We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel was in a prime spot for our Napa adventure. It was a splurge for us, and we were traveling with our three year old, but in the end it was nice to have a central location. Very close to wine tasting rooms and lots of good restaurats. I have two small complaints (well three actually): the fist is that we were located in a separate building from the main hotel, which just didn't seem a luxurious to me...but that's just my perception having not seen any of the rooms in the main hotel. The second complaint was that the breakfast that was delivered by Sweetie Pies on the first morning was terrible! The toasted bagel with cream cheese I ordered separately for my daughter was burned (and cold), and the fruit cup that I ordered was literally one strawberry, 3 blueberries and 3 pieces of melon. The next morning, we had forgot to put our selection on the door knob the night before, so we went down to the actual bakery to eat and it was much better fresh. I would recommend the egg sandwich over the fruit cup!
My last comment is regarding the toiletries they provide in the rooms. While they may be luxorious - I doubt there is anything "organic" about them. The also have such an over powering sent that they actually gave me a headache even though I didn't actually use them. I am very scent sensitive, so i realize these things bother me more than it would another person. I would normally just asked housekeeping to take them away - but they were attached to the inside of the shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Love this hotel. My daughter and I stayed here last year (2012) and liked it so much we decided to stay there again this year. We plan to return next year and will stay here again. Excellent location and excellent service. Rooms are extremely nice. Walking distance to great restaurants, wine tasting rooms and shopping.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank JMSLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My reservation is not until next month but I am so impressed with the customized service. We are going to be there for Taste of Napa. I needed some assistance getting tickets and tweaking my reservation to include 3 tickets for the Culinary Stroll Wednesday night. The women in charge there made calls on my behalf and their attitude of finding answers/information is 5 star. My parents usually stay at the Westin in Napa but I talked them into trying somewhere new. Can't wait to stay with you. Thank you for having such a YES approach. See you soon.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location right in the center of town. It is in walking distance to most everything you could want to do in Napa. The property is beautiful and well kept. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. My wife and I enjoyed our stay but found the rooms to be a little noisy. We stayed on the first floor and could hear other guest walking above our room. We brought this noise issue up to the front desk and they assured us that the issue was being fixed and they were installing new thicker carpets. We hope to visit again to check on the improvements.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 247_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were referred to the Napa River Inn by the Tourist Information right next door after we have been told that there are no possebilities to stay at a winery, which we had initially planned (dont drink and drive!).

At check in you are welcome with the choice of a glass of red or white wine.

The rooms are clean and functional with everything in them what you need for a night. The room comes with free breakfast either in-room or at the bakery right next door, which is an excellent choice.

Plenty of good restaurants in walking distance and also the free parking is a big plus considering that you have to budget up to 50,- USD for overnight parking in SFO.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

all cozied up near the fire, a great blend of food and drinks.
the wine was pouring and the night was so fun with friends.
we loved that there were so many choices to choose from.
we were resting up, but hard to do, with all of our wine choices.
we were on our way East and wanted some down time.
we will return

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gierre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Our first trip to Napa..Excellent location, walking distance to restaurants and many wine bars. Concierge was very friendly, room was good size and very clean. Parking included which was nice and in-room breakfast a nice touch as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,063 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,071 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £193 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing