We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good Marriott” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Newburyport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very good Marriott”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

I usually hate staying at the big chain hotels while on vacation if I can avoid it. I usually find them to offer a reliable stay, but the variability amongst properties within the same brand is just usually too much for me.

This Marriott was a very good Marriott, which is to say that if you don't usually like Marriotts (like me), you'll be mostly pleasantly surprised.

The room was big, clean and newer. Perfect? No, but close to everything I look for in a comfortable hotel stay. Soft, fluffy towels, everything clean and in perfect working order, a small coffee maker in the hotel room.

The on site restaurant was empty, but the food was surprisingly good (for a hotel restaurant).

No problems with our room, but be aware that there's no free Internet in the rooms themselves ($4.95/24 hours). The wireless Internet signal was strong and good to use. I think there was free Internet wifi in the lobby.

I found it annoying that if you wanted to print out a boarding pass in their business center, they charged for Internet use there too. I find such nickel-and-diming at a 'resort' such as this as unnecessary and a little annoying.

A good value for Napa Valley and on the north side of town, closer to the wineries.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveNBPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thank you so much for the feedback and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in the fact that we are not your typical "cookie cutter" brand hotel and are glad that you enjoyed the experience.

You mentioned our restaurant food as being better than a typical "hotel restaurant" and we agree! We definitely have a hidden gem, right here in the hotel.

You also mentioned the charge for the boarding pass in our business center. We're constantly looking for ways to improve and we're contacting our business center provider to make this change immediately. Thank you so much for helping us get better.

Thanks again for the comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    550
    246
    82
    39
See reviews for
207
679
28
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

My husband and I stayed 2 nights, our rate was $203. per night. On arrival they upgraded us to a garden room on the Conceirge Level, the room was comfy! The room key accessed a well stocked room below ours stocked with daily continental breakfast of oatmeal, cereal, fruits, scrambled eggs & asst. bakery wow! Later there is wine & appetizers of veggies, won tons, bread & cheeses. Little pastries & coffee in late evening, wow can't say how great that all was! We'd stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5125chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback and we are very happy that you had a memorable stay. You mention that you stayed in our concierge wing and that you thoroughly enjoyed the concierge lounge amenities. We think the concierge level is such an incredible value for our guests and are glad that you were able to share your experience with others. We hope you can stay again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

Everything was as expected for a $238/night Marriott stay. Friendly staff, clean rooms, comfy beds and typical buffet breakfast. Very convenient to Napa, Sonoma, and wine country. The Oakland Raiders were staying there during our visit but the only indication of it was the walled off guarded parking in the back of the hotel (have to protect the $200,000 cars). Don't be shocked when you see the junk-fee tourism taxes tacked on your bill - hopefully some of it will be used to plug the pot holes in downtown Napa. For a slightly less costly option there is a Hilton Garden Inn right next door.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinFanAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2010
Thank you so much for your feedback and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Stayed in the hotel on 12th July with my wife and two daughters (20 and 16). Unfortunately, for us, only booked one night as we were touring California, Nevada and Arizona. Fabulous hotel. Bedrooms great - two very comfortable queen sized beds in each bedroom. Rooms and bathrooms spotless. Great facilities including lovely swimming pool. Had St Louis ribs for lunch in bar upon arrival - best ribs I ever tasted! Staff very friendly and helpful. Will be returning for 25th wedding anniversary in 2014. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacAroniSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2010
Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. And we can't wait to help you celebrate your 25th Anniversary in a few years. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

I have stayed here twice because the location is good. The last trip was for business. This time, my husband took a trip with my parents. My parents picked the hotel. Unfortunately, when we checked in (with our confirmation number), the front desk lady told me they were sold out of King rooms. This is irritating and unacceptable! We had a confirmed reservation.

As newlyweds, we weren't very happy paying the same rate to stay in a room with 2 full beds. We ended up sleeping in separate beds - too crowded for 2 adults accustomed to a Queen or King size bed. To make matters worse, that double bed room was on the ground floor near the loading area - we were awakened in the night by what sounded like a fleet of delivery trucks. The garbage truck then acted as our alarm clock first thing in the morning.

Obviously we complained. I wanted a refund, but lost that battle. The manager apologized and relocated us to 2nd floor King. The outside fountain helped drown out background noise which was a huge relief. The manager sent us a hand written note, bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. A nice gesture, but no excuse for not having our King room available the first night. It was cheap champagne (not even from California).

If my parents had not been staying there too, we would have packed up and gone elsewhere. I decided not to spoil everyone's trip. Relocating hotels would have been a huge hassle for my parents.

We also paid for Club Level access. That was a disappointment. The room was overly crowded and the entrance was not secured. It was clear that just about anyone could walk in regardless of whether they paid extra for the Club Level. At one point, I walked by the club room and the door was wide open. They may as well take the key card access joke off the door and hang a sign that says, "Come on in off the street and help yourself." The complimentary dessert was nothing special -- the same cookies every night. After watching a young boy spritz the cookies with a sneeze, then baste them with his germy hand, we decided not to eat anything else at the Club Level. No club cookies for me, thanks.

I definitely feel this property is over priced. I frequent Marriott properties and this hotel is closer to the quality expected at a Courtyard. I like Courtyard's just fine -- they are clean and basic. This property may have been a thread count higher than the quality of a Courtyard. That's about it. It's certainly not as nice as other Marriott "Resort" properties.

As the week went on, my bitterness mellowed. Napa Valley wine helped take the edge off my Marriott whining. I figured I'd save it for Trip Advisor. Hopefully someone at Marriott will read this and make some changes. We didn't spend much time at the hotel anyway. Our time and focus was on touring the wineries. Napa Valley is such a treat! It would have been nice to stay at a nicer property, but that's what future trips are for. I will look elsewhere in the future.

I'm rating this hotel Average. Everything in Napa is pricey, so I'm not sure we could have found a better rate during the week we went. I did notice a new Courtyard down the road. Wish we had known about that location. Since this hotel was sold out, perhaps there is opportunity for more competition. I'd like to see a nice Hampton Inn on the Napa Valley scene. Also, the downtown area is still under construction. It sure would be nice to stay downtown next time -- lot's of room for economic boom in Napa. Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2010
Thank you very much for your feedback. We absolutely value this type of constructive feedback as it helps us to get better. As newlyweds, I can understand how underwhelming it must have been to learn that you had been placed into a room with two beds. We obviously missed the mark on that one and we sincerely apologize for that. You also mention the concierge lounge being crowded and we've heard our guests loud and clear. We are in the midst of changing the location of the concierge lounge and beginning in April, 2011 we will have a lounge that is more than twice the size of the current location. Please contact me directly so that I can invite you back to our hotel to see all of the changes. (And I promise to get you into a beautiful King-bedded room.) You can email me directly at napasales @ napavalleymarriott.com. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
151 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

This is the perfect location to explore wine country for the first time. You are near Sonoma and you are just in the middle of Napa to explore the region. For the frugal traveler, you are right next to a Trader Joe's, Targer, and Whole Foods to get provisions for a picnic. I also suggest the farmers market each Saturday in nearby downtown. Just go one exit south and follow it west toward the river.

This hotel has recently gone through a rennovation and it looks wonderful. The rooms are very clean and actually very large! I suggest the marriott over a B&B because you really aren't there to stay in the room. But, after a long day it's nice to relax by the pool or in the hot tub. The rooms also had a mini-fridge, safe, and even glass wine glasses to use after a long day. nice touch!

The bathrooms are improved with good counter tops and ample space. But, the best part is that there is free parking. But beware, if you want a spot near your room you have to fight for it or you'll have a long walk.

No complaints! Afterall, the Marriott bed is the most comfortable in my opinion. If you stay here, make sure to visit the Hess winery. If you turn right at the light coming from the hotel you just drive up the hill and you'll run into it. Nice spot!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtsublueraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NapaValleyMarriott, Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2010
Thank you very much for the feedback. We're so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We agree that we are lucky to be situated in the middle of wine country and you mentioned one of our favorite wineries, Hess. So glad you were able to visit them. Please come again soon and we'll have your Marriott bed waiting for you. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
254 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

My partner and I took advantage of a Travelzoo special - $99 a night, wine tasting, free coupons for the vineyards, and a bottle of wine. we were both very impressed by the hotel. All staff, especially the concierge, were friendly, with some great restaurant recommendations. Food at the hotel for breakfast was standard (we had the buffet) but well done and excellent. Waitress friendly and genuine. Our room was comfortable - it opened up to the garden and pool. Bed excellent, bathroom nice, perfect. Great location right off highway 29 - easy access to all the great stuff in Napa. In short - a great comfortable convenient hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasoncrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
2.1 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
2.4 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 3425 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2709
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Napa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#13 Business Hotel in Napa
#15 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, perfectly located at the gateway to legendary Napa Valley wine country, is the quintessential location for guests to enjoy an unforgettable getaway. The hotel features newly redesigned accommodations, fresh outdoor garden spaces, a luxurious resort-style swimming pool, and a full-service spa. The courtyard, with warmly lit fire pits and lush landscaping, provides the perfect spot for exciting al fresco events and a relaxing space to unwind. Within the lobby's modern setting is the renowned VINeleven restaurant, featuring contemporary American cuisine. A true garden-to-table experience, the ever-changing menu showcases ingredients plucked from the property's very own Heirloom Garden. Preserve Spa offers the perfect oasis for guests to experience pure tranquility and rejuvenation. Additional amenities include a fitness center, concierge services and more than 27,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing