We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fully Renovated Hotel and Gateway to Napa Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivy Hotel Napa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Fully Renovated Hotel and Gateway to Napa Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

I was very warmly greeted by the front desk staff upon checking in. We were two hours early but they had our room ready to go with no problems. Very good service from the staff. The property and rooms have been completely redone. There is only slight evidence of the original building in a door or railing here and there. It looks great and is very modern. The renovations appear to be complete, we saw no signs of construction. Basically ingore any reivews of this hotel prior to April or May 2011. It's essentially a new properlt.

We had a single king room and liked the layout, there were nice windows and a couple big comfortable sitting chairs. The bed was comfortable but not the best ever. The bathroom was stylish and functional. The small fridge worked well and was not noisy. The pool looked nice and was enjoyed by other guests but we did not use it. I used the free wi-fi a few times and it worked well with no setup issue.
The best thing was the how nice a hotel this was for price - especially for it being Napa. Compared with the rest of the Napa hotels this place ranges from being a bargain to a complete steal!. We had more free cash to eat great food and buy wine! The location is also great right off highway 29 at the north end of the city of Napa. It's 5 minutes from downtown Napa and about 8 minutes from Yountville (when there is no traffic!).
Overall we had a great experience at the Ivy Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DG_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    278
    158
    62
    48
See reviews for
142
373
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

The Best Western Ivy was great. All the rooms have been recently renovated and it shows. The staff are extremly friendly. The pool was great after a day of wine tasting, all the outdoor furniture is very nice. As an added bonus there is free breakfast. The breakfast bar was crowded, but the staff made sure everything was refilled as needed.

I would definitley recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyckala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

When I first saw Best Western, I questioned how nice this place could really be. It was that nice and more! The decorations were modern, artsy, and adorable. The room was spacious and had a bar area with a refrigerator. The staff was extremely knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was a great addition each morning. There is an outside seating area with comfortable picnic tables and lounge seating for meals. The pool and hot tub was great. The location was perfect. It was minutes from downtown Napa. It was located right off of the main highway that leads to all of the Napa county wineries. You are just a couple of miles from the beginning of all the wineries. Made tastings and tours, then running back to the hotel for a mid-day breather perfect. Would definitely stay there next time we go back!

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the pool for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollypyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed a weekend to attend a wedding. Location of hotel is closed to the wedding site and they are less expensive than most highly rated local hotels. Front desk clerks and Hotel GM , Jeff, were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was crowded, and breakfast area is a bit too small for the number of rooms and guests they have However quality of the food was very good and they also excellent coffee. Rooms have been remodeled, but I don't like the decor they picked. All in all, it is an acceptable hotel for the money I spent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sourdough_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

This is the first review I have felt compelled to write on Tripadvisor. I am not a complainer and have never felt like it was required. But, with the amount of money that was spend and the amount other travelers will spend to not be able to sleep here warrants it.
Below is the email that I sent to Best Western after staying there. I have never spent a night on a more uncomfortable bed in my life. I travel extensively for both business and pleasure and have never encoutered anything like it. It was the topic of conversation with the front desk personnel and the breakfast crowd each morning we were there. The workers knew it was a problem and an obvious frequent complaint.

Contents of email:

I am writing in regards to stay at the Best Western Premier Ivy in Napa, CA. I stayed there from the 26th of May to the 30th. This was a birthday getaway that my girlfriend put together for her and I. I was utterly disappointed by your hotel. After spending our wine trip last year in Sonoma at the Best Western we were very excited to find a Premier property to stay at in Napa. It proved to be an awful decision. Neither of us were able to get more than a few hours of sleep a night due to the beds that you use in this hotel. When I spoke to the front desk personnel about I the morning after our first night stay they were extremely apologetic. They told us that they get this complaint almost constantly but that all the beds are the same, and unfortunately uncomfortable. There was no other room that we could move to in order to escape the ridiculously uncomfortable beds. At the breakfast area that first morning it was the general nature of conversation amongst several of the parties there. Being memorial day weekend there were no other options for us to move to a different hotel.
The fact that you charge what I paid for that vacation for the experience you deliver is beyond reprehensible. It is not the staffs fault that a clear problem is present that the owners of this property choose to ignore. I am sure they have been put in multiple awful situations due to this. I did not take my frustration out on them, as I know it was not their decision to buy these beds. I was absolutely disgusted by our experience at your property. Both of us ended up sleeping in the chairs in the room the last night to avoid the bed. That is not how I wanted to spend a very expensive romantic birthday weekend trip. We spent over a thousand dollars at your property and even more for a great trip that was largely dampened due to your choice of a few dollars over your guest experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KInVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napa hotels

Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
172 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

They did a phenomenal job with the remodel. Design aesthetics aside, the bedding was nice. The shower was hot with great water pressure. You can even make your own waffle in the morning for breakfast. The location alone is very convenient to all the vienyards. You can get to Yountville in a few minutes.

Eveyrone on the staff is really helpful and friendly. Every single person greeted us with a smile and a Hello. The only items out of the ordinary were 1) the lack of an alarm clock and 2) the doors that SLAM shut if you are not careful.

All in all, save your money to buy more wine and stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flafreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We stayed here 3 years ago when it was The Chateau and what a dump! It was disgusting!!! I would never have stayed here again but I have some friends in town that told me about the renovations the hotel has undergone so we decided to give it a second chance. I'm so glad we did too!!! The staff was very professional and helpful, they even made our dinner reservations for us and directed us to fabulous wineries to visit. Breakfast was very nice and the rooms were extremely comfortable and beautifully designed. The location can't be beaten. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveNapaYn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#14 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
3.0 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Hotel Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Hotel Napa

Property: Ivy Hotel Napa
Address: 4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2233 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa)
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Hotel Napa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You deserve to go wine tasting in wine country, which is exactly what's in store for you around this gorgeous Napa hotel. Wineries, world-class restaurants, and hiking and cycling trails abound in this region. Your Napa hotel is close to the entire splendor of the area. Spend an afternoon touring different wineries and selecting a new favorite merlot. There are several great golf courses near the hotel, too. We're not just a great Napa hotel located near wineries. The proximity to Napa Valley world-class restaurants and local agricultural attractions is unbeatable. We're the only hotel in downtown Napa with an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. You don't need to be at the beach to work on your tan and enjoy a refreshing dip in turquoise waters. Guests are in luck because we're the only Premier Best Western in all of California. That means extra doses of luxury, amenities and service at this Napa hotel. Our deluxe, complimentary full breakfast features waffles, breads and pastries, yogurt, cereal, hot eggs, hot breakfast meat, fresh fruits, and 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices. The Napa Valley Wine Auction attracts travelers from around the world. This Napa hotel is within walking distance to local transportation, and has great customer service, free Wi-Fi in the rooms, and free parking. Don't miss out on the local winemaker reception hosted in the lobby every Friday. The opulent, avant-garde boutique Napa hotel provides a stunning beginning to any trip. Friendly staff members are happy to help guests plan a day's agenda. Enjoy the great outdoors in style with a bicycle ride around town. Photographers and nature lovers delight in the endless beauty of Mother Nature. A stroll around town or a hike on one of the local trails will have you right in the middle of the adventure. Your gorgeous Napa hotel is an entryway to the unique experience of downtown Napa Valley. Reserve an unforgettable stay at Ivy Hotel Napa right now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ivy Hotel Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Napa
The Chateau Hotel
Ivy Hotel Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing