We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,080)
Filter reviews
2,080 results
Traveller rating
1,745
282
34
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,745
282
34
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssweet potato wafflescookiesbed and breakfasthot tubdowntown napahard boiled eggsfresh fruitsmall hotelthe breakfast areamain buildingwine countryclose to downtownroad noiseroom was largeevery eveningbreakfast was excellentgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,734 - 1,739 of 2,080 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Think about the very best hotel stay you've ever had.
This was 20 times better than that.
The family that runs the Elm House (and over the one night stay we had, we know them all by name) treat every guest like their closest friends. Before we even arrived, we called and spoke with Connie to arrange our wine tour (she set us up with the best in town) and we felt her warm welcome. When we arrived in this lovely, cottage style Inn we felt like we were inside a home, with a fireplace stoked and gingerbread smell in the air. There was a fresh breakfast waiting for us (complimentary, of course) with fresh oatmeal (with traditional toppings to fun, festive ones like chocolate covered raisins), home made GINGERBREAD Belgium waffles, and other delicious treats. Connie greeted us with a genuine cheerful glow, she knew exactly who we were, and had everything arranged and waiting for us so all we had to do was get on the tour! Our wine tour ended up being the two of us girls, and her daughter who was in town visiting with a couple friends! We had a lovely time and upon returning, I snuggled in the comfy bed for an afternoon nap. The room was big, and had everything I could possibly need.
When we decided to get dinner, Tom, Connie's husband recommended a lovely Tapas place. We tried to go and our rental car wouldn't start, well Tom saw us go upstairs to the room with a sad look on our faces and immediately called up to see what he could do. He ended up making sure we had a wonderful, safe, and fast trip to the restaurant, going to lengths that were above and beyond anything that he could have been expected to do. The next morning, Teddy, Tom and Connie's son, greeted us at breakfast with a lovely smile and fresh waffles. He asked us all about our trip and to see if there was anything else he could do to help us out. I cant believe that in a 24 hour trip we were able to feel so taken care of and welcomed into not just an Inn, but a family. We really loved Napa, but without the Elm House, it wouldn't have been nearly as lovely, relaxing, and special. It is a 5 star hotel secretly placed inside an affordable, adorable (and did I mention, clean?) Inn. Thank you so much to the Elm House Family, we recommend this place wholeheartedly, and can't wait for our friends and family to experience it as well.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

From check in to departure the family atmosphere was clear and welcoming. At the outset it was obvious that they would do everthing they could to enhance your stay. The cider and home made cookies helped us to relax and unwind after what had been a long and active day.
Cleanliness and efficient in everything they do and when requested a little extra something for the room after proposing on balloon trip they happily went above and beyond and not only put in a cold bottle of bubbly as requested but added their own individual touch with rose petals and fruit to match.
An amazing stay and could not have asked for a better hotel to come home to after an understandably stressful day. Only regret is not staying longer!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark4fi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

Can't say enough good things about the Elm House Inn--clean and well maintained, with an excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms and a very warm welcome. Plus, a convenient location, with easy on/easy off Hwy 29 in North Napa city. Having been disappointed too many times with small independent inns and their clueless innkeepers, this was a VERY pleasant surprise. The owners clearly understand what travelers want/need, and how to give it to them while remaining profitable. (Yup, it's all in the details.) An outstanding value in often pricey Napa Valley. Will stay again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldShuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2009

The Elm House was such a wonderful place. I can't think of anything that was wrong with it. Homemade waffles and delicious muffins in the morning. Hot spiced apple cider and warm cookies served at 6 every evening in front of the fire.
The room was very comfortable. The staff was so helpful. Their son made reservations for us at a restaurant that we didn't think we would be able to reserve. His recomendations on wineries were spot on.
They will also loan you their laptop if you didn't bring yours. They have a ton of coupons for the wineries and every restaurant menu you can imagine.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank kat-tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Stayed here for one night. Arrived early as we were going on a wine tour. Plan was to get some recommendations for coffee only to be offered coffee from the breakfast bar. Room was great, quiet location, really comfy and clean. Apple cider and cookies at 6 was a great addition. Owners were incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the morning was first class and the hot tub was a great way to finish the evening. Slight walk into town (20 mins or so) but it was a nice easy walk to work up an appetite and walk it off ! Can't think of anything negative and will stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews