We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute, couldn't fault the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed for 3 nights from the 10th October. We arrived about 2pm to be warmly welcomed by the hotel receptionist, i didn't get her name but she was lovely, made us feel very welcomed and gave us good local information. We stayed in room 335, one of there King river view deleuxe rooms. It was exactly what we wanted and more.... The room was huge, big king size bed which was so comfortable, seating area, outside balcony to sit and enjoy coffee in the mornings and wine in the evenigs while watching the river and best of all the Jacuzzi bath.
I had arranged for the Champagne and Strawberries package with a little extra... Cara's Cupcakes to be in our room as a surprise for my partner. When we entered there was a little note for him to look in the fridge and there sat a platter of 12 mini cupcakes. Next thing a knock at the door, the bellboy was there with our champagne. We never received the strawberries but i didn't mind as they had gone out of there way to get the cupcakes.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Napa town centre which has some amazing restaurants.
The hotel is very clean and quiet which was perfect after 6 days sightseeing in San Francisco.
The hotel very kindly arranged for us to go on a wine tour with Platypus Tours, i highly recommend them, there was only 11 of us and we went to 4 small wineries, tried some great wine and meet some lovely people. The tour guide Steve was really informative and laid on a good picnic for lunch.
We ate at the Curee restaurant next door the first night, the food was divine and the wine even better. The waitress was lovely, clearly new and made a few simple mistakes but nothing you would complain about.
The next night we ate at Celedon, the food and service were great. Everything tasted so fresh.
Our last night, we stayed at the hotel and ate by the fire pit, the food was good, a few items they had ran out of but we didn't mind, it was just lovely to spend the last night relaxing in great surroundings, then we got a dvd from the library cracked open a bottle of wine in the room and chilled. A brilliant end to an amazing trip.
My only negative point is we couldn't have stayed longer, we will be back and we will stay longer.

Tip:Hire a car, create a picnic and head off into the mountains, truely beautiful and peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBoy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
There are newer reviews for River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,325 - 1,331 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at the River Terrace Inn from October 4th to October 7th.
We had booked the room through Expedia and we were supposed to get a room with 2 beds. When we checked in our room wasn't ready and the front desk attendant informed us that we were actually booked into a room with 1 King bed and that they were full and couldn't accommodate us with 2 beds. I showed her the confirmation and she replied that it would be impossible to get a room with 2 beds but we could have one with a King and a sleeper sofa.
Thankfully this was not the tone of the rest of our stay. We returned 2 hours later and we're given a room with 2 beds. All other interactions with staff at the hotel were pleasant and enjoyable. We enjoyed having breakfast outside next to the River and next to the fire pit. The hotel was the perfect place to stay to walk into downtown old Napa and tour wineries. The beds were very comfortable and everyone got a great nights sleep.
I would definitely stay at the hotel again and look forward to returning next time I'm in Napa.
If I do book through a third party travel agency again I would call ahead to make sure that the requested room is indeed booked with the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zalna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Napa is an expensive place however this hotel is clean, with spacious rooms, an outdoor pool and is probably your best bet in napa. St Helena is just a few a miles down the road but is a more quaint town than napa (napa looks a bit tun down post recession) so would proably recommend splitting your stay between napa and st Helena (or even calistoga - which is another cute town). Highly recommend checking out mumm as the tasting and views were fab and great value for money. The ribs at the Rutherford grill are another must!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky2585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Just returned from Napa and decided to stay at the River Terrace Inn. We chose them for the location and reasonable rate (pay for 2, stay for 3 special). The room was very comfortable. Our package included the river view with balcony and jacuzzi tub. The staff was great, and the hotel was walking distance from restaurants and the wine train. They also have a good buffet breakfast. No powdered eggs here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venturists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The key to enjoying this (or any hotel) is making an informed choice. I observe that complaints mainly stem from unmet, unrealistic expectations or travelers inability to ask for what they want when they are at a property. Some of the poor reviews that I read here in advance had me worried enough that I sent a query to the general manager. Thank goodness that he reassured me and my husband and we went through with our plans for a 3-night stay. Here’s the scoop; the River Terrace Inn is not a quaint little B&B or a name-brand luxury hotel. Perhaps the Inn does itself a bit of a disservice by describing itself as “luxury boutique,” as it’s more like a Holiday Inn with a few more personal touches. (The elevators and hallways have that sort of feel.) That being said, River Terrace Inn is a super-comfortable medium-sized hotel with a convenient edge-of-town location, ideal as a Napa/Sonoma touring base. We chose their premium room, a Riverview Deluxe Balcony Jacuzzi, a great value for the region with their 3rd-night free special. We indeed had a nice river view and enjoyed the sound of birds in the morning and crickets at night. (I think that I would have found the atmosphere a little too industrial with a “village” side room, but the third floor river view was just pastoral enough, yet within an easy walk of downtown.) The room itself was spacious with places to keep everything from our luggage to picnic supplies and wine purchases. The bed was comfy, but add my husband to the list of guests who found the bed sheet and mattress pad undone by morning. Everything worked well, from Internet service to the Jacuzzi for two, (plenty of hot water) to the in-room fridge and coffeemaker. We had “good neighbors” during our stay, but were aware that noise between rooms was a potential problem. Breakfast was not anything the Culinary Institute of America would endorse, but there were adequate choices to get the day going and it was pleasant to eat on the riverside outdoor patio with the gas fireplace and heaters taking off the morning chill. Parking was ample and convenient and, like breakfast and internet service, included in the room rate. We never saw a concierge at the lobby desk, but had we desired help, there was always at least one staff person in view to ask. We were offered luggage assistance and (free) valet parking when we arrived and I am sure that we could have asked for help upon departure too. My intent in writing this review is not to damn the Inn with faint praise, but to be honest, so as not to raise expectations and create disappointment for future guests. We were looking for a comfortable and quiet, but not fussy base for our wine country getaway and that is what we found at the River Terrace Inn. We would be happy to return

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitey41, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2010

Dear River Terrace Inn Friend,
Your review is much appreciated and we value the honest opinions from our guests on TripAdvisor. If you haven’t heard, there are great restaurants opening nearby along the Riverfront project and our restaurant, Cuvee, is a great place to start your culinary experiences in downtown Napa. Thank you for choosing River Terrace Inn and I look forward to welcoming your husband and you to our property again.
With Our Appreciation,
Jeff Whitehead, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2010

We loved everything about this hotel. It's in an awesome location with only about a 10-15 minute walk down to all the great restaurants on First and Second streets. We enjoyed our top floor (3rd) room facing the river. Very quiet and peaceful for a glass (bottle) of wine! 10 foot ceilings are a great touch. Huge room and bath. Very nice and boutique like. |The breakfast is very good and I know hotel breakfasts as I travel 100 nights a year on business. Lots of hot options like eggs, bacon/sausage, hashbrowns. Nice outside terrace to eat breakfast if you'd rather eat outside. Patio heaters at each table for those cool mornings. Found the staff to be excellent and very informative abour tours, restaurants etc. Make sure you try the restaurant on site for dinner! It was absolutely awesome. So much so that we told our server we would be back the next night. He politely told us we really should try a couple of restaurants in the downtown area. We were gald we did as they were amazing too! Celadon had the best food we have ever had and we have traveled all over the carribean/hawaii/USA/Canada. Amazing food there but also amazing at the hotels restaurant. Try both! We had a mid week special (Mon-Thurs) where you stay 2 nights and get the third night free. Our rate was $179 per night and we felt it would have even been worth it had we had to pay for the third night. We stayed in the main building. I think that would be better than the sattelite building. We are 3,500 miles from Napa but we WILL return and we WILL stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian_Hoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitey41, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2010

Dear River Terrace Inn Friend,
Such wonderful words for our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we’re glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner at Cuvee. Look forward to welcoming you back to Napa!
With Our Appreciation,
Jeff Whitehead, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed for 4 days, whilst staying here we got married in St Helena, we stay here with our young child and several other family members. All I can say is the service we received from all the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. Very flexiable as we made a few requests and these were all dealt with very quickly. The room was very clean and well laid out, our beds were very comfortable. Food available at the bar was excellent, staff were flexible and extremely helpful. We could not be in a better location for all the good restaurants, little shops etc.. (just a walk away). The pool although small was hardly used, always clean with good pool towels to hand (we used the pool everyday). Our wedding was beautiful and it really was really nice to come back to the hotel. A special thanks to Tony who managed to get my belongings which I left in the room and arranged to Fed Ex them to another address in CA (received a couple of days later) he was very helpful and made the necessary arrangements to send to me. We didn't get to do as much as we would like, as there is so much to see & do. We will definitely be back for future anniversaries!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitey41, General Manager at River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2010

Dear River Terrace Inn,
Congratulations! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m thrilled to hear that Tony and our staff made your stay memorable. We look forward to having you spend many more celebrations with us!
With Our Appreciation,
Jeff Whitehead, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
2.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 1600 Soscol Ave, Napa, CA 94559-1908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £178 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than an hour's drive from San Francisco and the Bay Area, the River Terrace Inn, a luxury Napa Valley hotel, offers the perfect Napa retreat. With its refined, pastoral charm and innovative features, our casually elegant Napa Valley hotel is the perfect balance of Wine Country serenity and urban hospitality. Discover wine country in Napa Valley, a peaceful sanctuary nestled among lush, rolling hills, a sea of vivid wildflowers, and radiant vineyards. Set in the heart of the Napa Valley Wine Country, River Terrace Inn features luxurious accommodations, personalized services, and a pristine riverfront setting. The River Terrace Inn is an enchanting blend of modern elegance, laid-back California charm and the energy of downtown Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Terrace Hotel Napa
River Terrace Napa
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing