We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in DT Napa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Could only stay one night, but based on my experience, I'll book a longer stay ASAP. I loved the warmth of the vintage/traditional decor of the rooms...fits nicely with the retro feel of the historic mill district along the river. The landscaping- beautiful, lush and worthy of a photo op after you've had a chance to just stroll, sit, and just take it all in. I just loved the ambiance of the street in general. So many fantastic shops and restaurants a few steps away. But what really set this place apart from the others is the custom breakfast basket delivered to your door with goodies from Sweetie Pies, a to-die-for bakery in the same building as the inn. Think I'll set aside a week next time so my friends and I can eat and sip our way down the river walk in Napa...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanyaPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

We were only in Napa one night, and made a great choice with the Napa River Inn. The staff was absolutely lovely, so nice and friendly. The concierge took care of us and was GREAT! The rooms are nice, and the bed was FABULOUS! We had one of the best night's sleep at a hotel. Location was pefect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms are small but well appointed. They have a coffee maker (Keurig) which is always appreciated. They location is just perfect. Napa is known for wine tastings, so make sure to stay somewhere where you don't need to drive or hire a driver!!! The police are just waiting for you. When you stay at the Napa River Inn, this eliminates the need to worry. The hotel is right in the heart of all the restaurants. They also have tasting rooms downtown however, I would hire a driver and go directly to the vineyards. The hotel property has dining and entertainment options that are worth checking out.
I would like to mention that sometimes when hotels say they are dog friendly what they really mean is they "accept"your dog. This is not the case here. I have a 80lb Labradoodle and they welcomed him with open arms. He is just a puppy and this was his first hotel experience. There was a welcome basket with food dishes, cookies, small blanket and waste bags. How nice!! They also included information of pet sitters and other dog friendly venues.
While this hotel might be at the top end of the budget, please consider the free breakfast that is delivered to your room (and is yummy), as well as the location (no gas and parking fees) when choosing your hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chicago8002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Girlfriend get-away stay at the Napa River Inn- we had an excellent stay, excellent customer service, excellent food and would stay again! Napa River is walking distance to downtown Napa and convenient to food, shopping and entertainment. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellyAnaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The location is wonderful, the staff is courteous, and the rooms are very lovely. I think the experience would have been great if it hadn't been for the location of our room. We were put in a room on the first floor opposite a noisy restaurant. While the noise wasn't terribly bothersome, the fact that you could easily see into our room at night (from the restaurant and sidewalk) made my wife and I very uncomfortable. The blinds provided were inadequate and left gaps that could still allow the interior of our room to be seen by the public. To make matters worse, there was a path located right outside the window so people were constantly looking in. More effort should be spent to ensure the privacy of guests.
The breakfast delivery was quite nice and the food was good, however for the price of the room I would have expected more than a breakfast sandwich and danish.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samsonspub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I did the "I left my Car in San Francisco" 2 day package including accommodation at Napa River Inn, transfers and the Wine train. We had travelled to San Francisco and Napa to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. This package was superb and worked like clockwork. We loved the trip of the ferry both ways (on the return we had the most magnificent view of the Golden Gate Bridge at sunset). The accommodation at Napa River Inn was just amazing. They upgraded our room because of our anniversary and left us a bottle of wine and a note of congratulations. We felt special. The hotel is first class. The whole package was amazing - Wine train definitely to be recommended. Thank you Napa River Inn - could not have been better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Great location! Neat history of the place and very well upkept grounds. The room was very clean. Enjoyed the breakfasts and newspapers delivered to room daily. Great restaurants in the area. Nice patio for glass of wine and view of Napa River. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justvisiting06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,096 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £184 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing