We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that authentic” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zuzu

Zuzu
Ranked #5 of 282 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not that authentic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I wish I could recommend Zuzu, as I love finding tapas/Spanish restaurants. However, I did not find the cuisine to be truly authentic and was quite ill from it the next day. The paella didn't have a strong saffron flavor and the croquettes were chicken, not ham (as is customary in Spain). We also had a shrimp dish that I believe may have been the culprit in my severe stomach bug the following day, which really put a damper on our trip. Looking back, I wish we would have chosen one of the many other highly rated restaurants in the Napa/Yountville area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ktyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    237
    63
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth Tapas! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

A great buzzy venue at 9pm which is a result in the US! Spoilt for choice on the menu everything was divine and so succulent! Favourites well the lamp chops, squash blossoms, steak tartare as a special very lucky! Order what you want and think you can eat and then top up. Great service , food was well paced , lots of water refills, good wine list. Great night just turn up they do not take reservations

Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbell216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
674 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Nice selection of Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

After a day at wineries, we did not feel like any more alcohol, so ordered the "craft brewed" sodas, which were very good (ginger ale and cola). We had ceviche and fish Tapas and sat at the bar, enjoying the view of the kitchen prep. Food was very good, service was too. They do not take reservations and the wait can be very long, but at 9PM is was just a bit more than 5 minutes to get seated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun & delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Loved the squash blossoms stuffed with chevre' and served over a spicy habanero sauce. The paella was a bit over cooked - don't get me wrong, I love the 'charrasca' (the crunchy layer of rice on the bottom of the pan) but this was a bit beyond that. The queso frito was a bit greasy, but served over a nice salad with a great guajillo pepper sauce.

Great Spanish and California wines and a fun, knowledgeable bartender made the meal a success.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
358 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place has great flavorful small plates, but if you eat at Carpe diem before this, it is a bit disappointing, but still very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank suzieFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zuzu also viewed

 

Been to Zuzu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing