We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with sub par spa.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel with sub par spa.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Was surprised with a stay here for my birthday. I believe we used Marriott points so as to price I can not comment but it is a GREAT value, regardless. Upon arrival our room was not available for early check in, but after a 5 hour flight I needed to freshen up, I was offered the spa amenities to freshen up. That was much welcomed a quick shower and I was ready to go. It is easily accessed from the highway. The grounds were immaculate. We ate in the bistro area in the lobby the food was good. In the evening they were offering samples of wine. (Score!) There is a great outdoor space to lounge and view the valley. Our room was fantastic, small issue with tv was fixed immediately.
The spa-- hmmm. I was disappointed in difficulty scheduling a speciality service. Wanted to have regular shower not Vichy, they almost refused that option. I wish they would have. The wrap and massage we stated late after I arrived 45 minutes early. They seemed rushed. It was not relaxing. I would not use spa services again but I would stay here without a doubt. Coming from the east coast the air smelled of grapes, it was so awesome! The staff in the hotel went above and beyond to make my birthday special!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We really appreciate the fact that you chose to use your hard earned Marriott Rewards points to stay with us in March. And a very belated Happy Birthday! I have shared your comments with our Spa Director and both of us apprciate your candor about your experience there. We know that a spa experience should be relaxing, and your comments will help us to educate our team about the importance of that fact. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you the next time you are in the Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    558
    250
    82
    39
See reviews for
210
689
28
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I must admit that I am a Hilton girl at heart, however, the Napa Valley Marriott exceeded my expectations. I read other reviews and do NOT understand why this hotel would not get anything but stellar reviews! You get FREE wine tasting EVERYDAY from 5pm-6pm in the lobby. Did I say free?? YES, I did. So even if you are there on business and can't get away to a winery, the winery comes to you! One day I experienced Cakebread and the next Grgrich wined.

The staff was so nice and friendly. Not only to me, I saw them interact with everyone who came in the front door or passed by the concierge. The drinks may be a little pricey, but they are well worth it! The atmosphere was very lively as there was a birthday party in the bar.

The rooms are very nice and modern. I had no trouble accessing the internet and the room was very functional. Yes, the hotel is only two floors and both courtyards are nice and inviting.

I can not wait to go back and enjoy the hotel and surrounding areas again. Thank you Napa Valley for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: If you are not a Marriott Rewards member, pay a little extra for the VIP Lounge! It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyilous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Joy, you made our team's day! I think I might just hire you for our marketing department. We sincerely appreciate your kind words about our beloved property. Have a wonderful day and an amazing Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
163 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

The lobby is very nice. Decent pool area. But be advised if you are coming here for a wine country ambiance/feeling, you'll be quite disappointed. The hotel overlooks the freeway, which you can look across to the Trader Joes, Hardware Store, and Target. Coming in to the hotel, you'll come by a Chevron on the corner. None of this is the hotel's fault, and may not bother you at all, but if you wanted a charming spot for a getaway (perhaps with spouse), hearts would sink upon driving up to this hotel. It would be fine (maybe great) for business in this area, and rates are quite reasonable compared to the real wine country places...of course, that's what you'd expect.

Room Tip: Ask to be in back, away from the freeway and noisy fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for review of our hotel Ryan. This end of the Napa Valley has definitely grown up around us, and we appreciate your comments. Our goal is to be home base for your Napa Valley adventures, and our location allows for immediate access to a plethora of conveniences. Have a wonderful Spring and thank you for loving the Napa Valley as much as we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Withernsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Didn't have a particular good 2 nights stay as our room was 3 doors away from a main entrance and many guests seemed to be completely oblivious to keeping quiet when coming in by loud talking and constant slamming of the door which carried on until 2am and started around 6am.... Avoid any room near the entrance! Hotel itself was nicely presented and we did eat first night in their and it was good quality but slightly pricey with the drinks. Disappointed that wifi was not free in the rooms but was in the lobby... Really doesn't make sense at all.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sam d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback Sam. This information is critical for our team, and we will look at creative ways to mitigate main lobby noise near the guest rooms that you mention in your review. We certainly hope that you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future, and please know that we will do everything we can to ensure that you have a quality nights sleep when you visit us again. Have a wonderful Spring and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at the Napa Valley Marriott as it was Race Headquarters for the Napa Marathon. We couldn't have been more pleased. The service from the front desk and manager was perfect. We ate in the restaurant/bar and had a thoroughly delightful time, and the race expo and seminars were so convenient. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked trees in a quiet courtyard--perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mama4131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
We are so proud to be Race Headquarters for the great Napa Valley Marathon! Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

was not what I expected from a Marriott, especially a high category Marriott.

Hotel was only two floors and in a square type format with a large court yard in the middle. Hotel is right off the 29 freeway.

Staff was friendly and food was good. Granted you aren't going to Napa to stay in the hotel the whole time, but I wouldn't stay here again, it didn't meat my expectations.

We paid extra for the concierge floor, which was a room off the side of the lobby, was a bit of a hike from our room.

Bed was comfy, bathroom was small and overall our stay was nice. Next time I will splurge a bit more to be closer to downtown, and somewhere a bit more luxurious.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sierra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to talk about your visit to our hotel Sierra. The Napa Valley has definitely grown to an extraordinary wonderland of wine since our debut 35 years back. We like to think of ourselves as the place you can count on for extraordinary service in this legendary destination. Please let us know if we can be of assistance planning your next trip to the area, because regardless of where you end up sleeping- we believe our team is the best at pairing visitors with memorable adventures in the Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Staff was ok. Rooms were nice. Lobby and pool was really nice. Drinks were way to expensive and the bar tender was coversationliss. Room price was decent. I would stay again but bring my own wine and beer. Also front desk agents were far from nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Todd I, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you for alerting us to your mediocre experience at our hotel SC. This is unacceptable to our team, because we believe that all of our guests should leave the Napa Valley Marriott with that "wow" glow that only comes from the extraordinary. Your comments give us fuel for our drive to always improve on our hotel in every way. Thank you and have a wonderful Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
2.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 3425 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2709
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Napa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#13 Business Hotel in Napa
#15 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, perfectly located at the gateway to legendary Napa Valley wine country, is the quintessential location for guests to enjoy an unforgettable getaway. The hotel features newly redesigned accommodations, fresh outdoor garden spaces, a luxurious resort-style swimming pool, and a full-service spa. The courtyard, with warmly lit fire pits and lush landscaping, provides the perfect spot for exciting al fresco events and a relaxing space to unwind. Within the lobby's modern setting is the renowned VINeleven restaurant, featuring contemporary American cuisine. A true garden-to-table experience, the ever-changing menu showcases ingredients plucked from the property's very own Heirloom Garden. Preserve Spa offers the perfect oasis for guests to experience pure tranquility and rejuvenation. Additional amenities include a fitness center, concierge services and more than 27,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing