We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our way to a conference in Santa Clara and loved it so much, we came back on the way home and stayed another night! We were pleasantly surprised to get a bottle of wine on our return trip- which is apparently a perk they give to their returning guests.

We were upgraded to a suite both times, and the rooms were fabulous. The Manager was so welcoming as were all of the employees.

The bed was super comfortable, and the breakfast in bed was fantastic. We'll definitely be staying here again when we go back to Napa. The location was perfect- just a few steps away from Morimoto (which I also recommend).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natasha323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Natasha and husband,

Two stays in one trip! That is amazing. We are delighted you enjoyed us so much you stopped both before and after business. Comfortable beds, kind attention, and fun luxuries – like breakfast in bed – are much needed after the hectic pace of conferences.

Come back anytime you would like a little pampering. We’ll have the wine ready.
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night as walk in guests during a short Napa visit. We were allocated a Queen room by a friendly receptionist and promptly shown our room. Our first expression on seeing the room was it was "quaint"and historically furnished. The room was a funny quirky shape and the small Queensize bed was pushed up against one wall to fit it in. The walls were quite thin and we were welcomed by the screaming of an unhappy baby in a near room whilst we unpacked.

The best aspect of this hotel was the location being on the edge of town and within walking distance of many wine tasting shops. Also the historical building and old mill was quite interesting. As full sized adults (my husband is over 6 foot) we did find the otherwise comfy bed a little too cosy and this did disturb our sleep. The included breakfast was quite nice too, we both enjoyed an egg/bacon muffin and a pastry with juice and coffee which was delivered to our room.

Overall we enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Triplalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Tripalot from Amsterdam,

I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Inn. We are very proud of our historical nature, but this does mean that not all our rooms are similar in shape or décor. Luckily, we do have several buildings, each with their own unique personality. I hope when we see you again, we can book a King (bed) to fit your prince.

Sincerely,
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Great stay at Napa River Inn. Room 205 in the Historic section of hotel was very comfortable. In room breakfast was outstanding. Liz set us up on a Beau Limo Tour of the wineries. For exercise check out Skyline Hills about 10 minutes from the Inn. Nearly 4 mile hike will get you ready for wine tasting. Looking forward to a return trip with friends.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Tom D,

Skyline Park is a real treasure. There are some great walks in the Park, and a few fabulous hikes – both amblers and serious hikers love it. We agree that it will get you in great shape for wine tasting, and in some cases will help you recover – not only from an afternoon that includes alcohol, but also any of the fabulous treats in Sweetie Pies that you might want to indulge in.

Thank you for staying at the Inn. The historic building is a downtown Napa jewel, and we are proud of it.

Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I am sad that we only had one night to spend here. The hotel was perfect - quaint, quiet and in a perfect location in downtown napa. We didn't need much from the hotel staff or registration desk, but everyone was always very friendly and helpful. We were very pleased with the hotel and would definitely stay there again!

The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was so great. It was from the local bakery down the street. Breakfast sandwhich, muffin or "flat cake" plus coffee, tea and/or water. We were blown away and best of all, it arrived exactly on time!

The turndown service was also a nice surprise - complete with chocolates on our pillow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlestner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Wow! What a great review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We also think the breakfast from Sweetie Pies is wonderful. Our problem is that it is right next door and tempting us every day with heavenly smells.

When you come our way again, we are looking forward to having you as our guest. Hopefully, we will continue to surprise you with great service, delicious treats, and a comfortable room in which to rest.

Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I was part of a group of eighteen ladies who stayed at the Napa River Inn last week; we selected it mainly because of the double room option. We were all very pleased with our stay; the location is excellent and within easy walking distance of numerous shops and restaurants. Our room was a nice size and the bathroom was extremely clean. We all commented on how plush and comfortable the beds were .... no complaints at all with our rooms! And we all felt very pampered having our delicious breakfast delivered to our room! I would recommend the Napa River Inn to other visitors to the area.

Room Tip: I didn't have a river view room, but I'm sure it would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestofthewest58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Eighteen ladies and not one complaint on the rooms! That is truly a high-bar of accomplishment. Experienced travelers are very discerning, and we are thrilled to have met your needs with alacrity.

We are especially proud of the comfortable beds. If you can’t find rest after your day of activities, it is difficult to truly enjoy your stay. And we want our guests to happily partake of all that Napa offers.

Hopefully we will see you all again soon. There is a river view waiting for you.

Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

October 7, 2013: We arrived without reservations and asked about two rooms. The Inn occupies a restored mill along the river. We were shown the last two rooms available that were perfect: newly renovated, spacious, great view, reasonable price. The employee showing us around was very helpful. We said we would take them and went to reception, but someone else had taken one of them and we wanted two rooms. The location was perfect--along the river in an historic building. This is a fine Inn with caring staff in a well-maintained restored mill. So although we did not stay at the Inn, we inspected it and it was perfect. The woman at reception wrote down the names and phone numbers of three other inns that we should try and was very concerned for us. We will reserve next time. We returned to eat at Celadon's restaurant in the same restored mill that evening. The food and service were exceptional. .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic time staying at the Inn during August! As the front desk was processing our check-in, we were immediately offered delicious wine which set the tone for the whole stay. We ended up relaxing in our gorgeous room for a while since we had a several hour drive from Monterey to reach Napa. My girlfriend and I ended up not getting hungry until late. Even though the gentleman running the wine/food store just to the right of front desk area said that he was closed, he allowed me to purchase some snacks and drinks for my girlfriend and myself anyways! The morning after our first night, my girlfriend and I enjoyed a beautiful run through Napa starting from the Inn. Later on that day, we able to easily stroll through downtown Napa from the Inn to grab lunch and enjoy the beautiful weather. We decided to schedule an evening on the Napa Wine Train through the Inn which they so seamlessly performed and even offered us a ride to the train station! We only stayed two nights but the room was beautiful and offered us a pleasant place to rest after our days of activities. We look forward to visiting the Inn again upon our next trip to Napa!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Nutellalips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 29 in Napa
2,149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £199 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing