We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Typical Marriott, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here as part of our 10th anniversary trip to Napa Valley. We stayed here 2 nights using our Reward points. The room was nothing special but the outdoor firepit area was pretty nice. The Oakland Raiders were staying here as part of training camp and part of the parking lot was blocked off and some of the hotel. Other than that inconvienence, our trip was not bothered by them. I was surprised that they were not making more noise. When we checked in they asked if were were celebrating anything and we told them 10 years of marriage. Later, when we returned to our room we had champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a note saying congratulations.
The location is good for easy access to area wineries and it is on the line for the wine train.

In summary, basic looking hotel, good service and location, and great firepits for the evening glass (or bottle) of wine.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobcat001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny K, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear bobcat0001,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of the Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa! Once again, Happy Anniversary! We're also glad to know you enjoyed the fire pit area as much as we do. It's such a great place to enjoy a glass of Napa's finest. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Perhaps for your 11th Anniversary? Thank you again for your comments and time.

Sincerely,
SonnyK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We selected this motel/hotel because it was located near the vineyards we planned to visit and would allow us to make it home afterwards without driving in downtown Napa. We were very pleasantly surprised by the layout, the friendliness of the staff, the on site concierge, and the afternoon wine tastings in the lobby. We requested a king sized bed and it was ready for us on arrival. Clean and quite, even with the late night wine drinkers in the corridors. The Oakland Raiders stayed here during their practice and you can see why. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Reserve early, especially in the peak wine season - and during Oakland Raider practice times!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny K, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Pete R,

Thank you so much for your great recommendation. We are thrilled that you had such a great overall experience and can't wait to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Please know that I have shared your comments with our team, and thank you again for staying with us!

Sincerely,
SonnyK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I felt very welcome and special during my Napa Marriot experience. It started with excellent service from concierge, Sandy Hausser, who recommended excellent nearby wineries and restaurants. The location is great. She also let me know we could rent bikes right from the hotel - what a great convenience. When we arrived quite early our room wasn't available but they took our number and called when it was ready. When we did get to the room there was a chilled bottle of Chandon with cheese and toasts complimentary from Marriott for my birthday - what a lovely surprise. We also enjoyed a good couples deep tissue massage at the spa. The only reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stars was the lack of pool side service. I overheard number of guests gripping about having to walk over to nearby bar to order since no service was in sight.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlliHossack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny K, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Allmarcin,

Thank you very much for taking a moment to review our property. We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful time during your birthday and that Sandy was able to take such great care of you. She's such an incredible part of our great team. I am also thrilled that you enjoyed one of our Spa's deep tissue treatments. So refreshing. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you again for your comments as I have shared them all with our team so we know what we did well and can learn from what we need to do better.

Sincerely,
SonnyK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have stayed at a few properties in Napa and thought I would give Marriott a try, since I am pretty loyal to them. What a let down! The property is a roadside hotel not a resort like location at all. My room looked right into the parking lot and could hear interstate noise all evening. They have gone to the trouble of updating the lobby but nothing else, the rooms were dark and dated. The ceiling was very low and the room was always dark since opening the curtains meant everyone coming or going could see in my room.

The other issue was the parking situation, the Oakland Raiders were staying there so they had sectioned off a portion of the hotel and the parking lot. Every night when we came back we either had to park illegally or across the street. Overall for the price there are so many better hotels and inn's in Napa and Sonoma, this Marriott needs some serious attention.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaisyDot24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for your candid review of your experience with us. The Napa Valley has definitely blossomed around our beloved Marriott, and as you mentioned one of the primary paths of travel to reach the Valley's wineries begins in front of our hotel. I appreciate your feedback on the parking challenges that you experienced while the Oakland Raiders were in house. Our team will do a better job ensuring that next year's training camp addresses the automobile volume that you experienced during your stay with us. Thank you again for your valuable feedback and cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I really enjoyed are stay here. The staff was so helpful with tips on dinning and of course all the great winery's. They also have a nice spa area. We felt very comfortable with everybody being so down to earth and welcoming. Wish we could have stayed a few more nights.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny K, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Tammy s,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled that you had such a great time in Napa and that our staff pointed you in the right direction with regards to Napa's great wineries. We hope you had a chance to experience a spa service while in town as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Napa when your travels bring you back to California!

Best Regards,
SonnyK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for the weekend as a base to explore the Napa Valley. It was fine! Had a basic room on the second floor out the back, overlooking the car park. I had decided to spend the extra on a driver and car to get me around. If view from the room mattered and you were prepared to spend a little more, I would ask for one overlooking the internal courtyard (pool) which is a lot nicer. The room airconditioning was effective but noisy. I ended up chilling the room of an evening and turning it (and the noisy room fridge) off at bed time. The hotel also sits opposite a train line, but traffic appeared to be rare when I was there. Beds were firmer and very comfortable. Room was of a good size (about 4 by 5 metres with separate bathroom), good sized desk. Breakfast was good, but a small area for what is quite a large area. This seemed to cause issues for groups, especially those arriving a little later in the morning.

Napa appears to be party central at this time of the year with hens parties in full swing. With ear plugs (and a glass of excellent cabernet) you can still sleep. The rooms are relatively sound proofed, but no walls alone quite block out the shrill of half a dozen girls partying. To get around the wine I used Napa Valley Wine Country Tours who were professional and easy to do business with. Liam was my driver and was superb, putting production and styles in context of European producers in a way that helped me make sense of what was on offer. Great way to spend a day in a beautiful area. Do get out early and savour the fog in the valley at this time of the year. Made me think that ballooning above it would be spectacular.

Dining in the area is very busy, you should seriously consider booking in advance. Despite this the concierge at the Mariott was helpful and managed to find places at short notice that were great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cunim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonny K, Director of Sales at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear cunim,

Thank you for the very thorough review of our property and Napa. We are thrilled to hear that you had a chance to enjoy various aspects of the Napa Valley, including the delicious Cabernet you mentioned! Next time you are in town, you much try the balloon tour above the vineyards. It's really a spectacular way to experience wine country. We hope to welcome you back to Napa in the near future. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
SonnyK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We usually gravitate towards Marriott properties as my husband is a rewards member. When visiting the wine country we needed a hotel in this specific area. Happy to see there was a Marriott Hotel and Spa we booked our room.
The room was OK. Nothing special. My complaint was this property did not feel like a Marriott. It had a feeling it started out as another hotel and then Marriott came on the scene. The area around the pool was a nice enough area...sofas and tables for an evening drink. But the sofa cushions were dirty and stained and spotted with cigarette burns. The table tops were littered with random dirty glasses and looked like they hadn't been wiped down since the night before. The pool was very small and inconsequential. This is what made me think this property didn't start out as a Marriott.
We had concierge/rewards access to a private room set up for happy hour cocktails and appetizers. We had to PAY for our wine...?? Later in the evening they had cookies which were good. The breakfast in the morning was pretty good and that was included in our room.
I'm pretty sure I'll look for other accommodations next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LauraMcT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChefBW, Exec Chef/F&B Director at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Hello LauraMcT57!

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our Napa Valley Marriott.

I am sorry that the pool experience we delivered did not meet your expectations and can assure you moving forward we will pay even greater attention to the details that were missing for you during your stay.

We hope to see you again soon and thank you for the constructive feedback.

Chef Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,082 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
2.4 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 3425 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2709
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Napa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#13 Business Hotel in Napa
#15 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £188 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, perfectly located at the gateway to legendary Napa Valley wine country, is the quintessential location for guests to enjoy an unforgettable getaway. The hotel features newly redesigned accommodations, fresh outdoor garden spaces, a luxurious resort-style swimming pool, and a full-service spa. The courtyard, with warmly lit fire pits and lush landscaping, provides the perfect spot for exciting al fresco events and a relaxing space to unwind. Within the lobby's modern setting is the renowned VINeleven restaurant, featuring contemporary American cuisine. A true garden-to-table experience, the ever-changing menu showcases ingredients plucked from the property's very own Heirloom Garden. Preserve Spa offers the perfect oasis for guests to experience pure tranquility and rejuvenation. Additional amenities include a fitness center, concierge services and more than 27,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing