We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Napa Valley Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Page
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Napa Valley Inn”
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Found this hotel through Google maps when seeking downtown hotels on the River in Napa. Then I checked the comments from travellers on TripAdvisor and finally visited the web site and I was very impressed with the web site. The fact that parking is free and breakfast was included in the nightly rate made our decision very simple to make. I would stay again if I get back to Wine Country.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    856
    314
    74
    40
    15
See reviews for
134
765
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The Napa River Inn is beautiful, clean, helpful staff and the best breakfast!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trb468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I booked Napa River Inn with some trepidation due to the critical reviews. The main reason for booking there was that it was the most reasonably priced option for us, and we needed 3 rooms for our 40th anniversary trip with our children, their spouses and our 15 month old grandchild.
We were in for a pleasant surprise. This was our 4th stay at different hotels in Napa Valley, and Napa River Inn was great. The staff was extraordinary, with each and every one going out of their way to accommodate us. (We took the walking tour of Napa and tour guide said staff is better paid than at most hotels and have all worked there for an extended period.) The rooms were large and lovely. They included all the amenities we wanted, including balcony, magnifying mirror and robes. No problem using air conditioning, or with its location.
Breakfast was delicious but I would recommend ordering it to your room, even if you want to eat on the lovely patio. Found Sweetie Pie's staff got overwhelmed and confused, and reluctant to provide food to go, although there were no tables large enough for our group outside the bakery.
I would ask for a room on the 2nd floor next time as we did hear noise from above us. No problem with noise from room net door although there was an adjoining door.
Location was great. We only went as far north as St. Helena, which took forever on 2 lane highway. We had dinner reservations in Yountville which was a very quick trip as highway is 4 lanes to there..
We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Spent 10 days in and around San Francisco and Wine Country to wine, dine and mountain bike. We have stayed at the Napa River Inn on several occasions because we really enjoy the location of downtown napa (walk to everything), the extreme comfort of the rooms at the Inn and the number of things offered there. 2 restaurants on site, cute little sweet shop, pastry/coffee shop (from which breakfast will be delivered to your room each morning) and a gift shop with wine tasting. There is also the night club called Silo's which occaisionally has live music and you receive your free winte tasting.
We also like the location because there are great mtn biking trails at Skyline Wilderness Park that you can ride to from the hotel.
Another perk...they really cater to repeat visitors. We received a discount room rate, room upgrade, and a complimentary bottle of wine upon our arrival!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletchandsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

This is the third time my husband and have stayed here, this time our adult sons accompanied us and loved the place as well. The property was even nicer this time with improvements along the river's edge. The property is very accessible to the local wineries in addition to being located in downtown Napa.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truannsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I came to this hotel without a reservation on a Friday night and was happy to get the last room available. I didn't expect much but I ended up with a spacious room with 2 queen beds, a large bathroom and balcony. The bed was extremely comfortable and if it wasn't for the guest above doing jumping jacks at 7am, I probably would have slept till 10. I went to the jazz club next door which proved to be an intimate setting to enjoy some great, live music. In addition, they had a splendid variety of wines by the glass and free appetizers. Several nice restaurants within the complex as well as a short walking distance. The staff was very accomodating with all requests and wanted to make sure everything was in order. All in all, a great total experience

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poplar bluff
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Excellent restaurants associated with the Inn (Angele is fabulous) with great ambiance, wine lists par prices. Walking distance from several other great restaurants as well. Disappointed that vouchers for complimentary wine tastings at Silos were not redeemable as promised but breakfast vouchers were used & greatly appreciated for in room service & breakfast on the balcony! Weekly Chef's Festival was an added attraction as the most of the town restaurants shut down at 9pm!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leesatPoplarBluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,949 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,039 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing