We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2009

We really enjoyed our one night stay in the River Terrace Inn. It's in a great spot near the centre of Napa so you can walk into town for some food and drinks without worrying about nominating a driver. The room was spacious and clean, with a nice balcony (albeit overlooking the car park) where we sat and had lunch. The bed was really comfy too! Nice touches like a DVD library were appreciated. Breakfast perfectly fine - hot stuff perhaps not as hot as it could have been but that's the only criticism, and it was one of the few places on our trip that we did get breakfast included in the price.
In terms of Napa itself, just a warning to European visitors, compared to the French wine regions we had visited we found Napa wine tasting, and even wine in restaurants/bars, very expensive.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viross5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    541
    182
    67
    43
See reviews for
217
934
25
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro CA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed two nights...had a very relaxing weekend. Enjoyed the Riverside location, the good breakfasts (on the terrace if the weather permits)...and the proximity to town. Compares favorably to the Napa River Inn (except not as close to downtown...but larger rooms and breakfasts).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byoung3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We stayed at the River Terrace Inn for four nights over Memorial Day weekend. We chose the hotel based on reviews I read on Tripadvisor and it was a delightful choice.
The hotel lobby was very inviting and everyone from the desk clerk to Linda , the concierge was nice and helpful.
Our bedroom was large and had all the amenities we needed. I loved the shower with the double shower head, the bed was super comfortable and we liked having free wireless and an Ipod dock in the room.
The River Terrace Inn includes a full buffet breakfast with their rate and we enjoyed the variety and the outdoor terrace in the morning.
I would definitely recommend this place and not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Stayed at the River Terrace on a recent trip to Napa and we were fortunate to get a fantastic mid-week rate and it felt a little good to be true, but the hotel definitely lived up to the great reviews we had read. I think it is brand-new, because everything looked and smelled that way. We were thrilled with how everything turned out.
ROOM: Our room with king bed was rather large and also included a desk and a sofa/coffee table, flat-screen TV, wet bar area across from the bathroom that was stocked with bottles of wine and a ton of snacks and drinks (on automatic sensors that charge you if you remove, but a good option if you need the convenience of it). Newspaper delivery every morning. There is also a refrigerator, closet, and a safe. The bathroom was large and actually quite luxurious with a huge glass-enclosed, tiled walk-in shower with double shower head, a large vanity with lots of storage, Bath and Body Works toiletries, and a separate toilet area. The bed was quite comfy, but the pillows were down-filled, which you may love, but we didn't because they were a little too squishy and tended to get flat as you sleep. Decor was very nice. Housekeeping kept the room spotless, and even came by in the late afternoon each day to check if we needed anything. I had seen some reviews that complained about thin walls, and I could see how this could be true. We were on the corner of the building on 3rd floor, so for us we dodn't have much of a problem, but we did notice that we could hear some noises from the room on one side of us a few times. I do give River Terrace props for being aware of this though, because there was a very nice white noise machine on the bedside table that you could set to practically any sound you wanted to down out noise while you sleep. We use one at home, so we loved this touch. High-speed internet access was also included in our room rate.
FOOD/BAR: Didn't use the bar there, but we did get coupons for a comp glass of wine at Cuvee, the hotel's restaurant (on the property, but not attached to the hotel). Breakfast was included in our room rate, which was a fabulous value, and it was decent. Not anything super impressive, but an average medly of pastries and breads, eggs, sausage, cereals, fruit, etc. A large outdoor terrace that you can sit and eat.
GENERAL: Friendly front desk staff. We didn't use valet much because the parking lot is pretty much right outside the hotel doors, but when we did they were quick and helpful. Good location near downtown Napa, it was easy to get to. Also, it has a pool and small fitness center which both looked nice but we didn't use. The back of the property was very pretty, with the Napa River running right behind it and a nice walking path running alongside that begs for a leisurely stroll. Overall, we had a terrific stay here and it made our trip to Napa all that much more relaxing and easy going!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

My husband and I stayed at the River Terrace Inn for 3 nights in March. It was our first trip to Napa and we wanted it to be convenient to drive to vineyards and also wanted to have the option of walking downtown for dinner. This hotel allowed us to meet both goals.

The location makes it easily accessible from San Francisco and it's at the southern end of Napa Valley, with vineyards minutes away. We got solid recommendations from the hotel concierge and she also booked a variety of tours for guests.

The hotel itself is very nice. It has a well-stocked bar and a lovely outdoor area with fire pits and heat lamps. We had the tasty complimentary breakfast buffet out there each morning and loved it. We also enjoyed the outdoor pool one afternoon. The rooms are comfortable and nice. Everything was spotless and seemed rather new.

We will absolutely stay here again and have recommended it to friends who are making the trip to Napa.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlherlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

First, my credentials - I write a local's guide on Napa (www.NapaTouristGuide.com) so I take my hotels seriously. I won't put up with a roach motel, and I've been to far too may hotels that look great on the internet but horrid in person. In the past I used to stay at Villagio and Vintage Inn, both top rated hotels, but as their rates kept going up and my paycheck kept getting slashed I needed something that was less expensive - but I didn't want to give up the comforts of a 4 star hotel. I was glad to find River Terrace Inn. The downtown location makes it close to the restaurants (Bounty Hunter for Monday specials, Hog Island Oysters for happy hour, Celedon for a romantic night out, Cuvee for $5 happy hour appetizers) and it's located right on the river. Inside the hotel it's nice and upscale, and the rooms feature trendy decorations, great linens, and a flat screen TV. Terrific free breakfast, and an outdoor patio that's perfect for starting your day. The only things missing are a fireplace in the room and a giant romantic bathroom (though the bathroom is nice, it's not spa-like as you would find at Vintage Inn).

I also liked the staff a lot. They went out of their way to help the visitors and business people staying there. And the rates! Yes, the rates are downright affordable. River Terrace Inn is one of my most favorite places to stay in Napa - you really can't go wrong if you are looking for a solid hotel at an affordable price.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LocalWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We had a perfect stay at River Terrace Inn in Napa! Good location, friendly and helpful staff, great complimentary breakfast, spatious room and great bathroom - comfort at its best! In fact, you'll find everything you need here; fitnesscenter, pool, great lounge, free wireless internet and even a complimentary glass of wine at the restaurant Cuvee! Do stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalinSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing