We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Napa!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here for my fist visit to Napa and we had a great time! The property is beautiful, staff was friendly, and the room was extremely spacious. I also thought it was a nice touch that we received a complimentary bottle of wine as part of the resort fee (which also includes parking and internet so an overall great value compared to other hotels). I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cvick23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Cvick23,

Thank you for selecting the Meritage Resort and Spa and allowing us to be host for your trip to Napa. We are very proud of all that our resort has to offer and we are sincerely pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations. Your compliments and appreciation of our friendly staff will be shared with our team. I hope you will have the opportunity to return to the wine country soon.

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,153 - 1,159 of 1,981 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Attentive staff. Very comfortable, clean, and spacious rooms. Beautiful grounds. Excellent, tasty meals. And a fine conference center operation.

I would certainly recommend the Meritage Resort for both personal and business use.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Paul B- It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed many aspects of our resort! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, Please come back and visit us soon!

Truly,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This very artificial feeling Napa property is not one I would return to. It is very overpriced for what it is, which is a dressed up conference hotel. Staff was very friendly but not knowledgeable nor well trained. The pool area is nice and the view of the vineyard is a pleasant one.

Service follow through was lacking. Everyone is glad to help, but seem to forget to follow through. The worst example was at lunch. We sat down at 12:30. We eventually found someone who would take our order. Four of the meals were finally delivered about 1:30. However, the final 3 meals were delivered at 2:00 only after we had to get up and complain. The waiter was very apologetic and kind. He said he would not charge us for the last group of late meals. Guess what?! We were charged. My husband was so fed up he just paid it.

Room Tip: The view of the vineyard with a balcony is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ckeWashingtonState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear ckeWashingtonState- Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations. It is truly our goal to provide our guests with exceptional guest service- and I am sorry you were not met with this experience. I would like to learn more of your time with us, so that I may appropriately address the team. Please check your private messages as I have sent you a message.

Thank you in advance for your time!

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here this past weekend for my bachelorette party weekend. The place is just beautiful - the pool overlooks a vineyard which you could walk around, the spa was a wonderful and relaxing experience, the tasting room was fun and the girls were knowledgeable.
Each and every employee we came into contact with was beyond accommodating and I felt like they sincerely wanted us to have the best experience there. Which we did!
We took the shuttle to town for the wine train and the driver went out of his way to take us directly to the train! The concierge were so helpful in helping us plan transportation and plan our day. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Meghan H,

Thank you for your 5 star review and choosing to stay at the Meritage Resort and Spa for your bachelorette party weekend. I am elated to hear that everyone had a great time. I will be sure to share all of your kind thoughts about our resort and how well the staff accommodated everyone in your party. I hope you will consider us in the future for all of your travels to Napa.

Sincerely,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We just got home from staying six nights at the Meritage resort. Loved it. Our room was large and faced the vineyard, we had a balcony to sit out on with table and chairs, the bathroom was also a good size with a long vanity with two sinks, lighted makeup mirror, shower (no tub) with glass door and rain-type shower head. There was a separate room at end of bathroom with a pocket door for the toilet. The service was really good and we never came across an employee who was not friendly and helpful. The pool area was great with nice chairs and bar service, also a hot tub. There was a lot of seating area by the pool too, but removed from it. A large fire was also by it to sit around with heat lamps because the mornings and evenings are really cool in Napa, we discovered; around 50 degrees. We ate at the breakfast buffet one morning in the restaurant, Sienna, it was very good. We also had a great cheese plate at Commons, the bar area. Our server, Gina, was awesome in the bar, very nice and helpful. She went out of her way to get our request for a cheese plate and Riesling, which is only served in the restaurant. Thanks, Gina! We attended a social in the wine cave for the convocation my husband was a part of. They did a nice job over there. Also, the dinner was served in the ballroom and then we moved to Crush Lounge for dessert and bowling. Meritage did a great job with all of it. Good food at the Crush Lounge and Blends serves good breakfast fare and sandwiches along with their coffee. The complaint I've seen most about the Meritage is their location. Yes, they are a ways out, but please don't let that stop you from staying here. They have a free shuttle to downtown Napa which is only about 5 minutes away. We drove to the wineries in Yountville, St. Helena and Calistoga. You can go all the way from the Meritage to the furthest town, Calistoga, in about 45 minutes. It's a really nice drive, too, very pretty to see all the vineyards and the mountains on each side and to stop at whichever winery you feel you want to see. The drive from Meritage to Sonoma is only about 15 minutes, too. We didn't go to the spa, but it looked nice. Free bottle of wine in your room and waters in fridge. From the front desk, to the restaurant, to the valet service, to the bar, the lounge and coffee shop--great place to stay! Loved sitting out by the gas fire at night (3 or 4 scattered around with comfortable furniture and tables) to enjoy wine by. An exceptional stay! Would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the view of the vineyard, otherwise the pool area would be nice, too. Our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelfromDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear TravelfromDuluth,

Thank you for taking time to share thoughts on your recent stay at the Meritage Resort and Spa. As a top contributor to TripAdvisor your 5 star review is one of the highest compliments we can receive. Your detailed thoughts will be shared with our team and reflected upon. I hope you will have an opportunity to return to Napa very soon.

Sincerely,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I would easily give this resort a 5 star rating if it were in a different location. The hotel and its immediate surroundings are wonderful, but it suffers from its location in a corporate park with high power lines in front of the resort. However, once inside the Tuscan inspired hotel, it is lovely. We had a fantastic oversized room overlooking the vinyards and "Grape Crusher" sculpture. The bathroom is enormous. It was so nice to be given a bottle of wine and bottled water, too The balcony is spacious, and we enjoyed our stay here very much. I would easily choose to stay here again (in spite of the corporate park setting) because I did not see any other resort that I would have liked better. The staff was extremely polite, the coffee shop was delightful, and Sienna Restaurant was outstanding. There is easy access to highway for trips up Napa Valley or over to Sonoma.

Room Tip: face the back of the hotel for a better view of the vineyard and not the corporate park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear LuciArlingtonHeights,

As a top contributor to TripAdvisor we truly appreciate and value your feedback on your recent stay at the Meritage Resort and Spa.Your compliments about our resort, the staff and the dining will be shared with the team. Thank you and I look forward to your next trip to Napa.

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here for a Girl's Wine Weekend and would definitely recommend this resort. The location is great. Very easy to enjoy the wineries in both Sonoma and Napa. The complimentary shuttle that they offer to downtown Napa is a great way to enjoy the wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cubby4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Cubby4,

Thank you for being our guest and selecting the Meritage Resort and Spa for the Girl's Wine Weekend. Your comments about our location and it's proximity to both Napa and Sonoma is something we are proud to share. Napa and Sonoma have some many wonderful wineries to enjoy and we always enjoy being host to many guests like you every year. I hope you your travels will bring you back to the Meritage Resort as often as possible.

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,064 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £185 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing