We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favorite lodging in a super location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Forestville, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A favorite lodging in a super location.”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We had stayed previously in the River Plaza Bldg. and this time wanted to experience a room in the historic Hatt Building. Our 2nd floor room was quiet, just as I'd requested, and featured a canopied King bed with an extremely comfortable mattress. There were 2 arm chairs and a large cushioned ottoman, 2 bureau chests, a writing desk, flat panel TV and gas fireplace. The one small window let in just a bit of light, so the room remained fairly dark throughout the day--but I appreciated the fact that the original windows were retained in this historic bldg. Another charming element was the original tongue and groove wood flooring. Amongst the numerous amenities in our room: an in-room safe, coffee maker, electric tea pot, (2) phones, wine glasses, hairdryer, and lots of nice, thick bath towels. The very spacious tiled bath had a slipper tub for soaking and a BIG walk-in shower with 2 shower heads and fold-down seat (the room was handicapped accessible).

The only "complaints/suggestions" would be to add towel racks since there were few places to hang our towels, and to include a small table in the room where we could eat breakfast. As it was, my husband had to hunch over the ottoman and I just stood up to eat with the breakfast tray on the bed. (Our Plaza room had a table out on the balcony so we were able to have breakfast there). Also, my cup of coffee wasn't very hot when it arrived (an individual carafe would keep it hot), and my breakfast sandwich was a bit soggy.

The 2nd floor had a large, comfortable sitting room that would be quite a nice place for a group or extended family to gather and relax together. The professional service provided by the friendly hotel staff was faultless. We loved the beautifully maintained grounds and lush plantings (roses in November!), the artwork and sculptures on the premises, the charming shops and Silo’s jazz club in the Napa Mill complex, the adjacent River Walkway, Riverfront shops, and the very close proximity to restaurants and other popular venues in Napa town (like Oxbow Market, the Opera House and the Wine Train).

We dined at Celadon and Ubuntu (which were both excellent), and it was also a very short walk to Morimoto, Fish Story, Bounty Hunter, Zuzu, Cole's Chop House and other great restaurants. Be assured that during your stay at Napa River Inn, you’ll be able to park your car (for free) and just leave it there till you’re ready to travel on!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forestvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    312
    71
    40
    15
See reviews for
133
761
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Great location BUT!!! quite expensive for the value delivered. Breakfast was a stale pastry, luke warm coffee and a very ordinary egg sandwich. Not what I would expect for a $350.00/night hotel (Including tax). The "Free Wine Tasting" consisted of a 2 oz. pour of an ordinary house Sauvignon Blanc that probably wholesaled at $3/btl. Total cost to the hotel about $0.25. The room was nice but a little on the small side given the price, had a decent river view and a little balcony.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We loved our beautiful and comfortable room in a lovely old converted mill. The service was excellent; even loaned us an umbrella. It was very well located--on the river (beautiful), within walking distance to quaint shops and restaurants, and quick access to both Hwy 29 and the Silverado trail. The wine train leaves from here and bikes are available. We did not have a chance to eat at Celedon, but it looked charming. Great experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggielke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Hotel Assistant GM Shane Greenan knows the art of hospitality at Napa River Inn. Initial problems with TV reception in our room during the 1st game of the Giants-Rangers World Series. We gave the maintenance guy score updates every time he came back with another piece of equipment and remained nice about it all. After 15 minutes of trying to fix it, it got resolved with a room upgrade, champagne and chocolates. During our 3-day stay we got to know Shane and he's a gem of a manager.
The hotel is walking distance to unbelievable restaurants, jazz clubs, wine tasting rooms, historic neighborhoods, Downtown Joes (a great place to watch the Giants win with a tasty beer brewed on-site).
Kudos to the City of Napa for investing in making downtown a sane place to taste wine (and beer) without hopping in a car to drive up-valley. Keep working on the river enhancements. Way to go Napa!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Upon our arrival to the Inn we were initially quite disappointed in the location of our room. We had just spent 2 days in SanFrancisco, in the rain in a room with no view. Our first room at the Inn was very nice, but a fig tree blocked our view of anything and made the room quite dark...not what we were looking for. They upgraded us to an bright sumy room with a view and a fireplace...just what we wanted. Keurig coffee maker in the room was perfect and delivery of breakfast fro Sweety Pies was perfect...the delivery fellow was quite pleasant. Location was great. A short walk to everything. Celedon was a perfect place to dine and just outside our door. We had a very pleasant stay and would advise staying here for the experience AND the location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

After leaving the hustle and bustle of San Francisco behind the Napa Mill was a welcome rest stop. Location is just right, a little out of town bit close enough to look around. We booked the wine train and the hotel offered complemtary transfers What service! The room was large with a fantastic bed ( we wanted to take it home) good coffee maker with good coffee to boot. Little touches like robes chocolates and turn down service and a lovely breakfast served to your door at a time you request. Simply has to be a jewel in Napa!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonbon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Just spent 5 days here. This is a nice, well run hotel in an excellent location. The restaurants near it are a definite plus (from the General Store cafe to upscale Morimoto's) and the downtown will be even better when other restaurants, clubs and tasting rooms are finished. Staff is nice, breakfast brought to your room from Sweetie Pie's is very good. Celadon (their premier restaurant) is excellent.
My quibble is with the Plaza rooms. While they are in a new building, there are a few oddities that need to be addressed, e.g. only one mirror in the room; only a clothes rack in the bathroom (i.e. no closet); no in-room safe which requires you to carry purses, wallets more than you would like. While patios/balconies off the rooms are nice, but can be noisy with traffic and construction across the river. The rooms are very clean, though.
Recommend Carpe Diem (tasting room/restaurant)...a cool place and only a couple of blocks away. Avoid the new Fish Story restaurant until they shake out the service kinks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing