We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, Rude, Never Again”
Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Napa Discovery Inn
Ranked #26 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible, Rude, Never Again”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Recently booked a room for relatives, gave my credit card for them to hold it and when the relatives showed up- they had given the room away. It is already highway robbery to pay $189 for this dump in Napa. I live in Napa and I know. But then for them to lie and say they contacted me to find out if I was still wanting the room..... I don't think so. Let me repeat...they had my credit card- what more do they want- are they trying to get double for the room? Bad business, unprofessional. What good is a reservation with this hotel if they decide to resell your room when you are not there by 6 pm????

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OBrien1of19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    73
    43
    20
    50
See reviews for
24
103
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Cute, clean room for a great price, when everything else around is overpriced. Even have private shaded parking for each room. Nice cold A/C & flat screen TV. Close, less than 1 mile, to fun downtown area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VBo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a motel, most likely built in the 30's or 40's and cheaply and inconsistantly updated. Strong smell of bleach in our room and it was too hot to open our windows and unfortunately, it triggered a massive headache. Had to make due, keeping the window air conditioner on all nite due to the heat (& it was very noisy).

Discovery Inn is a very basic 14 x 14 room but it was clean and had a flat-screen TV with lots of channels. Flat screen TV but the cheapest, thinnest towels I have ever seen. My husband said they were the same towels he had in 8th grade gym class! (I thought they were large tea towels!)

Overall I would say that this is a last resort pick. If you have another option, even for more money, stay at option #2 instead. We Hot-wired this and frankly, had we not pre-paid, we would have cancelled out upon arrival. We still had to pay close to $90 thru Hotwire, so not such a good deal.

I think this motel would suffice for college kids traveling thru the Napa Valley or a road weary solo person.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Malibu93023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napa hotels

Fresno
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This hotel is a nice hotel right on the Silverado Trail about 5 minutes from Downtown Napa. Nice and quiet with only about fifteen rooms. The hotel manager is very nice nice and helpful. Would recommend this place to people who what a nice hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

I called after finding an online booking and they met the price for me over the phone which I appreciated. They also helped set up a great wine tour for us! The rooms are private, parking provided and items available for breakfast. Free wifi! Overall this was a great place to stay as its close to downtown and the staff was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I read a lot of reviews on this property. Most were unpleasant. I chalked a lot of that up to snooty patrons trying to get a bargain. My husband and I stayed for three full nights, and had no issues. It was quiet, and comfortable. I am used to roughing it, and thought, so it's an old hotel, there is bound to be a few issues. To be quite frank, we had a very good time here. We found the management to be very friendly They even invited us to watch fireworks with them on 4th of July evening, which we did. I think sometimes people need to be a litle less judgmental, and try a little kindness. The way that people treat you, is a reflection of how you treat them. Thank you for a wonderful get away. We will be back. (cabin 14 :) On a side note. There was a beautiful white and black patchy kitty with green eyes. So pretty. She is wild, but friendly if you like cats. If you see her please be nice :) She has her own routine each evening, and is non-confrontational. We also saw a mother and baby deer walk through the back grassy area. Probably 50 yards from where we were sitting. (There were no goats, as someone else had posted a picture in their review. It must have been posted in anger)

Room Tip: Any room is quiet, but one in the back off the street would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Not to bud , clean easy for the location chip in Napa , in the price there is a breakfast 3 px for 145$ , is near the river , the parking is warranty near the room but there is not a big control to the enter

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peppe_passaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.7 mi away
Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#9 of 30 in Napa
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Discovery Inn

Property: Napa Discovery Inn
Address: 500 Silverado Trl, Napa, CA 94559-3413
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Napa Discovery Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Discovery Inn is located just just minutes from the action. This Napa hotel was remodeled in 2007 and is located 1 mile from downtown Napa, the Wine Train & dozens of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Discovery Hotel Napa
Napa Discovery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing