again and again it was fine. Fast enough for emails, facebook, web searching etc.
The few negatives of this hotel are for me severe enough to warrant a 3 star rating.
It is bad enough that the minibar is electronically tagged, but even worse - and frankly beyond comprehension - is the electronic tagging of a little tray holding two mini bottles of wine that sits on the worktop over the fridges. To clarify this, if you pick something up in the minibar to look at it, then put it straight back due to the obscene price, it marks you up as having consumed the item!!! Yes even if you gently knocked something in the minibar, it tags you as having consumed it! Now imagine the little tray on the worktop alongside 2 cups, 4 glasses, an ice bucket and a coffee machine with an electric cable which plugs in directly beside the electronic tray. We tried our DAMNEDEST not to knock this bloody tray to the point we were even paranoid about breathing too close to it. Now I can live with the ridiculous minibar situation - we never even opened the door of it again for the entire duration of the stay. The prices were so obscene that we walked the two blocks to Walmart and bought our milk, juice, water, soft drinks and everything else we might need and put them in the empty fridge next to the minibar. In our room there was no charge for use of the normal (empty) fridge, although I believe in other rooms you had to pay to rent them.
But I cannot live with the little tray con. It is as though it was designed purely to trip people up and create false charges on bills. What other reason can there be for something so downright offensive? Lo and behold, when I asked for our room bill on the morning of departure, there was a charge of $28 for one of the mini bottles of wine on the tray. For us it was easily spotted as our room bill had about six items on it for a whole week's stay. To add insult to injury there was a couple of dollars service charge for replacing the little bottle of wine that we never even touched! Hahaha! Our room bill with it's six items is almost certainly not a typical room bill. I imagine that most other peoples bills would run into a few pages, especially after a week. It would take a lot of close scrutiny to find the false charges amongst a typical bill would it not? This system is nothing but an offensive con and it's unforgivable, especially insulting considering it would cost well over $2000 to stay here for a week. My other gripe is the costs of the incidentals - to guests who are already paying heavily for a stay here. $4 for a 500ml bottle of water??? Offensive beyond belief. You have no choice but to stock up at Walmart. People need water daily in order to function. There was not even a welcome gesture of a couple of free bottles of water on arrival to start you off! We'd been travelling for 19 hours when we arrived!
Why doesn't somebody just take charge and change these ridiculous things?
And whilst they're at it, put Nespresso machines or something similar in instead of the awful cheap nasty messy little one-cup-at-a-time coffee maker.

Room Tip: Weigh up whether or not it's worth the extra for the top floor at the back of the hotel. As othe...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank madlycurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Don't let the basic font of "River Terrace Inn" on the front of the hotel deceive you, this place was beautiful. Great room, perfect location. Loved the outdoor patio and fire pit. Just a perfect place to stay to enjoy Napa. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you, Mark for your 5-star review. We thank you for being a guest and we are so happy you had such a tremendous stay. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We loved our stay at the River Terrace and had no issues at all with housekeeping as some previous reviewers have mentioned. Our room and the public areas in and around the hotel were spotlessly clean.
Reception and bar staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the local area and wine.
We really liked the public areas and bar: very tastefully decorated.
Our room overlooked the car park but this wasn't an issue at all as we just slept in it. It was tastefully furnished with good bathroom and very nice toiletries. Not sure if it's worth it to upgrade to a river view room for this reason. If you want to have a glass of wine in the evening, it's really nice to sit at the fire pit which is in front of the river, so you don't need a balcony (it's low level anyhow).
There was free juice and croissants/muffins each morning in the foyer. We took breakfast in the restaurant which is in a separate building. Service was friendly but slow and, if truth be told, we didn't really enjoy the food. I just think they've got the breakfast offer wrong.
Hotel is 10 mins walk along a well lit road although the section just before town is brownfield. You can walk most of the way on the river path but then it suddenly stops!
Hotel offers free bikes which were great fun and good quality (helmets also supplied). We cycled down to the indoor food market a few times which was fab -don't leave Napa without visiting.
If I returned to Napa I'd stay here again. We had our 12 year old son btw and he was made to feel very welcome.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Nice to have a river view but no great shakes if you don't as, if you sit out on your balcony, y...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iggymarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for being a guest of our hotel and for taking time to share your experience with us. It pleases us to hear that you enjoyed the decor and amenities our property offers and we are glad you had such a nice stay with us. We value your feedback and it aids in the experience we provide our guests. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £179 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing