We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Napa food choice”
Review of TORC

TORC
Reserve with OpenTable
TORC is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 285 Restaurants in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great Napa food choice”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I spend 3 wonderful days in the Napa Valley - enjoying the great scenery and exploring the vineyards and wineries. I lived in norther California many years ago - and I have many memories of Napa Valley weekends - we were here to relive mine.

Napa is a very small city - and restaurant choices are a bit limited. We wanted something "different" and we found our way to Torc. The decor is a kind of "open industrial" --- and the staff was helpful and friendly.

We found a great bottle of wine (SB DeSante 11) from a list that has excellent but less common wineries, and a wide choice of unusual appetizers - we went with the Deviled Eggs and Marinated Olives. They were delicious. Our main dishes were a Risotto and a Yellow Fin Tuna - both of which were prepared perfectly and also delicious. After dinner we shared a chocolate bar and glasses of Tawny port --- a perfect end to a great meal and a great day in wine country.

I recommend that you put Torc on your must try list for your Napa visit ... we will go there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MovinOn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    93
    32
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
395 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A very interesting place”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We went here with some friends who are Napa residents, and enjoyed the experience. The food was excellent - everyone in our party enjoyed their meal. Excellent service, Great selection of wines. Interesting decor. It's not inexpensive, but hey, it's Napa.

One observation, which can be a plus or a minus. The menu changes daily, and the options are relatively limited. You might have only 6 or 7 main course options, and a couple of those may be made in portions for two people. I liked it - it allows the chef to concentrate on a few dishes per evening, and do them very well. And since there are new options every night, regulars won't get bored. But I have friends who can be very choosy eaters, and this would be a challenge for them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott95401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Menu”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great spot. Wait staff was really friendly. Food was delicious. Trendy little spot that was fun. The local patrons were very interesting too. Everyone brought their one wine which was somewhat of a no-brainer seeing as we were in Napa. Never occurred to us "outsiders" to bring our own libation. Very reasonable prices. Menu was not what we expected. Somewhat limited as to what was available. Portions were small. Definitely not a meat and potatoes joint. Three of us were out of there for about $200.00 including California taxes and tip. I think we even paid CRV on the wine bottle!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Our new "GO TO" place in Napa”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Have dined here 4 times since opening and each time we have had spectacular food and cordial, professional service. Love the farm fresh foods and uber-seasonal produce. Presentation is a delight. Chef is very gifted. Very sophisticated menu and worth the expense. Our fave new place in Napa. We will be back again and again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ciccibella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,363 reviews
1,601 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,730 helpful votes
“Good Brunch - Look Forward to Dinner Near Future”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went for brunch here and it was very good. Service is excellent. The restaurant is nicely decorated - upstairs unlike the restaurant before is now also a seating area and there is some patio seating available as well.

We loved our brunch here. Best hot cakes (pistachio huckleberry...with maple syrup) here. The person I was with loved the hash. We both shared appetizers of deviled eggs (good) and also their awesome sweet potatoe pakoras. French press coffee is awesome.

Since the reviews I have read but dinner is stellar, I look forward to making reservations for dinner here in the near .future. Its probably the only reason I rated this place 4 instead of 5 stars....

Parked for free on the street opposite the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TORC also viewed

 

Been to TORC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing