We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivy Hotel Napa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Our friends' wedding was Aug 20th and we had wine tasting and a welcome reception in Yountville on the 19th...so staying here worked out well, since it was only about a 5+ minute drive to Yountville. We stayed in Room 129 which faces onto the pool, lovely but hardly used...I guess everyone was busy wine tasting? We enjoyed a very nice dinner our first night at Oxbow Market. Yes, the light switch in the closet was a little weird and the walls/floors a little thin, but overall we thought the remodel a success. I used the business center to check in for our return flight, yes only one computer, but I was the only one there! The breakfast was very busy, but they seemed to keep up. I liked the waffles!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    278
    158
    62
    48
See reviews for
142
373
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

My wife and I got married in Napa Valley in May 2011. We scouted out accommodations in Jan 2011 right when the Ivy Hotel was being renovated. In fact, we met the new GM - Jeff Perry - at a wedding event while there. He nicely showed us what the hotel renovations would result in along with the spectacular rates (for Napa and for this location just N of City of Napa along the Wine Highway) they would have for us when we came back. Based on his great presentation/overview, we decided to use the Ivy Hotel as our primary accommodations for over 50 family and guests. Jeff and his staff were fantastic to deal with as our YES RSVPs came in and arrival/departure plans were made. Needless to say, we were a bit worried about this hotel since they had just opened a month or so earlier, so we held our breath as the guests started arriving on Thursday AM in mid-May 2011. We were thrilled when every single wedding party guest was not only satisfied with their accommodations but also with the staff at the Ivy. They liked the breakfast in the AM, they liked the modernistic rooms, they liked the rates (we paid for a lot of our families directly). I heard only a few complaints that the floors/walls are a bit thin so you can hear people walking in the halls at night/morning.
So. Why only 3 stars, then? Sadly, we've had little/no luck in getting Jeff Perry back on the phone/Email since our wedding weekend ended to discuss the bill. We believe - in the checkout confusion - that our personal credit card was overcharged for some guest room nights. We're not sure, but we THINK this is accurate based on our spreadsheet calculations. No amount of phone calls or Emails to Jeff or his staff seems to warrant a call-back or acknowledgement that they will help us work this out so we don't feel overcharged. We're bummed that this experience ended so negatively as everything else went so darn well.
So - I'll say this - great renovation. Great location if you want easy access to wineries. Great staff. Don't count on them helping you at all if something goes wrong with your bill. :-(

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camarillo, ca
Level Contributor
175 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This was a family stay, with 2 kids (ages 12 and 14). I am pleased to say that, with all the remodeling, you still get a large room with 2 queen beds (I've noticed that sometimes when hotels remodel, they put in double beds to make the room seem larger). Everything did seem brand, sparkling new and I have nothing but positive comments to make.

The layout of the bedroom is such that the sink is outside the bathroom, and there's an extra large space next to it for placing all the toiletries (much appreciated; I wish all hotels would think of this). There's only 1 strange quirk to the room (or our room) which may be a result of the remodeling: the first hallway light switch you need when you go in the room is INSIDE THE CLOSET. Once you find it, you'll notice there's actually a little cutout on the closet door to flip the switch.

Breakfast was included, and the breakfast was substantial, the attendants working full speed all morning to satisfy all the tourists who need lots of food to sustain them through the day's wine tastings.

We were also really impressed with the front desk, both in the evening when we checked in quite late and in the morning when we asked for local directions. Also, housekeeping came to our aid almost immediately even though it was very late in the evening.

As a previous reviewer has said, don't be disuaded by the Best Western name. It doesn't fit the Best Western stereotype... and in a very good way!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool area: Either Rms. 125-155, or 231-261. Otherwise you have gorgeous...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank miznina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. george, Utah
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Nice hotel friendly service would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillytom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Found this gem travelling south from Calistoga...very new and so well equipped it's hard to know where to start! The rooms are ultra modern and comfortable..we thought there would be noise from the road but no, we had agreat night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful. Convenient Mexican restaurant next door so we didn't have to drive again after a long day in the car.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Got this hotel through Priceline while bidding for a 3 star quality hotel. I have not cared for Best Westerns in the past and was a little concerned when I got this one. Apparently there are 3 property levels and this one was their top level, premier. I was impressed upon arrival when entering the hotel lobby and seeing how clean the area was. The tile floors just sparkled. Check-in was easy and quick. We were traveling with another couple and were given 2 rooms close to each other on the 1st floor. This hotel is newly remodeled & updated. The rooms were clean and modern. There was a microwave, mini fridge and a safe in the room. The pool area outside was very nice and had pool furniture with cushions and (cloth)umbrellas, tables; not just your standard plastic that you see so often by a pool. The free breakfast was more than just dry pastries and juice. You could make your own waffles. There was plenty of fresh fruit, juices, hard boiled eggs. pastries, yogurt and other things to choose from. There was also an area to eat outside with nice tables, chairs and umbrellas. We arrived on a Weds. night and the next morning I noticed the safe was in a locked position. When I went to the front desk she politely informed me that the maintenance man was not in but she would send the manager down as soon as he arrived. He was there within in the half hour and re-set the safe for me. They have a computer available for free use. We purchased some baseball tickets online for a game in San Fran but were unable to print them because the printer was out of ink. The front desk clerk allowed me to come down to the front desk and print them there. That was typical of the service we received there. I felt their entire staff, manager included, went out of their way to make our stay as nice as possible. I would defintely stay at this hotel again. The location was convenient to town and the wineries.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fkhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

On a whim we decided to drive up to Napa from San Francisco for a few days. Unfortunately, most of the hotels Yountvilee, St. Helena, etc. were booked. So we decided to try the Ivy Hotel by Best Western. And what a great surprise! The rooms were huge and very comfortable (all recently remodeled), and the location was great. We were literally 10 minutes from Youtnville yet we only paid half the price of staying in Yountville. If you want to see Napa but not pay a fortune to do it - this place is for you. And there is a great restaurant two blocks away (Fume)....make sure you check that out too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erock33626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#14 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
3.0 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Hotel Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Hotel Napa

Property: Ivy Hotel Napa
Address: 4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2233 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa)
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Hotel Napa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You deserve to go wine tasting in wine country, which is exactly what's in store for you around this gorgeous Napa hotel. Wineries, world-class restaurants, and hiking and cycling trails abound in this region. Your Napa hotel is close to the entire splendor of the area. Spend an afternoon touring different wineries and selecting a new favorite merlot. There are several great golf courses near the hotel, too. We're not just a great Napa hotel located near wineries. The proximity to Napa Valley world-class restaurants and local agricultural attractions is unbeatable. We're the only hotel in downtown Napa with an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. You don't need to be at the beach to work on your tan and enjoy a refreshing dip in turquoise waters. Guests are in luck because we're the only Premier Best Western in all of California. That means extra doses of luxury, amenities and service at this Napa hotel. Our deluxe, complimentary full breakfast features waffles, breads and pastries, yogurt, cereal, hot eggs, hot breakfast meat, fresh fruits, and 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices. The Napa Valley Wine Auction attracts travelers from around the world. This Napa hotel is within walking distance to local transportation, and has great customer service, free Wi-Fi in the rooms, and free parking. Don't miss out on the local winemaker reception hosted in the lobby every Friday. The opulent, avant-garde boutique Napa hotel provides a stunning beginning to any trip. Friendly staff members are happy to help guests plan a day's agenda. Enjoy the great outdoors in style with a bicycle ride around town. Photographers and nature lovers delight in the endless beauty of Mother Nature. A stroll around town or a hike on one of the local trails will have you right in the middle of the adventure. Your gorgeous Napa hotel is an entryway to the unique experience of downtown Napa Valley. Reserve an unforgettable stay at Ivy Hotel Napa right now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ivy Hotel Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Napa
The Chateau Hotel
Ivy Hotel Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing