We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roadside Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
656 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Roadside Hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have stayed at a few properties in Napa and thought I would give Marriott a try, since I am pretty loyal to them. What a let down! The property is a roadside hotel not a resort like location at all. My room looked right into the parking lot and could hear interstate noise all evening. They have gone to the trouble of updating the lobby but nothing else, the rooms were dark and dated. The ceiling was very low and the room was always dark since opening the curtains meant everyone coming or going could see in my room.

The other issue was the parking situation, the Oakland Raiders were staying there so they had sectioned off a portion of the hotel and the parking lot. Every night when we came back we either had to park illegally or across the street. Overall for the price there are so many better hotels and inn's in Napa and Sonoma, this Marriott needs some serious attention.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyDot24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your candid review of your experience with us. The Napa Valley has definitely blossomed around our beloved Marriott, and as you mentioned one of the primary paths of travel to reach the Valley's wineries begins in front of our hotel. I appreciate your feedback on the parking challenges that you experienced while the Oakland Raiders were in house. Our team will do a better job ensuring that next year's training camp addresses the automobile volume that you experienced during your stay with us. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    566
    256
    82
    39
See reviews for
215
697
28
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I really enjoyed are stay here. The staff was so helpful with tips on dinning and of course all the great winery's. They also have a nice spa area. We felt very comfortable with everybody being so down to earth and welcoming. Wish we could have stayed a few more nights.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny K, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Tammy s,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled that you had such a great time in Napa and that our staff pointed you in the right direction with regards to Napa's great wineries. We hope you had a chance to experience a spa service while in town as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Napa when your travels bring you back to California!

Best Regards,
SonnyK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for the weekend as a base to explore the Napa Valley. It was fine! Had a basic room on the second floor out the back, overlooking the car park. I had decided to spend the extra on a driver and car to get me around. If view from the room mattered and you were prepared to spend a little more, I would ask for one overlooking the internal courtyard (pool) which is a lot nicer. The room airconditioning was effective but noisy. I ended up chilling the room of an evening and turning it (and the noisy room fridge) off at bed time. The hotel also sits opposite a train line, but traffic appeared to be rare when I was there. Beds were firmer and very comfortable. Room was of a good size (about 4 by 5 metres with separate bathroom), good sized desk. Breakfast was good, but a small area for what is quite a large area. This seemed to cause issues for groups, especially those arriving a little later in the morning.

Napa appears to be party central at this time of the year with hens parties in full swing. With ear plugs (and a glass of excellent cabernet) you can still sleep. The rooms are relatively sound proofed, but no walls alone quite block out the shrill of half a dozen girls partying. To get around the wine I used Napa Valley Wine Country Tours who were professional and easy to do business with. Liam was my driver and was superb, putting production and styles in context of European producers in a way that helped me make sense of what was on offer. Great way to spend a day in a beautiful area. Do get out early and savour the fog in the valley at this time of the year. Made me think that ballooning above it would be spectacular.

Dining in the area is very busy, you should seriously consider booking in advance. Despite this the concierge at the Mariott was helpful and managed to find places at short notice that were great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny K, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear cunim,

Thank you for the very thorough review of our property and Napa. We are thrilled to hear that you had a chance to enjoy various aspects of the Napa Valley, including the delicious Cabernet you mentioned! Next time you are in town, you much try the balloon tour above the vineyards. It's really a spectacular way to experience wine country. We hope to welcome you back to Napa in the near future. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
SonnyK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We usually gravitate towards Marriott properties as my husband is a rewards member. When visiting the wine country we needed a hotel in this specific area. Happy to see there was a Marriott Hotel and Spa we booked our room.
The room was OK. Nothing special. My complaint was this property did not feel like a Marriott. It had a feeling it started out as another hotel and then Marriott came on the scene. The area around the pool was a nice enough area...sofas and tables for an evening drink. But the sofa cushions were dirty and stained and spotted with cigarette burns. The table tops were littered with random dirty glasses and looked like they hadn't been wiped down since the night before. The pool was very small and inconsequential. This is what made me think this property didn't start out as a Marriott.
We had concierge/rewards access to a private room set up for happy hour cocktails and appetizers. We had to PAY for our wine...?? Later in the evening they had cookies which were good. The breakfast in the morning was pretty good and that was included in our room.
I'm pretty sure I'll look for other accommodations next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraMcT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefBW, Exec Chef/F&B Director at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Hello LauraMcT57!

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our Napa Valley Marriott.

I am sorry that the pool experience we delivered did not meet your expectations and can assure you moving forward we will pay even greater attention to the details that were missing for you during your stay.

We hope to see you again soon and thank you for the constructive feedback.

Chef Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A great comfortable hotel in the Napa Valley region. The price we paid (450+/night) for our particular stay was not really justifiable, but it was for a busy weekend in the valley. The room was great, clean, and modern. The highlight was the King bed... we had three very great nights of rest in it. The hallway noise was excessive at times, and there was a domestic altercation at one point in the late evening... guess crap like that happens in a wine country --unfortunately.

Room Tip: Away from exit doors
See more room tips
Green Features: Not really concerned about their environmental practices...
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review Steve! Our beds are definitely designed for a good night sleep and we are happy that you had three of them with us! As you mentioned, there is a lot of wine related joy in the Napa Valley, and our beds are designed to ensure that a hard day in the tasting rooms is rewarded with a solid subconscious session in dreamland. Cheers to you and have a great remainder of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Amazing front desk experience. When chcking in Kelsey noted that I had birthday coming later this week. She was really on top of her game. I have been traveling for 20 plus years and have never had that happen.
Great customer service. A++++++++

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael7374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Greetings Michael! Thank you for your amazing review of our beloved hotel. Kelsey is indeed a rock star and from all of us at the Napa Marriott - Happy Birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Some friends and I stayed at this hotel and it was a very positive experience. The comfort and cleanliness were both excellent but, above all, the service stands out. From help figuring out the stereo system to bringing just the right wine glass so we can toast our vacation, people went out of the way to make sure we have a positive experience. The amenities are very nice and we had a wonderful time. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny K, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Emily B,

It was our sincere pleasure to serve. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled that you had such an outstanding experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Sonny K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
2.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 3425 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2709
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Napa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#13 Business Hotel in Napa
#15 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, perfectly located at the gateway to legendary Napa Valley wine country, is the quintessential location for guests to enjoy an unforgettable getaway. The hotel features newly redesigned accommodations, fresh outdoor garden spaces, a luxurious resort-style swimming pool, and a full-service spa. The courtyard, with warmly lit fire pits and lush landscaping, provides the perfect spot for exciting al fresco events and a relaxing space to unwind. Within the lobby's modern setting is the renowned VINeleven restaurant, featuring contemporary American cuisine. A true garden-to-table experience, the ever-changing menu showcases ingredients plucked from the property's very own Heirloom Garden. Preserve Spa offers the perfect oasis for guests to experience pure tranquility and rejuvenation. Additional amenities include a fitness center, concierge services and more than 27,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing