We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Nearby Hotels
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Napa(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Napa Winery Inn(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$880
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$743
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Napa(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Napa Valley(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$436
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wine Valley Lodge(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverado Resort and Spa(Napa)(Great Value!)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,371)
Filter reviews
1,371 results
Traveller rating
915
326
75
40
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
915
326
75
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssweetie piesriver viewgeneral storebreakfast in bedembarcadero buildingnapa riverjazz clubold millsweet shopegg sandwichwithin walking distancebreakfast deliveredkeurig coffee makerwine tastingevery morningturn down serviceloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
617 - 622 of 1,371 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I am sad that we only had one night to spend here. The hotel was perfect - quaint, quiet and in a perfect location in downtown napa. We didn't need much from the hotel staff or registration desk, but everyone was always very friendly and helpful. We were very pleased with the hotel and would definitely stay there again!

The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was so great. It was from the local bakery down the street. Breakfast sandwhich, muffin or "flat cake" plus coffee, tea and/or water. We were blown away and best of all, it arrived exactly on time!

The turndown service was also a nice surprise - complete with chocolates on our pillow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlestner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Wow! What a great review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We also think the breakfast from Sweetie Pies is wonderful. Our problem is that it is right next door and tempting us every day with heavenly smells.

When you come our way again, we are looking forward to having you as our guest. Hopefully, we will continue to surprise you with great service, delicious treats, and a comfortable room in which to rest.

Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was part of a group of eighteen ladies who stayed at the Napa River Inn last week; we selected it mainly because of the double room option. We were all very pleased with our stay; the location is excellent and within easy walking distance of numerous shops and restaurants. Our room was a nice size and the bathroom was extremely clean. We all commented on how plush and comfortable the beds were .... no complaints at all with our rooms! And we all felt very pampered having our delicious breakfast delivered to our room! I would recommend the Napa River Inn to other visitors to the area.

Room Tip: I didn't have a river view room, but I'm sure it would be nice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestofthewest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Eighteen ladies and not one complaint on the rooms! That is truly a high-bar of accomplishment. Experienced travelers are very discerning, and we are thrilled to have met your needs with alacrity.

We are especially proud of the comfortable beds. If you can’t find rest after your day of activities, it is difficult to truly enjoy your stay. And we want our guests to happily partake of all that Napa offers.

Hopefully we will see you all again soon. There is a river view waiting for you.

Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

October 7, 2013: We arrived without reservations and asked about two rooms. The Inn occupies a restored mill along the river. We were shown the last two rooms available that were perfect: newly renovated, spacious, great view, reasonable price. The employee showing us around was very helpful. We said we would take them and went to reception, but someone else had taken one of them and we wanted two rooms. The location was perfect--along the river in an historic building. This is a fine Inn with caring staff in a well-maintained restored mill. So although we did not stay at the Inn, we inspected it and it was perfect. The woman at reception wrote down the names and phone numbers of three other inns that we should try and was very concerned for us. We will reserve next time. We returned to eat at Celadon's restaurant in the same restored mill that evening. The food and service were exceptional. .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic time staying at the Inn during August! As the front desk was processing our check-in, we were immediately offered delicious wine which set the tone for the whole stay. We ended up relaxing in our gorgeous room for a while since we had a several hour drive from Monterey to reach Napa. My girlfriend and I ended up not getting hungry until late. Even though the gentleman running the wine/food store just to the right of front desk area said that he was closed, he allowed me to purchase some snacks and drinks for my girlfriend and myself anyways! The morning after our first night, my girlfriend and I enjoyed a beautiful run through Napa starting from the Inn. Later on that day, we able to easily stroll through downtown Napa from the Inn to grab lunch and enjoy the beautiful weather. We decided to schedule an evening on the Napa Wine Train through the Inn which they so seamlessly performed and even offered us a ride to the train station! We only stayed two nights but the room was beautiful and offered us a pleasant place to rest after our days of activities. We look forward to visiting the Inn again upon our next trip to Napa!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nutellalips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at the Napa River Inn for 4 nights in early October, using it as a base for our time in the wine country. Though it is comparatively new and not among the inns that are touted as the best in the area (all of which were unavailable when we were booking), this was a great alternative: the accommodation and amenities are very good.

We had a room upstairs and on the corner of the Embacadero wing which was large and well laid out. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The room had an air-conditioning unit that was a little loud at times but was very effective. There was good room to work at and a dressing area separate from the bathroom. The one negative was that the very small double doors into the bathroom were liable to catch you coming and going and during our stay one of the door handles remained hanging by one screw even though the daily maid service must have seen the need for repair. The room was just over the hall from a shared outdoor landing that allowed a view over the river to the station from which the Napa Wine Train left each day.

The Inn is superbly placed to see old Napa township which has some very interesting shopping options and lovely Victorian villas in surrounding streets, which have been very well restored. Access to the main highway north into the valley was very simple and straightforward. We also crossed the river several time to explore the town further afield. The River Inn could not be better placed to allow this.

We were very glad of the assistance of the Inn's Concierge who could not have been more obliging. We had left New Zealand without finalizing bookings for the wine tours we wanted to undertake. Our concierge was able to finalize the booking even though we had no luck trying to do so on line - we were very grateful for her help.

The Inn is adjacent to 3 eateries - a place called "Sweetie Pies", which provides the Inn's inclusive breakfast option through a voucher system. We weren't particularly impressed with this at our first try and opted to breakfast next at the Napa General Store cafe which was a much better option. Thirdly there is the restaurant Angele which is very good.

We would recommend this as a place to stay in Napa and hope to return.

Room Tip: Try for a river facing room, though be aware that the view can be a little "industrial"
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews