We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up to Par”
Review of Ivy Hotel Napa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Reviewed 22 October 2011

When I heard that a national hotel chain had purchased and refurbished the old Chateau Hotel, I was pleased that Best Western had invested in the community. It's a great location, with a pool - perfect for families. So when I needed to go to Napa on a business trip, I decided to check it out - and while the lobby is newly refurbished and the continental breakfast is a definite plus, the room was not up to par. The minor updates were really poorly done (towel bars are mounted on a poorly painted 1x4 piece of wood with a screw that shows throught the paint and the closet doors have been replaced with a door covered with contact paper). The unfinished tile on the bathroom floor was home to the pet spider (see picture). I'm hoping that the 'refurbishing' effort continues.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for Ivy Hotel Napa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

As a Bestwestern rewards member I got a good offer on this hotel. As a premier hotel I was expecting a great location and a great room. The location for this hotel is bad. It is off the main highway but it is a long way from anything you might want to do, eat, drink, etc. There is a Mexican restaurant next door, but the food I got was poor for any location! I do not recommend eating at this restaurant. The hotel rooms have a late 60's early 70's retro look, lots of bright colors and funky lights. We stayed here only 2 nights before we left and went to the Bestwestern plus at the vines. I would say the BW plus at the vines was a much better hotel than this, especially the location and hotel furnishings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWells5733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This hotel would be over priced, in other places! But here in Napa it was actually lower then alot of other similar hotels. The rooms have been refreshed recently, and are very large. I thought breakfast was quite good and they always made sure there was lots of food out. Seating can be a problem but we always managed to find a spot. The bed matresses could use to be replaced soon as our king bed did have a visable low spot in the middle, although surprisingly it was still really comfy. There was tons of free parking. We really liked the Mexican Resturant next door, the food was great and really good prices. All in all I would recommend this hotel. Unless your willing to pay "a lot" more your not going to get that wine country ambience. We didn't come to Napa to spend much time in our room anyways.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My family stayed here for two nights while in Napa to enjoy some of the restaurants and wineries. The weekend rate was rather high but then you don't go to Napa for a bargain. Compared to other area accommodations it's reasonably priced. I'll admit that I booked partially on the strength of the room photos with the funky decor and wasn't disappointed one bit. The room was exactly as pictured, felt clean, and everything looked nice and new. Not a bad location for exploring Napa and Yountville, which were our prime destinations. The free continental breakfast was well stocked with the sorts of cereals, danishes, and beverages you'd expect to find at a chain hotel's breakfast. In other words, nothing fancy but enough to get you going in the morning and helped offset the cost of fine dining the rest of the day. They kindly put us in a quiet room at the back of the building at our request and we had no trouble sleeping through the night. The free happy hour Friday evening was an added bonus. All in all a nice alternative if the fancy inns and hotels in the area are out of your price range but you still want comfort and a little luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evil_lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Be aware of BEDBUGS!
We stayed there for 1 night and earned weeks of itching. After having woken up, we felt itching on our faces, arms and hands. The typical pimples of bedbugs bites were apparent during the next hours. We took a look at the sheets and saw old blood traces in them. The manager we talked to finally pretended they had no bedbugs problems in his hotel.
Beeing both dermatologists, we know well about this problem,we know we were bitten during that night. So it's your own choice if you want to take the risk!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeGeneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I really didn't have a good stay here. Ive stayed at nicer regular Best Westerns than this "premier" hotel. To start, everything is fake, made to look upscale. Fake wood, fake stones, fake tiles, everything. The decorator needs to be fired- very cold, dark, and uninviting- made to look modern and chic.

Housekeeping was horrid. We came back and I swear all they did was make the bed and give fresh towels (which you are only given two- very inconvenient when you're traveling with two people and they also don't supply pool towels). Empty plastic bottles left on the counter and toilet paper left unstocked.

This is wine country. People are going to be dehydrated. The soda machine was broken the whole week we were there, and didn't look like there was any intention of fixing it. The front desk has some beverages for sale, but they can't seem to stock a bottle of water? Isn't hospitality the name of the game??

Breakfast is crowded, and as hard as the girls work, they can't keep up with the fact that there was never enough seating, and not enough recources to properly serve breakfast. There is ONE waffle machine. For at least thirty people a morning. And guess what- there isn't much else served as far as being filling, so naturally, everyone flocks to the waffle machine. Do the math, if you're standing in a line that's seven people long, and each waffle takes at least 2 minutes to cook and a lot of people make two, you're standing in line for over 20 minutes. How in the world do they not see that this is a problem??

Their only saving grace was the hot tub. Even that needed work, as the paint is so chipped and faded that it looks like there is a bucket of sand in there. I was so happy to leave this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubascaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Beautiful Hotel in the land of overpriced. I would stay again in a heartbeat. Friendly staff, good breakfast, pretty pool, great decor. Book it!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnesotaTrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#12 of 30 in Napa
653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
3.0 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#13 of 30 in Napa
318 reviews
1.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Hotel Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Hotel Napa

Address: 4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2233 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa)
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range: £125 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Hotel Napa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You deserve to go wine tasting in wine country, which is exactly what's in store for you around this gorgeous Napa hotel. Wineries, world-class restaurants, and hiking and cycling trails abound in this region. Your Napa hotel is close to the entire splendor of the area. Spend an afternoon touring different wineries and selecting a new favorite merlot. There are several great golf courses near the hotel, too. We're not just a great Napa hotel located near wineries. The proximity to Napa Valley world-class restaurants and local agricultural attractions is unbeatable. We're the only hotel in downtown Napa with an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. You don't need to be at the beach to work on your tan and enjoy a refreshing dip in turquoise waters. Guests are in luck because we're the only Premier Best Western in all of California. That means extra doses of luxury, amenities and service at this Napa hotel. Our deluxe, complimentary full breakfast features waffles, breads and pastries, yogurt, cereal, hot eggs, hot breakfast meat, fresh fruits, and 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices. The Napa Valley Wine Auction attracts travelers from around the world. This Napa hotel is within walking distance to local transportation, and has great customer service, free Wi-Fi in the rooms, and free parking. Don't miss out on the local winemaker reception hosted in the lobby every Friday. The opulent, avant-garde boutique Napa hotel provides a stunning beginning to any trip. Friendly staff members are happy to help guests plan a day's agenda. Enjoy the great outdoors in style with a bicycle ride around town. Photographers and nature lovers delight in the endless beauty of Mother Nature. A stroll around town or a hike on one of the local trails will have you right in the middle of the adventure. Your gorgeous Napa hotel is an entryway to the unique experience of downtown Napa Valley. Reserve an unforgettable stay at Ivy Hotel Napa right now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ivy Hotel Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Napa
The Chateau Hotel
Ivy Hotel Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing