We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Inn in a beautiful town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb Inn in a beautiful town”
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We had a wonderful stay in the River Terrace, staying 2 nights as part of a honeymoon trip around California. We had a deluxe river view king and it was very roomy, with a great view of the river and a wonderful bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and we were delighted.

The Inn itself is in a fairly central Napa location, great for the (very over-priced but lovely) wine train, Oxbox market and Copia. Its a 10 minute walk to the town centre, which is very laid out and pretty. Great restaurants (can't praise 'Bounty Hunter' enough!). There is ample parking outside and although the Inn looks a bit dated on the outside, its really beautiful inside. The breakfast is free and plentiful as is the Wi-Fi. The staff are exceptionally well-trained and professional as well as being friendly and interested. They had great recommendations and every single one of their recommendations were spot on.

There is a great wine list at the bar along with a folder full of local restaurant menus (a really nice touch when you are just a bit too tired from tasting to trudge around finding restaurants). There is a restaurant in the car park called 'Cuvee'. Initially we had dismissed it (partly because it was in the car park and partly because we thought we should be more adventurous and venture into town...). Its a brilliant restaurant with excellent special offers (half price wine list on Thursday is a MUST!!)

We wish we had stayed longer in the River Terrace Inn and, had there been availability to stay another night, we would have changed our plans and stayed in Napa another day - you can offer any bigger recommendation than that!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    541
    181
    67
    43
See reviews for
216
934
25
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

We stayed in Napa before heading down the coast and finishing our holiday in LA. The River Terrace Inn was a lovely hotel, although Napa itself was a little disappointing. Our room was very clean and a really good size with a small balcony. The free breakfast was excellent with really nice outside seating area. On our first full day we went to reception to ask about the best vineyards to visit and was given the friendliest service by Jo, he really was a lovely helpful guy, as were all of the staff. The DVD selection was another great touch.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fibe019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Great location - walking distance to downtown Napa. Right on the road to travel up Napa or to go to Sonoma.
Helpful and friendly staff.
Rooms were wonderful and immaculate. Comfortable bed, shower and sitting area.
I wouldn't bother with a River view since there really isn't much to see. We had a King Garden view.
The breakfast selection was very good (pasteries, eggs, cereals, yogurt and fruit.) Depending on the time and reservations there may not been enough seating for everyone - but you can sit outside (weather permitting).

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

My husband and i enjoyed this hotel. It was a bit more pricey than others we looked at, but we splurged for a balcony on the 3rd floor overlooking the river. Plus, the free breakfast made it similar to other hotels, and the breakfast is great eating out on their patio. The hotel is walking distance to the restuarants in Napa, although it is at the end of the vineyard route. The DVD rentals is a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Our stay at the River Terrace Inn was excellent. The accommodations, amenities, hotel staff, location, value and everything elsw was top notch. We received a wedding group rate which was very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinebrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

My husand, another couple and I decided not to stay at this hotel after we arrived.
First I do want to say that the staff was probably the best part of this hotel for the two/three hours we were there.
Now for why we left..Our rooms smell of the chemicals that is used to clean the carpeting. My friend is asthmatic. There were stains on the comforters. Outside along the river were beer bottles and cigarettes laying on the ground. The ashtray was overflowing with butts. We used tripadvisor for our decisions on hotels for our trip. After seeing the location, we were surprise that other reviews have no mention about the area where River Terrace is located. This might not bother many travelers but for those who it might, travelers should know that the area where the hotel is, is not the 'cleanest'. Even though the hotel is supposed to be walking distance to where the shops,etc is, walking there is not the 'cleanest' either. We started walking for about 5-10 minutes and decided to return and checkout.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jacers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Had reasonable rates and a very nice room. Balcony was small, but usable. Bed was average and service from all staff was outstanding. Mini-fridge in room was very useful. Napa river is right out back, although the walking trail is limited. A lot of bees out back, but they have traps out. Free bikes to use for visiting local sites. Very good breakfast included with room cost. Great bathroom and dual-head shower - no tub in my room though. The recently opened Weston hotel is right next door and the Napa Wine Train station is very close. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travalue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#11 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Property: River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing