We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had such a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2006

I chose this hotel based on the reviews I read on TripAdvisor, and once again I was not disappointed. I got one of the larger rooms, and when I walked in the door, it was literally like entering a Versailles sitting room.

The bed was huge and so soft, there was a nice-sized couch and desk, the TV was ample and there was even a fireplace and a couple chandeliers. The bathroom area included two separate rooms--one area with the sink and such, and then a door that led into the toilet and large jacuzzi tub.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful. They always had the perfect restaurant suggestion or directions when needed. And everyone wasn't kiddindg about those waffles. I never thought I'd rave about waffles, but they had the perfect consistency and were so yummy!

Since this is a smaller hotel, housekeeping was very attentive and I never ran into them still cleaning my room or experienced frustration at my room having not been cleaned yet.

When I read the earlier reviews, I expected the parking areas to be sorta scary, but they weren't bad at all. There are parking lots on either side of the hotel, so there's always enough room to find a parking place somewhere. (Although keep in mind that the lot on second street opens up to a one-way street, so you might have to make a couple extra turns if you want to end up back on California.)

I would definitely return to the Elm House Inn again!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Soriah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,949)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,815 - 1,821 of 1,951 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2006

My wife and I had stayed at the Elm House Inn on several of our previous trips to Napa in years past, but as good as it was then, It has just gotten better!

They have added a new extra-deluxe wing, a conference center, a large, circular outdoor jacuzzi, all new landscaping, and garden sculptures to their facility. Everything is upgraded, new and deluxe. The rooms, furniture, baths and linens are especially beautiful and comfy. The lobby is like a fine club. And the free breakfast served every morning in the lobby is worthy of the finest inns in the world!

With only 22 rooms, and growing fame among visitors to the Napa Valley, you will need to book early, even in winter. But when you're among the fortunate priviledged few, you will sing their praises just as we do.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank donHeraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

We booked three nights at the Best Western Elm House in September 2006 after we read the reviews on this site. They were all accurate. This hotel is a beautiful converted house with spacious rooms, excellent service and a great location from which to explore both Napa and Sonoma valleys. The breakfast waffles have already been described in detail by other reviewers but they really were something else, and my wife and I still miss them now!

The staff are all very attentive and friendly, and provided lots of useful information regarding the area. The massive file of restaurant menus that they hold proved very useful in deciding our dining options each night, and the internet access in the dining area was a nice bonus.

We used the hot tub once, and this was heavenly, a well kept secret. The dining area also doubled as a relaxing rest area where fresh lemonade, iced tea and cookies were provided in the afternoon. It was just like relaxing in someone's lounge. Apparently there is also wine tasting at the weekends (we stayed Mon, Tue and Wed) so remember to time your stay better than us!

The only slight downside, and this wasn't the hotel's fault, was the round the clock construction work on the freeway intersection that started just after we arrived. At first we marvelled at the fact that work continued throughout the night to ensure a quick turnaround, but this soon turned to annoyance. Some guests were moved to other hotels, but we stuck it out. The owner did actually go and complain to City Hall and the level of noise did reduce slightly in the evenings. Jet lag meant that we weren't sleeping anyway!

We would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Napa.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Sank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2006

I was recently in San Francisco on a business trip and my parents decided to join me for a trip to the Napa Valley. The reviews were so good that I decided to see if it lived up to the hype, and it did! The hotel is clean, the rooms are nice and big, and the staff was incredibly kind and helpful. The continental breakfast can't be beat and their location to downtown Napa is fantastic. For the money, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Boston19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

All the reviews are true. Great location, great breakfast, comfortable beds. Not your typical Best Western.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank WMC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2006

From the minute we gals (3) stepped in we were treated like family. Very small, comfortable and homey. Great cocktail hour and breakfast. The front desk staff were very helpful.
Location good, easy access. Would definitely return. Trip Adviser comments were my deciding factor in booking this hotel and it worked for us.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank GrandmaRhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2006

The Best Western Elms is terrific. Our room was easily the largest hotel room I've ever stayed in and it was beautifully decorated, had a fireplace, and a jacuzzi in the tub. Morning breakfast -- hard-boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, breads, homemade Belgian waffles -- was simple but right on the money. Afternoon goodies included a wine tasting with terrific appetizers and home-cured olives! These people and their staff understand the business of hospitality. I'd make this my go-to in Napa. Note: two rooms enter directly off the dining room and I'd try to avoid them (rms 104 and 105).

10  Thank Ms_Quilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,040 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
0.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
0.5 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#13 of 30 in Napa
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Elm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Elm House Inn

Address: 800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#1 Business Hotel in Napa
#1 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Best Value Hotel in Napa
Price Range: £118 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Elm House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Elm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel Napa
Best Western Elm Hotel
Best Western Napa
Napa Best Western
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing