We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Yarmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

My husband and I just returned from Napa where we celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary. We were looking for something romantic and unique and we definitely found it with the Napa River Inn. The staff was great and very helpful. A big Shout Out to Renee Chaney, concierge and Armando. They were quick with suggestions and answered every question. They made us feel special and always took time to help us no matter how mundane a request.

Our room was clean and very comfortable. We had a room overlooking the patio but noise was never an issue.

Overall this was a great place to stay and I highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gderaleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    310
    71
    40
    15
See reviews for
130
749
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

For my 40th Birthday, I planned a trip to Napa Valley with a bunch of girlfriends. I came across this hotel on the Internet and thought it looked pretty nice so I went ahead and booked it. I was beyond pleasantly surprised...beautiful hotel, great location, phenomenal service, great value (including breakfast)...I just loved it. And Renee the Concierge was incredibly helpful with setting up dinner reservations and wine tours. My girlfriends were also impressed...one of them even said the hotel and the trip were far beyond her expectations. I have nothing but fabulous things to say about this place. I highly recommend it and would return again and again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leannekmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

We just came back from our stay at the Napa River Inn. We had an "amazing" vacation. The staff was friendly, the hotel was perfect. Great location, walking distance to several restaurants. Renee the Concierge helped us ahead of time with planning our wine tour, she was great. We would love to stay again. We could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationseeker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

My wife and I spent four days here during our honeymoon and had an outstanding experience. The inn offers a full range of guest services ( with the notable exception of a pool) but the friendly staff, excellent service and close proximity o downtown Napa more than make up for the relatively small grounds. On site are two excellent restaurants and Renee, our concierge, was always available to help us find tables at other restaurants (as well as organizing our bike tour and hot air balloon ride).

While those seeking farmhouses and country side will find Napa River Inn's downtown setting a bit urban, if you like walking home from dinner to a very quiet and romantic bedroom, you will love this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanduskian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

My husband and I recently returned from 10 nights in California - spent at 4 different lodgings. The Napa River Inn was a nice hotel, centrally located in the heart of downtown Napa. Many restaurants were within walking distance, a plus in my book. We stayed in the Embarcadero Building for 2 nights, on the 2nd floor, in a room with a fireplace, balcony and river view. The view was not noteworthy, but we enjoyed eating our breakfast on the balcony. The room was not large (considering this was called a deluxe room) and the queen-sized bed was about a foot from the wall, making it difficult to exit. Our bathroom sink had drainage problems, filling almost to the brim while waiting for hot water to emerge from the faucet.

The turndown service was a nice touch, especially since they left 2 champagne-shaped chocolates on the bed. The concierge was very helpful, making reservations for us, as well as assisting us in our wine touring itinerary.

We ate at Angele, one of the on-site restaurants, and were extremely disappointed. It was ordinary food, ordinary service, and overpriced. There are too many great restaurants in Napa and the surrounds to eat at this one.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MumaRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

The staff greated us promptly and were very friendly. The hotel was gorgeous and the rooms were quite spacious and decorated beautifully. The breakfast was awesome, freshly baked goods. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFO116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Great hotel and restaurants. The breakfast shop has real is gourmet home food, they also had lunches packed to go for our daily touring. Yum! Celadon is awesome too. Everyone was very accommodating and helpful with touristy questions.

The hotel is walking distance to down town with lots of restaurants, wine tasting, shopping and there seemed to be some speical local activity going on most nights.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaviaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing