We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I live in the bay area but wanted a quick and quiet birthday getaway for my hubby. Booking my hotel and spa services were very easy. They didn't miss a beat at check in. They offered a lovely bottle of wine but understood that we preferred non-alcholic beverages and promised a call to our room once they could find a replacement beverage. Not even 10 minutes passed we got a call that someone would be bringing up complimentary sprakling flavored water. I love those. They were actually made to taste like a merlot or cab etc but were non alcholic. We had a beautiful end room on the top floor with a balcony and great lighting. The property is quiet and clean a lot of good photo spots. Before the Spa services we grabbed a quick breakfast croissant and juice fromt the cafe. ++++ Very good. The of the "The Cave" it is exactly that. We left civilization and entered into relaxation. After our spa service we slept until dinner time. We ate at the hotel restaurant and was offered wine. Only this time we weren't offered a substitute and we were left with the glass of water, which was always kept filled by the other server. We realized that we were in Napa and most people drink wine, so we didn't make a fuss however, we had water with our dinner. The server didn't offer us an alternative. I wish we would have asked for the cute sparkly drinks. Dinner was great and filling. Its not a large menu selection but the choices are good. If you drink they also have a large menu for that. Not a lot on the dessert menu, but what we had was good. I will say I had hope to rent out one of their movies but found out you could only have 1 per night. When I initially called I was told I could view as many as I wanted at no cost. Next time I will know to bring my own dvd. I hope that work in the players that they provide in the room. Over all it was a great time spent and it met our needs. Luckily e slept instead of doing the all day movie day. Because we slept and relaxed so much we didn't get a chance to visit the bowling alley but look forward to another trip.

Room Tip: The high floors have good natural light. The room we had has dimmers in the hall way and drapes for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Capri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We're always so happy to be able to lend our property to such special events, and we thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your visit. Your feedback regarding the accessibility and offering of non-alcoholic substitutions is certainly heard, and we will be sure to pass this along to the team to improve the consistency of our offerings. That said, we're thrilled to have been able to provide such a relaxing and enjoyable getaway for you and your husband. Please send him our best and some birthday wishes, too, and we hope to see more of you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,278 - 1,284 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our family member had his wedding at the Meritage Inn Wine Cellar on a Saturday afternoon. We live east of Sacramento, CA, and decided to stay overnight in order to enjoy the entire day with the newlywed couple and other family members. The clerk was prepared for our visit and check-in was seamless. Our room was clean and in order. The only complaint was that the lobby was very crowded with incoming guest from other events and there seemed to be no order. Someone, like a manager, should have come out and move the crowd away from the entrance. It seemed very chaotic. The food/buffet was expensive. It's a beautiful venue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rhunt0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We're so pleased to be able to lend our property to such special occasions, and we're happy to hear that the wedding was a memorable success. We thank you for taking the time to lend us your feedback, particularly in terms of traffic flow, and we will certainly pass this along to the team to improve upon future experiences. It's such a pleasure to have had you, and we hope to share more of our property and services with you in visits to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

When it comes to picking a resort, you can't rely on website depiction. This place is not in napa. Its south of Napa in a commercial park full of offices. fake feeling. Reminds me of Disneyword. Fake winery feel. Staff works hard to please, but no support from management or kitchen. You just get impression place doesn't give a hoot, once they have your deposit. Certainly not worth traveling cross country for a faux destination weeding.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Whistler561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

While it was a pleasure to host your recent stay, we're extremely sorry to hear that the experience of it fell short of the mark. It's our aim to provide the very best in services to each of our guests, and we apologize for any perceived shortcomings with our resort. We would love the opportunity to further discuss your stay, and we encourage you to reach out to a member of our management team at your earliest opportunity. Many thanks again for being our guest and for taking the time to share your stay; we do hope to hear more from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I went to your Beautiful Hotel with my Friend Karen on Nov 5-6, 2013. We received EXCELLANT service. Everyone was attentive to our stay, we rec'd a free bottle of wine & water in the refrigerator. It was a birthday get-a-way and Karen rec'd a present from the Spa that was a big surprise. We went to the Spa and had a 1 hour massage and they send a bottle of Champagne to our room from the spa. They had free movies and came up to the room to help us with the DVD. Manual and Pam were most helpful with meeting our needs! We went down town to dinner and the Concierge booked our reservation for us. When we arrive to the restaurant, we received a glass of Champagne at the restaurant just because we stayed at the Meritage in Napa. We ordered coffee from room service and that was complimentary because we did not pay for that. We will be back in March 2014! Joyce

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

It's such an honor to be able to celebrate in special occasions alongside our guest, and we're happy to have left such a memorable impression on your and your friend, Joyce. It's a pleasure to have been able to provide you with the pampered services that only our property and attentive team can afford, and we hope to share in many more memories with you for visits to come. Many thanks again for being our guest, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Arrived at the Meritage and found the lobby like the check in at a Vegas hotel. Packed with loud people. Room was not ready at 4 pm as was promised and waited over an hour. Inquired as to why they were so behind with getting the rooms ready and was told "well today everyone arrived at the same time." hmmm, for $500/night, I thought not my problem. Had a lovely view of the parking lot despite booking a room with a vineyard view. Granted the vineyard was visible up the hill. There was apparently a problem with the air conditioning in the hallway on the way to the room which was wet, ice on the ground, and being fixed. IN the morning, walked by again and the debris had not been vacuumed up. The room was not super clean, a hand print on the sliding door into the bathroom which was apparently caused by someone who had makeup on their hand and then palmed the door and it had not been wiped off. Only one packet of regular coffee. The robes in the room were very high quality but SO large they would have fit my 6'5" 240 lb son. I drowned in it. Was expecting more of a Montage type experience here and instead it was more akin to a frat party in terms of clientele and feel. On the good side, the beds were nice and comfy. Overall, very disappointed and would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to lend such thoughtful feedback of your visit. While we aim to provide expedient services to each of our guests upon arrival, we can also appreciate the ebb and flow of arrivals and we apologize for any congestion and delay that occurred with yours. That said, and while we hope that you enjoyed your room and the attentive services that accompanied it, we 're sorry to hear of any shortcomings in housekeepings services, and we will certainly relay your concerns along to prevent reoccurrence. All said, we do hope that your visit was an overall enjoyable one, and we encourage you to reach out to our management team with any residual concerns you might have. It would be our pleasure to tighten any loose ends to ensure that your and future guest visits are as flawlessly fluid as our property more typically affords. Many thanks again for your time and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Rooms are average; perhaps, less than for the price point. Property attractive, but not spectacular. Customer service is less than accommodating.
"Blend" restaurant -- coffee is good! Hot breakfasts are greasy.
Room 341

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

We're so happy to have been able to host your recent visit to Napa Valley, and we're disheartened to hear of your unfortunate reception to our many offerings. We'd love the opportunity to discuss your visit further, and we encourage you to reach out to our management team with any lingering concerns you might have. Experiences like yours are at the forefront of our operations, and we value this feedback immensely; we only hope that you'll reach out again soon to share it's affect on our continued growth and evolution. Many thanks again for your time and review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to grow from your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My fiancé and I stayed the weekend at the Meritage where he proposed to me. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, the service is impeccable. We definitely will rate this as one of the best vacations yet. Definitely recommend the spa, we did a couples massage and loved every second we spent in their underground spa. The employees at the Meritage are awesome, from recommendations to giving A+ service. We enjoyed every part of the resort and our stay there, the food at the Siena is to die for, absolutely amazing and we had breakfast in bed both days of our stay that was also really good. Creig at the concierge desk was a lot of help when it came to planning our tastings and site seeing he was so kind and helpful. All around if there were more than 5 stars this resort definitely deserves it. We had an amazing time and will definitely be going back more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amber g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Congratulations on your engagement and thanks for allowing us to share in the occasion. It's such a heartwarming experience to become a part of such profound memories, and we're honored to have been the backdrop for yours. We appreciate your kind words regarding the attentive services of our team and the wealth of engaging amenities offered on site, and we hope that you'll reach out to help us build many more special memories alongside you. Thanks so much for taking the time to reach out; we appreciate your review, and we thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,064 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £187 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing