We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay!!”
Review of Cedar Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Gables Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

With all the wonderful Trip Advisor reviews, I had very high expectations of Cedar Gables. Not only did Ken & Susie meet expectations, they exceeded them. The house is beautiful and welcoming. We stayed in Edward’s Study which is one of the smaller rooms, but it was plenty big. The beds were cozy & comfortable, and even with that many rooms in the house, it’s surprisingly quiet.

Now getting to the part that makes Cedar Gables truly memorable; Ken & Susie. What wonderful hosts!! My husband and I do not eat breakfast, but the magic that comes out each morning had us up early. Each evening the happy hour is also not to be missed and a great opportunity to try some wineries that Ken & Susie recommended. They went above and beyond the call of duty as we’d purchased too much wine to easily check on the plane. They helped us to get to Buffalo Shipping, and even called over there to make sure they were open on Memorial Day. It’s little things like this that really add to their outstanding and personable customer service. I can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristiMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
273
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We had a lovely time. Susie and Ken, propriators, were very welcoming. They seek out what the visitors would like and then try to meet and surpass the expectations. Not only is the breakfast superior to the usual B&B fare but the evening wine tasting at their bar area was delightful. The next day we went off to one of the wineries that they recommended to buy more Chardonay. Our room was delightful and more than we expected. Very clean environment. Very interesting historic site.

Room Tip: Our room, Churchill, was quiet and the bed was just right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Susie and Ken made this weekend away better than even expected. They love their jobs and it shows. They were very friendly, clean, and really comfortable. The food was to die for. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this place. It was a delight. We had wine tasting there, then a cooking class which was so much fun. We will definitely return. This is a great find. Laurin

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurinH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have stayed at this B&B about 6 times over the last 8 years or so. I've made reviews here before, so I'll keep it short and sweet. The property is lovely; it's immaculate; the breakfasts are amazing; and you won't find another couple as endearing and welcoming as Ken and Susie. Ken often gets out the guitar and sings during the wine hour. They also often have nearby wineries come to share their wine on Friday nights. They go the extra mile to take care of you - offering a cooler to take for the day to keep picnic items cool, offer complimentary water and sodas all day long and there's always cookies available for a night time snack with your complimentary in room port. We recently had to stay elsewhere for a night because the Cedar Gables was full and realized what a true gem the Cedar Gables is as we did not get this wonderful package. You will not go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaSkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Not sure what great things I can say about this B&B that hasn't already been said, but just to reiterate some...it's a very convenient walking distance to downtown Napa. Ken was extremely knowledgable about the local restaurants and they were both full of very helpful advice (it was Susie's tip to drink a bottle of water per winery that helped me get through our wine tour feeling great)! The room was stocked with port wine, Ghirardelli chocolates, bottled water, corkscrew, and other little amenities that added a really special touch. Bed was super comfortable with really high thread count sheets. Susie's cooking is amazing! Her 3 course breakfast meals were better than some dinners I had at really expensive restaurants downtown. Plate of cookies at the end of the night was a really special treat too.

When I travel I never stay at the same place twice because I feel like there's always somewhere better to try out...but Cedar Gables is the exception! I will absolutely stay here for my next trip to Napa!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My husband and I were in Napa celebrating my birthday, and couldn't have found a better place to stay, nor better hosts! We felt like family from the time we walked into Ken and Susie's magical home. Susie is a pastry chef so there were delicious cookies waiting for us, plus a lovely display of teas and coffee. Our room was AMAZING! We had the top floor, quite a hike up, but well worth it! Our room had a hot tub for 2 which we took advantage of, champagne, port wine, and chocolates! Then there was the complimentary wine, cheese, fruit and snacks reception in their very own cozy tavern, where Ken played the guitar and sang. We loved visiting with some of their friends, as well as the other guests! And the BED...ahhh...best night's sleep I had had in a very long time! So comfortable and so inviting. And of course, Susie's breakfasts...oh my goodness...freshest fruits, home-made french toast and scones, Ken's home-made lattes...we felt like royalty! I just can't say enough good things about the Cedar Gables Inn. After staying at another Napa B&B the very next night, my husband and I were discussing what made the Cedar Gable so special, and we decided that while most are run as businesses, Ken and Susie are actually inviting you into their own home and it shows...all the extra personal touches are there! They went above and beyond our expectations, and we are very picky travelers! It's the warmth and attention to detail that this special couple offers that makes this such a wonderful place to stay. We can't wait to go back!! Oh, and if you need a personal driver to take you on a tour of the wineries, have Susie hook you up with her good friend, Monica. She and her husband Dave have great knowledge of the area and are just as kind and personable as Ken and Susie!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FairviewDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I spent a night here to get away for a day. The Inn is elegant, warm and inviting. Ken and Susie are the best hosts! The wine and cheese reception in the tavern (complete with acoustic guitar and singing by Ken) and the deliicious three course breakfast were wonderful. Wondering where to go for wine tasting or meals? Just ask them, they can recommend wonderful places. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.2 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#7 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gables Inn

Property: Cedar Gables Inn
Address: 486 Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559-3343
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Gables Hotel Napa
Cedar Gables Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing