We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The room was very comfortable and the hotel well located. We even had a little patio off the room with a couple of chairs, a perfect spot for having a glass of wine even if it was overlooking the parking lot. We only stayed one night, but everything was great. I liked that they had bottles of wine for sale in the room. Very convenient!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you, Amy for leaving us your review. We're happy you had a great time with us and hope your next visit can be a longer stay! Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    545
    187
    68
    43
See reviews for
221
941
25
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

In April 2013, we stayed in this hotel had it was such a pleasant experience we chose it again for a four-night stay. This time we were with our good friends and were excited for them to see the hotel but our stay was a huge disappointment.

Not only did we have to change rooms three times, due to bad mattresses, unclean rooms and the need to keep the block-out drapes pulled during the day because the parking lot looks into the rooms, but there were so many miscommunications, and missteps by the staff that we were tempted to leave and find another hotel. We all decided to stick it out, but this is our last visit to this hotel.

Before we arrived, the concierge called me and offered to help with anything we needed from restaurant reservations to car service. The last time we stayed they had arranged a taxi service but I called a few days before our visit to get a suggestion and Katie, the concierge, suggested a car service they liked because "he doesn't charge for waiting like some other car services do." It took three calls to get a confirmed price, but we felt the charge was reasonable for four people for two nights; it was 25% more than a taxi would have been. As it turned out, the charge quoted to us was actually 50% of the cost the driver told us we owed when we returned to the hotel! He blamed Katie for the misquote and also for the fact that he was late picking us up. The hotel had her emails to him, so we aren't sure what was going on there. The whole thing was a mess because Katie, the person who set this up, was not working during our stay and we couldn't speak with her about the problem. The hotel ended up taking care of the $250 discrepancy, but this should have never happened.

The next morning, I asked two of the clerks if the hotel had changed hands. It seemed to me the staff was untrained and more importantly, uncaring. I was told that the owners were the same. It didn't make sense to me because there was such a huge change in the attitude of the staff. The woman who ran the bar seemed to be having a bad day - every day. She was sullen and irritable. Also, they only served beer and wine because they didn't have their liquor license; this, again, pointed to a new owner yet I was told no every time I asked.

We ate at the hotel twice; the first time the breakfast was wonderful. The second day the server, who later told us it was his second day on the job, got our orders wrong three times! When he finally had them right, the eggs were cold and undercooked and it was obvious that he had mixed up the orders once again. When we asked him why the eggs were still runny he told us that the chef only reheated ONE of the orders of eggs and he shrugged when we asked him why he didn't have him heat all three. The plates he returned had the old food put back on wrong plates!

It was an odd situation because there were five people in the lobby who were observing the staff; they'd put their heads together and whisper, but they never stepped in to rectify anything. They had a front row seat to the breakfast problems we were having. The head chef saw our dishes go back four times and he just wandered around the lobby chatting with the girls behind the counter. We were stunned!

As I was checking out, I finally got the desk manager and asked her. She admitted that they were in transition and the staff was brand new. She also told me that all of the senior management was out of town. We experienced a hotel that was left with no general manager who could step in and take care of its customers.

So, this is a warning. This hotel will not have a trained staff for a while. The culture there, at this moment, is one of shrugging, apologizing and offering free breakfasts. I kept telling them that free food doesn't make the beds more comfortable, doesn't make the bathrooms cleaner or make bad food taste better. We needed someone with authority to rectify the situation but we were told they were all out of town.

I was not going to write this review because it is so negative but then I thought, "If I had seen this review before I went, I would have made other plans." That's why I decided to write it.

Room Tip: Get the upstairs room. The lower level is on the parking lot and you must keep block-out drapes pull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheresaGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Theresa, While the majority of our team has been taking care of Napa visitors for years, we are always adding new members to our crew. Please accept my apologies if training caused your family any inconvenience, and I’m sorry that one of our managers was on vacation during your visit. I’m most disappointed that your concerns were not properly addressed by another member of our leadership team. If you have a moment, we would appreciate an opportunity to further discuss your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Although we only stayed here one night on a fly and drive family holiday, we were very happy with what we found on site. Great room, great food and a superb gym and pool area. The staff were very good as the typically the American way. We used this as base for a trip to Robert Mondavi winery, the wine there was fantastic by the way. All in all a very good short stay between major sites, so very very relaxing. Well done to all
.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you, Rob for your 5-star review. We are fortunate that you chose our hotel for your Napa visit, and we are happy to hear you had such a great stay. We hope you will be back for another visit soon. We appreciate you taking the moment to share with us your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Ok hotel. Somewhat dirty in places, especially the carpets. Don't be fooled by the photo of the couple on nice cruiser bikes. They only offer racer bikes which are poorly maintained and there isn't a bike trail. Plus the food at breakfast was awful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AECole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you for joining us for your Napa stay. We appreciate your feedback, and we are disappointed that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We will take your comments under advisement as we always look to improve our guests' experience in any way we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This Inn has an amazing location. It was right on the river and we spent each evening with family and friends enjoying the river, cool evenings and casual but elegant atmosphere. The room on the third floor faced the river and was very spacious and clean. We had one problem, every morning and that was breakfast. Although excellent, the service was very poor. One morning we waited close to 45 minutes! It was yummy but too long to wait every morning.

Room Tip: Third floor facing river with a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spolar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for being a recent guest of ours and for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you had such a great stay with us, although we are sorry to hear that your service was under par while dining with us. We will address that with our team, and we hope every other aspect of your stay was perfect. We hope you will be back to Napa to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We just spent 5 days in 3 different hotels, 2 in San Francisco, but loved our experience here the best, even though the room was less grand, it was absolutely lovely with a little terrace. Staff could not have been more helpful - we needed last-minute technical help accessing and printing information, then left items in our room - they behaved as if our concerns were their concerns. I gave 4 stars on value because Napa is generally overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We are so pleased to hear that our hotel was the best out of your stays during your recent travels. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we thank you for your review. Thank you for allowing us to assist you regarding your needs during your stay, and we are glad we could be of help. We hope you enjoyed a wonderful time in Napa and will be back to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here as part of a large wedding party. So there were a lot of differing opinions during this trip.
The good from my perspective:
James, the bartender is amazing. He remembers guests, the drinks, conversations you might have had with him. He is an asset for this hotel. He alone would make me want to visit this hotel again as he provided great service and made it feel like I was at my neighborhood pub.
The service crew is ON POINT! They are on their game and do it so well! I was nothing but impressed with how they worked with my family during this trip. Kudos!
Location was nice. There is a nice walking path in the rear of the hotel along the river. It is a short walk from "downtown" and just a short drive or ride from all of the vineyards.
The not so good:
The billing for such a large party was a little archaic. I had things charged to my room that I did not charge. My assumption is that other members of the wedding party charged something and the hotel just stuck it on a room in the party.
The bed in my room was not comfortable at all. There was a dip in the middle of the bed and overall the sleep quality was not good.

In saying these things, I would more likely than not stay here again.

Room Tip: Check your bill very closely, especially if you are in a party with more than one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zayah0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We thank you for sharing with us both what you enjoyed as well as concerns so we can evaluate areas we can improve. Thank you for your appreciation for our staff; your comments are valuable to us. If you feel you were charged incorrectly to your room, please contact us so that we may look into the situation further. If there is something to straighten out, we definitely want to help. We hope you had a fun celebration weekend, and we thank you for being a guest of ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,010 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#13 of 30 in Napa
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing