We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip's highlight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Germantown, Tennessee
2 reviews
“Our trip's highlight”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed at Napa River Inn for a weekend get-away and it delivered. Our room was so comfortable and romantic. Everything was very clean and the staff was very nice. We will stay there again for sure and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdouglas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    314
    74
    40
    15
See reviews for
134
766
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed at the Napa River Inn for our birthday weekend, so it was important to us that our experience was positive. The hotel is dog-friendly and the staff made us and our pooch feel comfortable right away. Our room was beautiful - we had a room with a river view, balcony and a gas fireplace. Despite the rainy weekend, the fireplace did a great job making us feel warm and cozy when we were in our room. We requested a king bed, however, our room has two full beds. I presume we could have been more proactive about making a change, as sharing a bed was a bit tight for two adults, but we liked our rooms so much that we did not pursue a room change. The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff was visible throughout our stay. The hotel is very close (a block or less) to several new restaurants in Napa, including Morimoto and Tyler Florence. Additionally, several highly-rated restaurants were within a few blocks, such as Angele, Celedon and Fish Story. The hotel provided town car service (the bellman was a bit of a crazy driver) to the Napa Valley Wine Train and promptly picked us up when we returned from our adventure. The one complaint is that the hotel is in an older building and you could hear every step and sound from the room above us, including an active child and the housekeeping staff vacuuming early in the morning. I would definitely return, however, and recommend this hotel to friends. The location and helpful service were huge bonuses.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNPOLISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2010

After some business in San Francisco, my wife flew into SFO and we headed to Napa for a long weekend for her 40th birthday. What a wonderful trip. While the Napa River Inn had many possible packages to pick from, I had so many "things" I wanted to do I had to call them and set up a combination of multiple packages. While we only stayed two nights, out package included tickets to Silo's to see Zoo Station ("the" U2 tribute band), wine tours, the Napa Valley Wine Train Vista Dome for dinner, and lots of other amenaties. Everything, even God providing sun and temperatures in the 70's/80's was wonderful. The service and everything at the Napa River Inn was wonderful, the Wine Train was terrific, and our wine tours were great, but one of my most memorable experiences was meeting the owner of Silo's. Hearing that he viewed his life as near perfect, getting to ride his bike to work everyday, drink great wine, and listen to live music, it was difficult to argue otherwise. On our second night after disembarking the wine train and walking back to the Inn and past Silo's, the owner saw us, and ushered us into Silo's, ushered us to a table, and told us to enjoy the music never mentioning the cover charge and even telling us to "never mind' the two item/drink minimum. THIS is what makes me love our Napa experience and want to come back. I have already spread this story to friends/families and will continue to. What better advertising is there than that. The wine in Napa was wonderful and my weekend escape with my wife was everything I could have imagined and asked for. Thanks to the Napa River Inn, Silo's, Napa Wine Tours, and the Napa Wine Train for helping make some lasting memories for my wife and I.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaAstles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We've just returned from a pleasant 3-night stay at the Napa River Inn. We booked a Superior Room in the Plaza Building, with a small deck overlooking the river. It was a good-sized, clean, comfortable, well-designed room with modern conveniences (flat-screen TV, coffee maker) but a traditional feel. With a 3rd-night-free special, breakfast (from the delicious Sweetie Pies Bakery next door), parking and WiFi included, it was very good value for a fall weekend in Napa. It is also the ideal location for exploring downtown Napa on foot: just steps from Morimoto, Ubuntu, Angele and other prime Napa restaurants. Service was friendly and impeccable throughout our stay. We might stay here again in the future, but there were a couple of minor drawbacks that prevented this from being the perfect spot. For one, the hotel allows (welcomes, in fact) pets. This was fine with us, and we were relieved to hear very little barking or whining during our stay. The regular presence of animals does give the rooms a faint smell, however. One of our friends who suffers pet allergies needed to take some Claritin, and we all observed the slight dog odor upon arrival. We didn't really notice it after our first day, so it wasn't too bad. The other issue is noise from guests walking around the rooms above. We were on the second floor, and it was quite loud anytime guests on the third floor would move within their room. This comes with the territory of a historic building, but light sleepers should beware.

Overall, it was a positive experience in a charming and ideally located place.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Made reservations for my wife and I to take my mom to hear Kellie Fuller sing at Silo's (with Mike Greensill) on her 70th birthday; saw the discount price for staying at Napa River Inn, and liked the convenience. This led to exploration of other guest options, which resulted in another night's stay.

We had dinner at Celadon, which was beyond perfect. Coordinated with Kellie to sing "Happy Birthday" to my mom, and Keith from Silo's helped arrange delivery of a nice cake (from Sweetie Pies) to our table, and it was a lot of fun for my mom.

Breakfast room service the next day was perfect, as was the lunch service on the Napa Wine Train. The weather cleared up enough for a nice walk around Napa. Then, dinner at Angele was, yet again, perfect.

A big "Thank You" to all the staff at Napa River Inn, and to everyone at Celadon, Silo's, Sweetie Pies and Angele -- and to Kellie Fuller and Mike Greensill -- for making my mom's 70th birthday special and memorable.

Stayed November 2010
Helpful?
Thank seanchron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forestville, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We had stayed previously in the River Plaza Bldg. and this time wanted to experience a room in the historic Hatt Building. Our 2nd floor room was quiet, just as I'd requested, and featured a canopied King bed with an extremely comfortable mattress. There were 2 arm chairs and a large cushioned ottoman, 2 bureau chests, a writing desk, flat panel TV and gas fireplace. The one small window let in just a bit of light, so the room remained fairly dark throughout the day--but I appreciated the fact that the original windows were retained in this historic bldg. Another charming element was the original tongue and groove wood flooring. Amongst the numerous amenities in our room: an in-room safe, coffee maker, electric tea pot, (2) phones, wine glasses, hairdryer, and lots of nice, thick bath towels. The very spacious tiled bath had a slipper tub for soaking and a BIG walk-in shower with 2 shower heads and fold-down seat (the room was handicapped accessible).

The only "complaints/suggestions" would be to add towel racks since there were few places to hang our towels, and to include a small table in the room where we could eat breakfast. As it was, my husband had to hunch over the ottoman and I just stood up to eat with the breakfast tray on the bed. (Our Plaza room had a table out on the balcony so we were able to have breakfast there). Also, my cup of coffee wasn't very hot when it arrived (an individual carafe would keep it hot), and my breakfast sandwich was a bit soggy.

The 2nd floor had a large, comfortable sitting room that would be quite a nice place for a group or extended family to gather and relax together. The professional service provided by the friendly hotel staff was faultless. We loved the beautifully maintained grounds and lush plantings (roses in November!), the artwork and sculptures on the premises, the charming shops and Silo’s jazz club in the Napa Mill complex, the adjacent River Walkway, Riverfront shops, and the very close proximity to restaurants and other popular venues in Napa town (like Oxbow Market, the Opera House and the Wine Train).

We dined at Celadon and Ubuntu (which were both excellent), and it was also a very short walk to Morimoto, Fish Story, Bounty Hunter, Zuzu, Cole's Chop House and other great restaurants. Be assured that during your stay at Napa River Inn, you’ll be able to park your car (for free) and just leave it there till you’re ready to travel on!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forestvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Great location BUT!!! quite expensive for the value delivered. Breakfast was a stale pastry, luke warm coffee and a very ordinary egg sandwich. Not what I would expect for a $350.00/night hotel (Including tax). The "Free Wine Tasting" consisted of a 2 oz. pour of an ordinary house Sauvignon Blanc that probably wholesaled at $3/btl. Total cost to the hotel about $0.25. The room was nice but a little on the small side given the price, had a decent river view and a little balcony.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,953 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,040 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing