We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely "Napa Renaissance" experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely "Napa Renaissance" experience!”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We arrived for a two-night stay and captured a river view room with balcony which was delightful. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet although on occasion we heard water running from the upper floor but it was not at all an issue. We could watch the Wine Train on the tracks across the river which was an added treat. The breakfasts from Sweetie Pie's were delightful with a nice selection to choose from, and both mornings they were delivered on time by a very friendly and gracious staff member. My only disappointment was with the yogurt parfait which I ordered on the side. The yogurt was standard Greek yogurt and the granola had very little sweetness, making it a rather bland and very tart parfait. But all of our other choices were well prepared and tasty.

We were able to walk to the downtown Napa areas where we enjoyed meals at Norman Rose Tavern and Ristorante Allegria. It was nice to feel vitality from some segments of the downtown area as Napa continues to build on their renaissance and restoration. It would be nice to have more shops open, but the lovely wine and craft fair on Saturday was a pure delight! I found several treasures on Saturday and everyone was very pleasant and helpful.

Our Wine Train excursion was on Friday with friends, and it was a convenient drive from the Napa River Inn to the train station. Overall, we had a lovely experience and we will certainly recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    320
    75
    40
    15
See reviews for
139
774
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Very noisy so if you are on the first level as I was, you can hear anyone that walks past your window all through the day and night. Should be a different price considering some rooms are much bigger than others. We stayed in rooms 105,106,107 and one of the rooms was much larger than the other two and the other two rooms were very different sizes too but we paid the same for all of them. I had also requested two beds in each room but was told on arrival that there was only one bed in each of the rooms. The rooms are clean and very nice inside but the hotel feeling is one of a motel and the price should be the same. There is also no pool which is a disadvantage in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tali71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2011

First visit to Napa River Inn and it won't be the last.Everything from the lovely room to the great breakfasts,the garden patio with river view and close proximity to shopping made this hotel a 4 star for us.A plus was the accomadating staff esp. Shane,Laurie,Sara and Irene I must add the bed was the most cmfortable we have ever slept in home or away..My husband and I have nothing but wonderful memories of The Napa River Inn.

Judy and Pat Keogh
Ct.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony or patio room with river or garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Every staff person at the front desk, housekeeping staff, and breakfast delivery people were friendly and professional. Our room was comfortable. We had a small terrace where we ate our breakfast every morning. We had been in Napa two years ago, but this location was the best. We walked to dinner, entertainment, and wine tastings. When we travelled to other areas, it was a very convenient " home base". When my son unexpectedly arrived, the hotel provided a rollaway bed immediately! Great customer service. The hotel was very attentive to us. We will return and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapaWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Finished off a 2,000 mile road trip at Napa River Inn. Breakfast delivered to the door (incuded in price!) and sat on the balcony looking over the river planning our winery tours. Easy to get to and a short drive to some of the best wine tasting anywhere. Then just steps to great selection of places for drinks and dinner.

Ask the desk for dinner or winery recommendations. Would certainly come back. again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanghaidoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My spouse and I visited Napa this past weekend for my birthday. Check-in was flawless and our king room was located on the third floor/ balcony. If you're looking for a Ritz style room, NRI isn't the hotel for you, but if you're looking for a hotel with average rooms, very comfortable beds (which include lots of fluffy pillows) and an awesome location, this is the place for you. All in all, a lovely hotel that could use a makeover. Perhaps brighter colored paint and new carpet in the rooms...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCLv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

For those who prefer something other than a cookie cutter modern luxury hotel, the Napa River Inn is the way to go. History surrounds you and can sweep you to a bygone era while you still enjoy all the amenities of modern living. My room overlooked the Napa river and was equipped with a nice flat screen, free wi-fi, a much nicer than average coffee maker, a gas fireplace, and spa robes. The ice bucket was magically filled and the bed turned down as I wandered around the area. I appreciated the fridge with free water and the choice to have fancier bottled water for a small fee. The grounds are lush with blooming vegetation, fine dining is at every turn within walking distance (michelin and zagat rated restaurants), and nightlife is steps away at the jazz club. The spa was heavenly (I recommend the back treatment) and the sweet shop enticed with such delights as chardonnay and port wine truffles. Bicycles are available for free as are bandaids and first aid supplies (don't jog while playing with apps on your cell phone--the river view and people watching can be distracting enough!) Boutique shops abound with little treats for the lucky traveler or friends back home. Breakfast in bed was a nice treat with many options available to please even the pickiest palates. Although originally planned as a couples getaway, conflicting work schedules resulted in a solo trip. I felt perfectly safe and comfortable and would repeat this excursion again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvTraveling63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
2,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,055 reviews
8.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing