We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Option in Napa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
USA
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent Option in Napa”
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Wife and I spent (5) nights at River Pointe in March 2009. Our unit was a 2-bedroom which consisted of a full modular unit and half of another modular unit. The (2) units are connected by a deck that contains a small table with chairs.

These are not "trailers". Rather, they are modular units on wheels. The exterior is very well maintained. The inside of the units have cathedral ceilings, hardwood floors, very nice furniture and comfortable beds. Units are extremely clean.

The staff were very friendly, checkin was a breeze. They offer a few nice events during the week, including wine tasting in the evening and a welcome breakfast.

River Pointe will also suggest restaurants, wineries and local attractions. In addition, they will coordinate shipping your wine purchases for you at a rate much cheaper than the local UPS Store.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeV101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    175
    56
    26
    19
See reviews for
112
229
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2009

We had a great time in Napa. This resort is very small but in a great location. We had the opportunity to visit about six winery s per day because there were no lines like in the summer months. We picked our 12 favorite wines we cannot get at home and brought them back with us. The resort itself was great in that they came 3 times to change towels and clean etc. The staff was fantastic and always willing to help us.

  • Liked — convienent to everything to do
  • Disliked — no wifi in the room
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ncbldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbury, MA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2009

My husband and I were staying in a timeshare that my aunt was nice to give us as a wedding present in what on a map seemed just north of Sonoma Valley when it was actually a 2 hour ride.

We decided to cut our looses and head down to Napa to see what we could find for accomidations last minute durring crush season.

The chamber of commerce worker ( who by the way went above and beyond to help us save our honeymoon) suggested we check them out.

We did and for about 100 a night it was perfect. It was right in down town Napa. The hotel included coupons for some local establishments and had trips through the hotel.

We did a wine tour for about 80 dollars a head but it was great! and the price is average for Napa tours. We also did a free wine tasting at the hotel. The winemaker that gave the tasting invited anyone to his vinyard the next day for a free back stage tour! It was great and you can't beat free!!!

Great place I hope to stay there again next time I am in Napa!

  • Liked — Great location, with extra perks like free wine tasting
  • Disliked — I didn't find it sooner. Not there fault
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach Area
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

I read every review on this property before booking through our timeshare. It was a "free" week so we decided to book the week of Thanksgiving. What has not been mentioned is that it is not a mobile home, it truly is a trailer, a fifth wheel (with wheels). The first time I sat on the couch inside the small living area, my daughter sat on the bed in the bedroom. I said, "earthquake". Being a Southern Californian, we are used to the feeling. "no, mom, it's just me...look" - each movement moves the unit.

Probably the unique thing to this unit "43" was that it was directly across from the clubhouse. The lights blared through the bedroom windows all night. It felt like we had a 30 watt bulb on in the room. I requested a room change, but it was sold out as half of the units were moved off the properties for the winter. There were only 30 units left to rent.

The other thing never written was the indoor/outdoor carpet in the bedroom was pretty gross. Probably cleaned several 100 times. It made your socks black and felt like rubber. The bathroom smelled of mold. There is no heater only a portable radiating heat unit. This was interesting when the kids were in the living area on the pull-out couch and we were in the bedroom. The doors had to stay open to have any heat.

One of these things would have been okay, but overall not worthy of even 3 stars, maybe 2 1/2.

  • Liked — Well located to wineries and restaurants.
  • Disliked — felt like a camping trip
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank SCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We were under the impression we were going to be staying in a little cottage in Napa, but instead we discovered that the so-called cottage was actually a trailer! We checked out the website and the pictures are indeed very creatively shot so as to give one the impression a little bungalow was awaiting them...alas, that is not the case.

Now, I'm not going to be completely negative in this review. For a trailer, the accomodations were satisfactory. It was clean and fairly new, and although the kitchenette was functional, there wasn't an actual oven, so a convection oven had to suffice. The location is ideal, and once the mobile home shock goes away, you find you assimilate fairly well. We made the best of it, and rest assured, many a joke was made at the poor trailer's expense. Overall, though, it made for quite the memory in an already memory-filled vacation. Oh, and lastly, the staff is pretty good there--two women by the names of Marilyn (the activity director) and Dana (front desk) were particularly helpful to us. Be sure to attend the 9AM Monday activities breakfast if you can, as it'll help you plan out your time in Napa which is great destination for sure!

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — It was a trailer!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jpug2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee Florida
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2008

The River Pointe resort lies on the flood plain of the Napa River. According to the people who spoke at the orientation breakfast the location does flood and a few years ago was under nine feet of water. The location mandates that the units be portable. They are essentially one bedroom mobile homes. While previous posters have been put off by this, we found it quaint and due to large number of trees on the property, quite pleasant. We think previous posters have been unnecessarily harsh.

The management and staff were excellent. They were attentive and solicitous. The housekeeping crew came through at least one more time than advertised and I found the people out on the grounds very pleasant to talk to. There are no computer connections in the units. The only access to Wi-Fi is in the office. I had a little trouble logging in the first night, but they quickly remedied the problem.

The orientation breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Usually they are short on food an long on sales pitch. There was no sales pitch on the part of the resort beyond an invitation to owners for an update and a reminder that if anyone really wanted a sales pitch they would be happy to oblige and provide some nice gifts. My only real issue with the resort had to do with the planned activities. There were several planned activities which we would have enjoyed had we not already made conflicting plans. The resort plans a nice variety of activities and the few we attended were well done. The problem was that I did not know about them far enough in advance to plan accordingly. I would like to see future efforts on the part of management to get word out on their activities to all future guests.

This is a three star resort. It is very nice, but it is not the Ritz. I liked it and if I return to Napa would stay there again.

CTR

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of Internet access in the units
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CruisingtoRetirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

Although this is a trailor park this all aded to the charm. This site is in a flood area so the trailors have tp be moved when the river overfows. This is why it is a trailor park. The accommodation was of a good size. You didnt feel like you were in a trailor except for slight movement when someone walked inside. Ther e was ample storage and the kitchen was very well equipped but there was only a microwave. The only criticisms we had was that the sofabed was not very comfortable and the upper windows did not have blinds on them. My daughter slept on the sofabed so was woken early by all the light flooding through the high windows. Also the river walk could be a litte noisy with the early morning walkers if your trailor backed onto the walkway.. The staff were very helpful with booking restaurants and excursions. There were several evening wine tastings which were very pleasant held in the dining room. There was a laundry which came in very handy. This was free to use. Wash powder and dryer sheets were free from receprion. There is an excess of $5 a day for a service charge. The pool area and hot tubs were of a good size and towels were available. There was also plenty of BBQs around the site for anyone to use. These were cleaned after use by the maintainance service.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the resort
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry&Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.5 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#13 of 30 in Napa
643 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
2.9 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#26 of 30 in Napa
796 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Property: RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
Address: 500 Lincoln Ave, Napa, CA 94558-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Napa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#16 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverPointe Napa Valley is a resort that will suit any type of vacation. We offer studio and one-bedroom cottages. Guests enjoy room amenities such as an outdoor deck, fully-equipped kitchen, king/queen sized bed, sofa sleeper, and deluxe bathrooms. Additionally, on-site amenities include indoor/outdoor games, outdoor heated swimming pool, two outdoor hot tubs, and complimentary laundry facilities. Our delightful country cottages are sure to give you the vacation you have always wanted. Minimum age required at check-in is 21. Please note that there is a daily parking fee of USD 11.00. The hotel provides free wifi for all guests. We look forward to your stay at RiverPointe Napa Valley where there is plenty of room for fun, relaxation, and savoring Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverpointe Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Riverpointe Hotel Napa
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing