We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convention Hotel in Wine Country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Convention Hotel in Wine Country”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed in the Bella Vina section of the resort. It was nice, but very generic. Well maintained, well run but without a soul. Our room, a studio overlooking the pool, was quite nice, but was not in the same league when compared to some of the B&Bs that we've stayed in. Breakfast was not included, but available at the restaurant, and it was extremely expensive. Then again, this is a convention hotel, not a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martysfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Martysfo - Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback of your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your room as well as the view. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    507
    264
    95
    75
See reviews for
250
744
23
424
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The house keeping leaves a lot to be desired! Our room was apparently an upgrade with a patio! The patio was shared with the room next door and looked like it had never been cleaned it also had a view of a road! The wifi is impossible and there is no connection! Our price was $349 which is very high for a dirty moldy shower curtain and dusty room! When I complained, Jose the front desk guy threatened to put me back in the original room ! I shudder to think what that would be like! Buyer be ware !!! The general manager obviously doesn't care and I read some of the great reviews, it looks like the hotel is writing them!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ayesha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear ayesha t- Your review on Yelp is certainly concerning to read. I have met with our Front Office management team with regards to your review. Our Front Office Manager has tried multiple times to reach out to you to personally address your challenges to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. I assure you we value and respect our guests, their comfort and overall stay. I truly apologize you are not satisfied and hope to hear from you soon.

Truly.

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Meritage this past May for the weekend with a friend. We had just left San Francisco and wanted to visit wine country before heading back to the East Coast. We truly had no idea what to expect just read reviews hoped for the best!

While the location is not ideal for those that want to walk into town (or anywhere) it is a lovely large resort with beautiful grounds, pools, large rooms and nice amenities. All rooms appeared to have patios or balconies and the rooms were well appointed (including a nice bottle of Chardonnay).

We did have dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were very good. Service during both was nice and relaxing. We never felt rushed and the menu had some unique offerings that we were not expecting.

While we truly didn't spend a lot if time on property the time we were there was relaxing. There were events going in, conferences, weddings etc but we never felt it was over crowded or that our service was less because of that.

Also, for the area the price was reasonable!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PJM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear PJM27- As a Senior Contributor on Trip Advisor, I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Thank you for all of your feedback! I hope you had safe travels back to the East Coast- and we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This resort has everything! The rooms were gorgeous and spacious. The bathrooms are HUGE. Your welcome amenity includes a bottle of wine. There's a great sports bar that has bowling, shuffle boards and pool tables. The food was really good! There's lots of outdorr fireplaces with seating around it. They have a nice vineyard and wine library. I heard the spa was excellent too but I didnt get to try it.
I changed my room because they had given me a room in their "new building" where the breakfast restaurant is and while the room was more modern, it was smaller and the wifi was crappy, I would have to go outside to try and get a signal. They moved me to their older building, where the sports bar was located. Overall I think is an awesome hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessiekenela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear tessiekenela- Your 5-star review and wonderful feedback is much appreciated! It is great to hear you enjoyed the many great highlights of our resort. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future!

Thanks again,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel and had a wonderful easy stay. The room was clean and large enough for our family of 4. We did not have time to use the facilities such as the pool or restaurants (all looked very nice) as we were on the go both days that we were there. Two items that I felt made this hotel special: the gym and the winery behind the hotel. What made the gym fantastic is that they opened the glass sliders and it felt like being outside (this doesn't happen on the east coast) working out! And the view was great! The winery behind the hotel had a walking path that was really nice and my family and I liked walking through it and seeing up close how the grapes grow, watching the rabbits, and walking the different trails. A nice stay for our family.

Room Tip: I think hotels sometimes "fool" people when they say "you have a view of....."...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Sherri212- Thank you for sharing your experience on Yelp. Your thoughts are certainly valuable and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is wonderful to hear you had the opportunity to experience Trinitas Cellars and our expansive gym amenities. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Let's start by being frank- this hotel is in a corporate business park on the very outskirts of the city of Napa-and nothing about it says quintessential wine country. It is 15-45 minutes from the majority of wineries. We arrived mid week at 3 pm and our room was not ready. We had confirmed a superior king with patio but that is not what we got. Instead we were given a room with no patio but a couch in the room which was considered an "upgrade." We were told all the patio rooms were full and assured they would check again the next day to see if one opened up. no one ever contacted us and a bar staff told us the place was only 60% full-they also charge a resort fee per day ($20) and we are not sure what that covers since they charges rental fee to use the cabanas at the pool and over charge for mediocre drinks at the pool bar. It may have covered a wine and cheese reception they held Friday night but we were never told about this and missed it. We did have a drink at Crush, one of the bars. It was happy hour but when the bill came, the bartender had "forgotten" and we had to remind him the drinks were discounted. The Crush staff are very sketchy and we overheard them discussing what seemed like ways to make more money, although it was not clear if it meant manipulating the bar/business or the customers. The bottom line is that if you want a true wine country getaway, stay at one of the small properties in Yountville, Rutherford or Calistoga, and avoid Meritage.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank sarall0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear sarall0517- Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am very sorry you did not find our resort locale appealing. The Resort Fee includes amenities that our guests value such as high speed internet access, valet parking, complimentary wine upon arrival, just to name a few. Your feedback with regards to the staff have been addressed with the management teams. Again, thank you for your review and I hope you had safe travels.

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Loved the wine region of Napa Valley. Here at the Meritage Resort the staff were great and the surroundings breathtaking. Traveling alone the staff took care of my colleagues and I and made sure we were well cared for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Carmela C- It is always wonderful to hear from our traveler traveling alone- and the comfort and open arms they feel from our colleagues. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,987 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.6 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing