We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Napa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place in Napa”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was booked last minute thru 3rd party site at 1/2 price as the rooms are usually $350 plus per night. The facility is old and very charming, and the staff is great. There are several restaurants on the site and we ate oudoors on a patio, the food was great, good ambience too. The flowers and landscaping makes this old mill building which was converted into a small resort very attractive. Spent 2 nights. Then went over to Sonoma. It's right in town on the river and the wineries are only 5-10 miles away. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douchewaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    312
    71
    40
    15
See reviews for
133
759
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Napa River Inn while touring around Napa. It's in a great location in the downtown district. It's within walking distance of many shops, restaurants, and bars. Our favorite part was a quick walk over the bridge to the Oxbow an indoor market with great food and drinks. The staff at the hotel was wonderful and the room and bathroom were beautiful. We stayed in room 201. It looked out over the roof so not much of a view but that was fine with us. I looked over many trip advisor reviews before choosing this hotel and was not disappointed. The only thing the reviews missed was that this is a well known haunted hotel. Considering it is so old and has such a rich history I am not surprised. It made it fun for us reading about the ghosts that roam the halls (No we did not see any) but if you are not into that type of thing you may want to keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristie2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We came to Napa for my husband's 50th with 10 people, an wanted a nice venue in the heart of the wine country. Napa River Inn was a great choice. I worked with John in group sales to book all the rooms, and he and his team handled everything professionally and efficiently. We arrived to a very nice room looking out over the river. The locations is great for touring the wine country, and there are plenty of nice restaurants in walking distance. The staff was friendly and accommodating, even providing a nice basket of goodies to welcome us and say happy birthday to my husband. The included breakfast is a nice perq to start the day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sleddog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location, friendly staff, great view, though, the river is a little smelly. I traveled with friends, and the front desk guy gave us great tips about wineries and place to visit. Their restaurants, specially, Celadon, was exquisite! The room was very spacious, extremely comfortable bed, fluffy robes and towels. I love the breakfast pastries. On the desk, we found many Napa brochures that were very helpful for our trip. We had a blast!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at second, third floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyAnn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I found the location to very near all major Napa restaurants and tasting rooms. The room H207 is a luxury room with fireplace but it was awesome. Tub, two showers, King canopy bed. The most outstanding feature for me was the customer service. I'm hesitant to single out a person in public view because all the staff were great. I particularly worked with a person on staff who helped me with the reservation and she was amazing. I would return to this hotel. Having said that, if you are on a budget, consider investing in this hotel for a couple of nights and then you can stay somewhere cheaper down the road. I found the 2 nights we invested worth it.

Room Tip: I liked H207 but it's one of the pricier rooms. If you are out touring a lot then don't swe...
See more room tips
Green Features: Can't comment. I didn't focus on this as much as we were too pre-occupied.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Pretty disappointing on all fronts. First of all the river running through this town is not actually a river it is more of a smelly mudflat. Had to keep my doors and windows closed at all times to keep the smell out (not the hotel's fault obviously).
Very disappointed with the room though, cant remember which room it was now (13 or 113 maybe?). But the room was nothing like what was described and pictured on website. We were expecting a lovely little boutique room but instead were greeted with a very average run of the mill motel room, which for the price was a giant let down.
In saying that friends a stayed with had much better rooms (more inline with what is shown on the website) so you never know, you may get lucky.
oh and one of the rooms my friends stayed in was haunted apparently which is pretty cool....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jjjjjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My family and I had the most enjoyable stay at Napa River Inn during a long weekend exploring the wineries of Napa Valley. The rooms were very spacious, with the most comfortable beds and fluffy robes and towels. I loved the breakfast service. Every night, you fill out a card to select your preferred breakfast items (one hot entree, plus coffee/tea and juice, and pastries) from an onsite cafe and they deliver breakfast to your room every morning! The Inn is also very considerate - when we first arrived, we came upon a wine tasting in the lobby, and the lobby always has fresh cucumber (or was it lime?) water and fresh fruits for guests. The rooms come with corkscrews and wine glasses.

The Inn is within walkable distance to the town center and to all the riverfront dining and shops. Would definitely recommend! Plus, there's a cute little gym.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picotin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Picotin W,

New Yorkers are known for their discerning taste -- especially when it comes to food, travel, and comfort. It was lovely to hear your appreciation for the details. A comfortable bed, a delightful robe, and a nice breakfast seem like luxuries, but really are the small pleasures that make up a good life.

Thank you for choosing the Napa River Inn on your recent trip to Napa. We hope that you will be back.

Yours truly,
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing