We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Churchill Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Churchill Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 23 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Duncan, Oklahoma
1 review
“Amazed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B. We were amazed from the minute we walked in. Went for our 25th anniversary. It felt like going back in time. The old world charm you have always dreamed about. The staff completed the stay by being as amazing as the house. Friendly, courteous, and always helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    31
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
303
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

First time at a BB..thrilled at the exceptional delightful service, the staff was attentive, helpful and friendly. The Inn is gogeous inside and out! The gardens are breathtaking and the location is a delightful short walk to town. Would definitely give 5 stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SacGIRL796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

It was absolutely charming. The staff was very friendly and helpful in restaurant choices and activities. The breakfast was delicious. We stayed in the Howell Room and our friends stayed in the Diamond Room. They were both very nice and very clean. The location was just a few blocks from downtown Napa. The grounds were beautiful.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Churchill Manor was highly recommended by our Family. And now we know why...
We were truly treated like "Royalties" at this wonderful location.
Everyone at this Incredible Facility, was truly Friendly, Warm and Exceptional.
They helped us with Driving Directions and a Printed Maps for our Napa Wineries excursions.
Room was immaculate and Wonderful Landscaped Property was equally superb.
The Breakfasts were just exceptional, with a wonderful "Gourmet Touch".
The afternoon Wine and hors d'oeuvre, was also truly a treat. We definitely will recommend
Churchill Manor Bed & Breakfast for anyone who appreciate each other.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danishScottsdale_AZ_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We usually stay at the Cedar Gables Inn during our frequent visits to Napa; however, they didn't have an availability for our last night, so being that it was just around the corner and looked like such a beautiful property, we thought we'd try the Churchill Manor, much to our disappointment. I'm shocked to see all the great reviews of this property but perhaps we've been spoiled by staying at the Cedar Gables Inn and those who have never been there don't know how nice a B&B stay could be.

Anyway, I called in the morning to see if we could pop over and drop off our luggage before heading out for the day since our room wouldn't be ready. I was given a curt, ok, come on over. When we got there, instead of a warm welcome, the woman who greeted us was visibly annoyed that she had to store our luggage and commented that she didn't know where to put it since she had no idea we'd have so much luggage. We each had a small carry on sized suitcase. And just the entire time we just weren't treated as if we were welcome. We were traveling with another couple and they mentioned the same feeling of just wanting to get out of there. Even when we left I asked where to check out and was give a curt, leave the keys on the front desk - no asking how the stay was, nothing.

The property is beautiful, the rooms clean, etc., but I can get all of that plus much more and be treated like a guest elsewhere. Plus, the price was expensive and it felt even more so when we weren't treated well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaSkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napainnkeepers, Owner at Churchill Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay at Churchill Manor. We take all reviews very seriously. Upon receiving the comment card that was left in your room, I immediately addressed your concerns with the staff and called to personally apologize. The innkeeper in your review has written a letter which you should be receiving shortly. She is one of our newest staff members and the one who greeted you when you dropped off your luggage.

While her demeanor that morning may have seemed "curt", it was just that she was unprepared to see two couples, rather than one, with about 8 pieces of luggage -- much more than she was expecting or knew what to do with. We are very sorry that her thought process at that moment was misinterpreted as unwelcoming, as it was truly not her intention. I am sure you noticed when you arrived during our off hours that the owners and staff were busy working on the final stages of our annual renovations, including the installation of new carpeting in all of our upstairs guest rooms, which allows us to maintain a beautiful and luxurious property for all our guests. While our new innkeeper was focused on seeking a quick solution for the best place to store your luggage, one that would be safe yet convenient amid our furniture moving, it apparently came across that she was not welcoming you in the gracious way you were expecting. For this, we apologize. She was completely unaware of your perception and felt very badly when she read the comment card left in your room. As she ended her shift before you checked in, and did not return for the balance of your stay, you were unfortunately not afforded the opportunity to experience what a lovely and caring innkeeper she truly is.

When your party returned to check in, we were unaware of any previous discontent and we hope you felt welcomed in the same warm manner as would all our guests. I personally observed our other innkeeper giving you a tour, welcoming you in her usual gracious and joyful manner, and escorting you upstairs to your newly carpeted guest rooms.

Regarding check-out, we strive to make it as quick and easy as possible for our guests. Upon arrival, we hand our guests a welcome envelope which includes the receipt for their stay, so all they have to do when they check out is return their key. Our guests very much appreciate our expedited check-out service. When you were having breakfast and asked our innkeeper about check-out, she described the process and how easy it would be. As you were leaving, she also personally reached out to you and your husband, asking about your stay, where you were heading from here, and if you needed help with your luggage. You handed her your keys as you told her you were heading to the airport to go home.

At Churchill Manor, we take great pride in hosting the stays of many regular and repeat guests, some of whom have been staying with us for over 20 years, so we know and appreciate how wonderful these lasting relationships can be. While we respect your long-term relationship with a neighboring inn, we regret that you were not able to enjoy our beautiful inn and gardens, food, and hospitality.

Again, thank you for your feedback.
Joanna - Owner of Churchill Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason City, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

My fiance and I had been engaged for a year and were planning on having a wedding in Iowa, where we live, and already had the ceremony and reception venues booked. We decided to scrap those plans and do something more romantic and adventurous and have a small destination wedding/elopement that would be much more meaningful for the two of us. At first we were thinking of going to a beach somewhere, then we came up with the idea of going to Napa (even though we had never been to Northern California). I came across Churchill Manor when doing research online and I knew that the late-1800s mansion would be the perfect place for our small wedding. From my first e-mail inquiry to the time we checked out the day after our wedding, the service we received was excellent!! We booked an elopement package and the price was extremely reasonable. Our package included 2 nights at the bed and breakfast (which included their oustanding breakfasts!), use of the grounds for our ceremony, the wedding officiant, wedding cake, bottles of sparkling wine for the reception, and the bridal bouquet and bouttoniere. The staff is so incredibly helpful--I planned everything via e-mail, and all I had to do was tell them our preferences for cake and flowers, etc. and they arranged it! My bouquet was exactly what I had pictured, and our wedding cake was the best cake we've ever had! The officiant, Pastor Grove, was so sweet and accomodating. We also wanted a pianist for the ceremony and reception, and the staff arranged that for us as well. The rooms are so beautiful and romantic! The bed and breakfast is in a great location and within walking distance from many restaurants and shops. The owners of the bed and breakfast were on vacation while we were there, and we had the pleasure of having Joy take care of us--she was wonderful--so attentive and friendly!! We had 8 guests at our wedding, and everyone raved that it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to. I can't say enough about how great this place is! It was an amazing, memorable experience and we're SO happy we decided to get married here! I HIGHLY recommend Churchill Manor for anyone planning a smaller wedding, or couples looking to have a romantic getaway in a gorgeous setting! My husband and I will definitely be back in the future for an anniversary. :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
248 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

And I mean that literally. Full of wonders, from the individual rooms, to the gracious innkeepers (we were fortunate to have the 'wonderful' Susan and Joy), to the immaculate grounds, the pervasive charm, the cozy breakfast room (and wonderful breakfasts), the quiet neighborhood and the ever-present feeling that you just-do-not-want-to leave, ever.

My daughter found Churchill Manor in 2008. She and her then-fiance (now husband), his parents, and my wife and I first went to Churchill Manor for my daughter's wedding back then. We went back again this month (March 2013) for a reunion/anniversary celebration. We left planning another such trip 5 years from now. (We may go sooner just to be able to enjoy this slice of heaven on Earth sooner).

In addition to all its fundamental attractiveness, the Property is located just a few minutes from downtown Napa.

Anybody who goes to Napa who does not stay at Churchill Manor is missing out on a truly enriching experience.

Room Tip: The King Rooms, while more expensive, are well worth it. These rooms make a huge difference on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.2 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#2 of 23 in Napa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on Randolph
Inn on Randolph
#4 of 23 in Napa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Churchill Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Churchill Manor Bed and Breakfast

Property: Churchill Manor Bed and Breakfast
Address: 485 Brown St, Napa, CA 94559-3349
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax your cares away on the wrap-around veranda at our romantic bed and breakfast in Napa Valley. Book luxurious rooms at our Napa bed & breakfast, lovingly appointed with comfy beds, fireplaces, and private bathrooms. Enjoy a delicious gourmet breakfast each morning and mingle during the wine reception every evening at our Napa Valley B&B. Don’t miss out on complimentary winery passes, tandem bicycles, Wi-Fi & croquet court at our Napa, CA bed and breakfast! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Churchill Manor Hotel Napa
Churchill Manor b&b
Churchill Manor Bed And Breakfast Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing