We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napa River Inn Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Napa River Inn Honeymoon”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I went to Napa for part of our honeymoon and stayed at the Napa River Inn. Everything was wonderful, the service was excellent, our room was very nice, and we really enjoyed having the patio off of our room to sit and watch the sunrise over the hills. The location is also a bonus at the Napa River Inn; it is within walking distance of many great shops and restaurants. The breakfast from Sweetie Pies was great; having it delivered to your room is a nice extra touch. Some people on Trip Advisor mentioned that the rooms could be a bit noisy, and we did find this, but it should not be surprising given the age of the building. Overall, this fact did not bother us. Sarah at the front desk was very helpful, especially when we lost our camera!

Room Tip: As for a room in the building with the patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAFOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    318
    74
    40
    15
See reviews for
137
772
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed in the historical section of the hotel in the original buidling (I believe there are only about 7 of these rooms). If you want a balcony and/or view of the river, don't stay in this section. There are other selections for that. However, if you want a beautiful historical room (original hardwood floors & victorian looking furnishings), this is the room for you. Room was large and beautifully decorated with a big double headed walk in shower and claw foot (or they call slipper) tub. Honestly, I would take this room over the river view anyday. Bed/pillows were very comfortable & it was just an all around cozy room.

Nice touches were the Keurig coffe maker and I agree with the last reviewer - two (not one) luggage stands. Even a lot of the high end hotels don't provide this. This hotel got it right.

The hotel is in a great location around lots of choices for dinner. You are going to have to drive to the wineries anyway and its nice to come back and be able to walk somewhere for dinner. (Some of the smaller towns have restaurants, but there are a lot more choices in downtown Napa). I blinked and missed Yountville. But St. Helena looked nice and we stopped in Calistoga for lunch; Calistoga Inn had a brewery and a much deserved beer after all that wine drinking and pleasant outside patio).

Room Tip: We stayed in the historical section. Rooms are beautiful (if you like a Victorian motif); but did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Napa River Inn is within walking distance of many bars and restaurants.
The room had an extremely comfortable bed, a fireplace and was extremely clean. One thing that we really appreciated was having two luggage stands in a nook as soon as you walked into the bathroom. So nice to have everything right there in the bathroom...wish more hotels had this set up!
A very nice breakfast was delivered in a basket to your room. You select your preference and time of delivery the night before. Worked out great for us!
We had a balcony and river view, but the view overlooks the river, parking lots and roads. Not very attractive.

Room Tip: Would not suggest paying to upgrade for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mg523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

On the face of it this hotel looks great. Location and in a historic building. However we had to change rooms. First room was vibrating from when we checked in around 3 until after dinner. We then decided to call reception. They came to inspect then moved us to a better room, unfortunately the new room you could hear every footstep of the neighbours above. this hotel look the part bit does not warrant the money for the room. Your paying for location. If visiting wineries I would suggest staying in Calistoga or one of the smaller villages in the valley.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leppardc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our 1st anniversary trip - also our 1st trip to Napa. Great hotel and great time. They cater to basically anything you need/want and the concierge went above and beyond what I would normally expect out of one with planning our wine tours, etc.

Just an overall great experience. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dturner1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy,Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is a great hotel for it's location.it's very close to everything in napa.The question you have to ask is where are you going to eat at night?and do you want To go to bars at night?if you say yes to bars then this is your place easy to walk back with no issues.if you say though we drank wine all day so we want to go somewhere outside of napa to eat then back to hotel then maybe I would look elsewhere.overall no issues Great hotel just a little pricey.

Room Tip: I would buy my breakfast from sweetie pies instead of buying package.More choices in the place than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmyoung281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

We booked the Napa River Inn online based on trip adviser reviews. We were travelling with parents and wanted to stay within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The Inn met our needs well. It's not really a hotel since it has only limited facilities. Breakfast is delivered to your door from Sweetie Pies a lovely little coffee shop. Literally steps from the hotel lobby.

The rooms are quaint and country. A little dated but comfortable and well-appointed. Ours had a fireplace and I think all the rooms have Kuerig coffee makers. Staff were friendly and obliging.

I guess the only negative for me is that although the hotel is " on the river", this is not a great plus. The centre of Napa is OK, but the river borders the downtown and the view across it is to parking lots, car dealerships and the wine train depot. We booked our parents a balcony room overlooking the river with the thought we would meet there for a glass of wine before dinner but never did so because the view is industrial. None of the rooms have a view; the othe side of the hotel looks out on the parking lot. This is not a complaint. Stay here if you would like convenience and a nice room. Go elsewhere if you want the beauty and peace of the valley.

Make sure you eat at Oenotri. One of the best value restaurants we have ever been in (and we have been in a lot!).

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank English-Exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,992 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,047 reviews
16.5 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing