We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantabulous”
Review of Cedar Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Gables Inn
Ranked #15 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Red Wing, Minnesota
1 review
“Fantabulous”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My sister and I stayed here while celebrating a "significant" birthday in Napa. This B&B totally "made" our Napa experience. Great atmosphere, woodwork, rooms, hosts, and the food--Oh, the food! Ken and Susie bumped us up to a larger room than the one we had reserved just because it was available. Thanks! We felt like ladies of the manor. Also, Ken's wine-tasting recommendations were spot on -- he pointed us to our favorite winery experience in Napa Valley. The Inn is within walking distance of downtown, and the parking is easy.We were looking for a place with character (but not Victorian as so many B&Bs are) and we loved this house!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engeltms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    17
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
275
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

When I started to plan my getaway with my husband, I was a bit nervous because It was a birthday present that I wanted him to remember for the rest of his life. As soon as I arrived, Ken who is one of the owner's, opened the door with a huge smile on his face. I knew then It was going to be a memorable experience. We had dropped in at the moment when happy hour for them was ending. But Susie, who is the co-owner and Ken's wife, greeted us with a warm hello and welcome . She then proceeded to ask us if we would like a glass of wine or beer. I was hooked. I then looked back to see Ken picking up two guitars with my husband, as they jammed for an hour! I felt like I was at a good friends' party. My husband was ecstatic. There were warm fresh baked cookies waiting in the living room as you enter the house. The house itself has got such a charm with each room having a Victorian style. The place was spotless, clean and beautiful! My room was the Gables suite, with a very romantic setting. They even had port and chocolate on a stand waiting for us. Every morning we were greeted with a lovely smile from Susie. And their delicious coffee, is their own special blend. It was one of the best cups of coffee that I have ever had. When I sat at the breakfast table and was given Susie's homemade baked goods and breakfast, I was just shocked at how remarkable these dishes were. Overall, I can not find one wrong thing about this bed and breakfast! I actually left saying to them that this will be my home away from home when I come back to Napa Valley. Thank you Ken and Susie, for such a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizbit1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed at Cedar Gables Inn for BottleRock & it was the perfect location for ultimate concert enjoyment - we were within easy walking distance to downtown Napa as well as the concert fairgrounds. We also found ourselves within easy walking distance to the local Target - which came in extra handy, given we had not planned our weekend packing appropriately

Ours was 1 of their small lofts but given we knew we would be out & about from after breakfast until 11pm every night, we were not looking for anything majestic or spacious & our loft suited us very well.

FREE WiFi!!

Breakfasts each morning were over the top delish & there was so much food! Kept us well-satiated throughout the Festival days & given we found few veggie options at the fairgrounds, we were extra grateful for such a hearty & delightful breakfast!

And if that weren't enough, offered throughout the day are complimentary sodas, waters & teas. There is always a plate of cookies out in the lobby & wine + cheese happy hours in the evenings......wished we had had chance to take advantage of all these goodies!

We also learned from Susie that she has local chefs come in to teach cooking classes at their place & she had a lovely large kitchen as well as a huge BBQ setup on the back patio....would totally be worth checking out

Chatting w/ some breakfast neighbors, they were raving over tours that Susie & Ken had helped them setup as well as some winery recommendations. This place sure seems to be a full service location for relaxation & fun - worth checking out for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We had an outstanding stay with Susie and Ken at their B&B home. Each day begins with an exceptional breakfast and later includes a cheery happy hour in their luxurious bar area. The home is immaculately clean. Ken and Susie are warm, welcoming and helpful with tips on getting around Napa. Our bed was very comfortable, the sheets great and the towels and touches make you feel right at home. We will definitely return to this wonderful location and welcoming family. Thank you, Susie and Ken!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I spent a fair amount of time looking for a good place to stay in Napa. I booked this place based on the good reviews. It did not disappoint. Before we ever arrived, Susie, the proprietor, helped me plan my entire trip and booked all of my reservations. Once we arrived, Susie and Ken welcomed us very warmly. We stayed in the Churchill Chamber, which has a large king size bed and a bathroom with a jacuzzi. The room was very large and comfortable. My only small complaint about the entire stay is that it was hard to climb into the shower and the water pressure was so light that it took too long to fill the tub. We mostly just used the showers. The breakfasts each morning were enormous and delicious. Make sure you get there between 9 and 10 because it doesn't go all day. We found out that there was a music festival so we got tickets. Suzie provided us with sweatshirts and a picnic blanket. Who does that other than your mother? They have wine tastings at night. They'll give you detailed directions and recommendations. Honestly, you can't ask for a better host. And it's walking distance from lots of restaurants and all the downtown Napa activity.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharirosenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiea, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I got married in Napa Valley in August 2013 and we chose to stay at Cedar Gables Inn for our wedding and honeymoon (2 weeks) after a wonderful experience the year prior (1 week). Ken & Susie were incredibly accommodating and gracious. Susie was so helpful and kind in receiving my wedding dress (we live in Hawaii and had a destination wedding in Napa) by mail prior to our arrival. She worked with the cleaners to have my dress picked up to get pressed and delivered back to her so that it was in perfect condition by the time we checked in. Ken & Susie also opened up an extra room for myself, my aunt, and my mom to get ready the day of my wedding (we had a hair & make up team come in as well as a professional photo shoot of us getting ready). They were so accommodating us & our family members...they went above and beyond and did not charge extra for their extra accommodations. Our family members who also booked rooms for our wedding loved it...others who didn't but visited us at Cedar Gables wished they did. Ken & Susie are such kind and generous people and you really feel it when you meet them. You can tell they love what they do and they go above and beyond for their guests...all with kind, loving hearts. This is all in addition to the awesome, one of a kind breakfasts that Susie makes (one of the reasons we returned) as well as their spacious, beautiful rooms. We will return to Cedar Gables Inn every time we visit Napa Valley (we have been to Napa 4 times so far...it's our favorite place), as we truly feel it is a home away from home...Ken & Susie are the best :) We will have wonderful memories of our wedding and honeymoon...and Ken & Susie are a huge part of it...we are so grateful :)

Room Tip: We love the suites...they are so spacious. Lady Margaret & Count Bonzi are great choices. We a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wash state
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is what you might look for in a Bed and Breakfast, and this is what you get at Cedar Gables Inn...3 course breakfast unlike anything you would ever cook for yourself, served on china with silver teapots; exquisite bed linens; private room and bath filled with classy antique furniture; port and chocolates in your room at bedtime; a happy hour every evening hosted by the proprietors; operators who are also owners who live onsite and can be seen changing light bulbs at 11 p.m.--that's how much they care about the details; a 125 year old building that has been meticulously restored to the beauty of a former era, the convenience and safety of the current era; gracious hospitality from innkeepers who truly value and respect their clients; chocolate chip cookies in the entry, fruit and drinks in a "help yourself" pantry; convenient stroll to beautiful downtown Napa; secret stairways in a fascinating building! You will absolutely love staying here; I did.

Room Tip: The smallest room--Avon Loft--is a well equipped haven for a single traveler. You don't sacrific...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CramerWashstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,948 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.2 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#9 of 30 in Napa
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gables Inn

Property: Cedar Gables Inn
Address: 486 Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559-3343
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Gables Hotel Napa
Cedar Gables Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing