We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic stay in downtown Napa -- everything was perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic stay in downtown Napa -- everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night and had an excellent time. The room was amazing...large king and queen bed, fireplace, great victorian decor, spacious bathroom with a huge tub and large shower with multiple shower heads. No details were overlooked.

We were greeted with breakfast from sweetie pies and ate in bed. We were accomodated with a late checkout (2pm!!) upon request. They were very helpful with dinner reservations and suggestions on nearby wineries.

At the back of the hotel there are tables where we took a bottle of wine and watched the sunset over the Napa River. We ate at Angele's (excellent) which is practically next door.

We couldn't have asked for anything nicer!! We highly recommend this place and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 87cvx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    310
    71
    40
    15
See reviews for
130
749
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Recently had the good fortune to spend a night at the lovely Napa River Inn with my teenage daughter. We were upgraded (without being asked) to an enormous room overlooking the Napa river with a balcony and a working gas fireplace. I understand that this is the 'new' wing as opposed to the historic main house which is supposed to be lovely as well, though I didn't get a chance to view the rooms. From the excellent in room coffee machine to the free wireless to the EXCELLENT beds we had a delightful stay. We did not avail ourselves of the room service breakfast option provided by the near by Sweetie Pie Bakery, but it did look excellent. The location of the Inn is perfect, especially if you don't have a car, because there are many fine restaurants on the riverside, and many more within strolling distance in 'downtown' Napa. We really were just passing through, but I really look forward to returning and spending more time in this special hotel and in this very special area.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voyaginmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelseyville
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2011

Loved the location of our room--on the river with a small balcony. Bed was very comfortable--even for my 6'4" husband. Slept with the fireplace on and the french door part-way open--perfect sleeping temperature/ambience. Walked about 50 feet to Angeles Restaurant where we had a great dinner with out friends on the Dinner Package. Great deal!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFAstrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biddeford, ME
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

We have stayed here many times. Great rooms with fireplaces and river views. Excellent restaurants-Angele and Fish Story, among others--within walking distance. And who can beat Sweetie's Bakery for a great breakfast (included in the room rate)?

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dla911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

We only had one night in Napa and are so glad we stayed at the Napa River Inn. We had a room overlooking the Napa River with a balcony and a gas fireplace. Breakfast was delivered in the morning from the bakery next door and it was delicious and filling. Walking distance to all the wineries included in the Downtown Napa Wine Tasting card and you can purchase the card from the hotel. It was also walking distance to the Oxbow Public Market and all of downtown. The Napa General Store is a couple doors away. I would recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

The Napa Inn is a quiet, cozy B&B. We enjoyed the sitting room with fireplace. They provide Port & Sherry w/ crackers & cheese as well as cookies in the evening. The breakast of blueberry french toast w/ sausage was great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

Elegant rooms, with high quality finishings, great bed. We had a view over the river (although being on the ground floor we had to have our blinds down to protect our privacy from the people walking along the riverside path). We loved the Sweetie Pie bakery-style breakfast which was included in the price. We also signed up for the Dinner package, which had a higher room rate but we got $100 certificate per room per night for one of four nearby restaurants. We worried that there may be some "catch" in being able to use the certificate but there was none that we could find - you just had to use it all up at one sitting. That made this expensive hotel more modest in price.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing