We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great meal”

Bistro Don Giovanni
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Don Giovanni is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 285 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 29
Napa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As a local I have been here numerous times and have always had a great meal and good service. I have been both with just my husband or with large groups and it was still the same great service and food. The bar area is small, but its the meals that you come here for

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NapaMemorymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    879
    409
    125
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not to miss when in Napa area.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Upscale, make a reservation. Dress up and enjoy the ambiance. Wonderful food, very attentive waitstaff. Portions not huge, I could have eaten another six homemade ravioli.. Hubby had the scallops(4) and risotto. We cleaned our plates. Had a nice video of the kitchen, and hunky scot in kilt!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guamgirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
741 reviews
514 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were taken here by friends, and it was a wonderful experience. Located in the heart of the Napa Valley and surrounded by vineyards was the perfect location. Had reservations, which were a must, as it was very busy. Outdoor seating was a plus as we got to watch the sunset. The fried olives & almonds are a wonderful appetizer. Had the ravioli and the pasta de jour, and they were both excellent. To top it off, we had the apple and berry crep panicotta for dessert. Service was oustanding.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HARRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a way to ruin a special evening”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

So, reservation made on the 14th of May at 7:30. Called- did not email or use reservation system. Explained 20 years with the best partner one could ask for, wanted to come back
for dinner been almost 15 years. Asked for 7.30 outside dining. Arrived at 7.35 told 20
minute wait time for outside. I said really ? The hostess sat us right away inside- very
large table- Nice job to the young lady. We waited for 35 minutes, no service- wait staff
must have figured too few people at large table- why waste the time. Worst experience
ever had over many years. Wife in tears- SHAME ON YOU !!! They didn't care we walked
out. If anything if you go, PLEASE ASKE THEM NOT TO BE TREATED LIKE THE COUPLE
WHO HAD TO WALK OUT ON THEIR 20TH.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
212 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great food and service...a little loud when crowded”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Either our waiter came straight from Italy or was a super actor but we enjoyed his accent and service...made the evening fun.
There were six of us and we all had something different from pasta to pork chops and all were perfectly executed...even the chop.
Corkage is only $20/bottle so bring your own (but check first to see if they serve what you want to bring...that's a little rude).

Reasonable prices by Napa standards and get reservations well in advance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoChilidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Don Giovanni also viewed

 
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Bistro Don Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing