We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stop here again in a minute!”
Review of Ivy Hotel Napa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would stop here again in a minute!”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Ended up here by default. All other BW Hotels in the Napa area were sold out. While it is a little pricier than we normally stay, the place is fantastic! Check-in with Brian was a breeze and he helped us find a restarurant and to obtain a reservation for another BW property in Vallejo. The room was huge and imaculate. Complimentary upscale hot breakfast was excellent with many selections. Stay here if you're in the Napa area!

Room Tip: If you're going to the Napa area, we'd suggestadvance reservations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    284
    162
    65
    59
See reviews for
145
382
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Located on route 29 makes this hotel very convenient to wineries and downtown Napa. Although it is on the main road, the traffic was not a disturbance. The staff was friendly and helpful. If you have a need, they deliver extra towels, etc, quickly. The hotel itself is nothing fancy but quite pleasant. There is a Mexican restaurant next door and a wonderful Italian restaurant a block away. A convenience store is also a block away. Wineries are close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and they will put you in the back area away from the main road's traffic an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NapaWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Large clean room, everything you would expect from a best western motel. Napa was really expensive so this was a great option for us, it is still expensive for what it is, but for Napa it's reasonable value. Spent the day by the pool which was lovely. The place seemed well organized and the staff were fast and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Recently stayed at this property for a weekend of wine tasting with friends.

The hotel was formerly known as The Chateau, not sure when Best Western took over. The hotel interiors have been completely redone. I like what they've done to the place! The rooms have new modern furnishings, flat screen TVs, and plantation shutters. Wish they moved the AC units, didn't appreciate getting blasted with cold air all night. I like the sink outside the bathroom, makes it easy for two to get ready in the morning. The fridge came in handy to chill our waters before heading out wine tasting. Some rooms have Keurig coffee makers, mine had an old school Mr. Coffee that I didn't bother to use (easier to go downstairs for a cup that's already brewed).

There's a continental breakfast served 7-10 daily. They offer a choice of breads, cereal, fruit, eggs, yogurt, juice, coffee, scrambled eggs, sausage, and a make your own waffle station. The breakfast got us off to a great start before a day of wine tasting.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We requested an early check-in on Saturday, rooms were not available but we were able to complete the paperwork. When we came back for a pit stop late afternoon, all we had to do was pick up room keys. On weekends they've got a 2 night minimum stay policy that's rarely waived the front desk clerk told me. I might try Priceline for cheaper rates as other reviewers suggest.

Pros: Convenient location and Continental breakfast.

Cons: Dirty Duvet cover :-( Wish I noticed it BEFORE I slept in that bed!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joebaker44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antelope, Ca
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Our king size bedroom was big, clean, and comfortable. The pool was clean and the hot tub was nice and warm. The patio/breakfast area was great for sipping wine and breakfast. Hotel is in a great location-- close to the wineries and downtown Napa restaurants. Breakfast (included) is also a good deal: scrambled eggs, toast, waffles, sausage, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, sweet rolls, cereal, orange juice and coffee. Wine reception included wines (Chardonnay & Cabernet Sauvignon) from Whitehall Lane Winery. Hotel is walking distance (20 feet) to The Red Cantina Mexican restaurant.

Room Tip: King size bedroom is large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This was my first trip to Napa. I didn't expect too much as this is a best western and I try not to stay in chain hotels. August is busy time in Napa so I had to pay $270/night which isn't bad for the area, but too high for this type of hotel experience.Though the rooms looks like they had been recently renovated and they were relatively clean, overall I did not enjoy my stay. The walls were paper thin and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. Breakfast was good with a lot of options. In the future, I will stay in downtown Napa or Calistoga, which I think are better locations. There is a small store and a restaurant within walking distance.

The customer service was very good. The staff was friendly and accommodated my request to move rooms. Do not stay in a downstairs room!! I heard footsteps all night and I was just unable to sleep with all of the noise. If you decide to stay here, try to get a room in the upstairs back corner. I think I stayed in room 254. It was actually a very pleasant second night. But for that, I would have given this hotel a much lower rating.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getawaygeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

The rooms here are big, clean, and comfortable. The pool is clean and enjoyable. There's also a hot tub and a patio area for sipping wine or just sitting outside with a book. It's in a great location-- close to the vineyards and Napa restaurants-- and also convenient for going for a morning run. Breakfast (included) is also a good deal: scrambled eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal, juices, and coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jensd929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#13 of 30 in Napa
636 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
1.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Hotel Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Hotel Napa

Property: Ivy Hotel Napa
Address: 4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2233 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa)
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Hotel Napa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You deserve to go wine tasting in wine country, which is exactly what's in store for you around this gorgeous Napa hotel. Wineries, world-class restaurants, and hiking and cycling trails abound in this region. Your Napa hotel is close to the entire splendor of the area. Spend an afternoon touring different wineries and selecting a new favorite merlot. There are several great golf courses near the hotel, too. We're not just a great Napa hotel located near wineries. The proximity to Napa Valley world-class restaurants and local agricultural attractions is unbeatable. We're the only hotel in downtown Napa with an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. You don't need to be at the beach to work on your tan and enjoy a refreshing dip in turquoise waters. Guests are in luck because we're the only Premier Best Western in all of California. That means extra doses of luxury, amenities and service at this Napa hotel. Our deluxe, complimentary full breakfast features waffles, breads and pastries, yogurt, cereal, hot eggs, hot breakfast meat, fresh fruits, and 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices. The Napa Valley Wine Auction attracts travelers from around the world. This Napa hotel is within walking distance to local transportation, and has great customer service, free Wi-Fi in the rooms, and free parking. Don't miss out on the local winemaker reception hosted in the lobby every Friday. The opulent, avant-garde boutique Napa hotel provides a stunning beginning to any trip. Friendly staff members are happy to help guests plan a day's agenda. Enjoy the great outdoors in style with a bicycle ride around town. Photographers and nature lovers delight in the endless beauty of Mother Nature. A stroll around town or a hike on one of the local trails will have you right in the middle of the adventure. Your gorgeous Napa hotel is an entryway to the unique experience of downtown Napa Valley. Reserve an unforgettable stay at Ivy Hotel Napa right now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ivy Hotel Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Napa
The Chateau Hotel
Ivy Hotel Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing