We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who wouldn't love it?”
Review of La Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Belle Epoque
Ranked #13 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Who wouldn't love it?”
Reviewed 12 October 2007

Our trip to Napa was great. Labelle Epoque added to our special weekend. The Queen Anne decorated home is lovely. Our room (the Cabernet Room) was sooo nice- it was pretty, roomy, & very accomodating. The bed was so comfy-the sheets were unbelievably soft. The breakfasts were special. The owners, Roxanne and Derek, and their staff, really knock theirselves out to accomodate their guests. The 6:00 wine tastings along with appetizers, in the cellar were fun- it was nice to be able to talk to the very nice owners and the other guests.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Italianogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    88
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
367
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

The epitomy of personal service , Roxanne and Derrick were wonderful hosts. Although you might be tempted to sleep in, if you do you'll miss a killer breakfast, with such treats as rosemary scones, florentine eggs, and peach french toast ! Our room was sooooo comfortable, I almost hated to leave. The nightly wine tastings featured fabulous wines. They were held in the wine cellar, which was adjacent to our room. The only problem one might encounter, if you're over 6'4" , you might have problems with the low ceilings in the champagne suite. Judd's Hill was one of the wineries that poured for us. We ended up visiting and received a great tour of the vineyard and wine-making process. The linens at La Belle Epoque were so soft, that I asked Roxanne to let me in on her secret of how I could duplicate this at home. We had a grand, jetted bathtub which helped us relax after a full day of tastings. The private garden area in the backyard was very peaceful, and perfect for early morning coffee or yoga. We were very close to downtown Napa, and several tasty restaurants. We can't wait to return. Roxanne, save some of those chocolate truffles for me!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank FyneWyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2007

La Belle Epoque is quaint and delightful; a charming B&B experience. They serve delicious breakfasts and host evening wine tastings where guests can chat and swap recommendations. The location gives you easy access to wineries and is within walking distance from downtown which is a great place to venture out for dinner. If you’re staying at this lovely joint pack only jersey knits because the mini iron and ironing board won’t do much for the wrinkles left in your button downs.

  • Liked — quaint
  • Disliked — not as many modern amenities as I'm used to in high end hotels
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Superach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

After reading positive reviews my wife and I decided that this would be our 1st B&B (of 4 we stayed in that week) in the area. The house is centrally located within walking distance to downtown Napa. We stayed for two nights and found the management friendly and helpful with suggestions for wineries as well as local restaurants. They also offer a wine tasting room in their own cellar. The breakfasts were excellent and the best of the B&B's we stayed in. I would recommend them for your next stay in Napa.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank akconsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

This was a true disappointment. Our room was smaller than advertised, and our fireplace was actually an electric heater! The only thing more maddening than our room was the indifference shown by Roxanne, who barely took the time to look up from her cereal when I brought this to her attention.
Add to that the fact that our fantastic breakfast was french toast and ham, nothing very special, and I have had better at Denny's for a lot less money, and we were just astonished at the disconnect between their web site and reality.
And there are definite options that are better; for example, the Vineyare Inn in Yountsville, where you are steps away from The French Laundry and several other fine restaurants, and whose breakfast spread was truly world class; jams, jellies, croissants that were warm, meats, etc., the kind of offering I was expecting from La Belle Epoque. And for basically the same price.
In summary, don't stay at this place, as it may be quaint, but does not offer the value/services/meals of better offerings just down the road.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank RTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2007

We had a fabulous time at La Belle Epoque. The room was lovely and the gourmet breakfasts were unforgettable. The nightly wine tastings with our hosts were a delight.

  • Liked — Evening Wine Tastings
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PTMBurbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenville, NY
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

My wife and I, along with another couple, spent 2 nights at La Belle Epoque in July. In spite of our extremely late arrival due to flight delays, Roxanne and Derek had arranged for us to pick up keys to the rooms and left a late night snack for these weary travelers. The rooms were quiet, clean, nicely-appointed and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfasts, meeting the other guests and the evening wine tasting. Roxanne had some great suggestions for wineries to visit and helping us navigate the Napa valley. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MikeOstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#12 of 30 in Napa
317 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.5 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#4 of 22 in Napa
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Epoque

Property: La Belle Epoque
Address: 1386 Calistoga Ave, Napa, CA 94559-2552
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Belle Epoque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over a century this stunning Napa Valley Queen Anne Victorian has reigned over Napa. Today, La Belle Epoque is a luxury Napa Valley boutique inn - ideal for romantic getaways, family reunions, small weddings and solo retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your La Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Epoque Hotel Napa
La Belle Epoque Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing