We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cozy and Clean”
Reviewed 14 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Elm House Inn for nearly a week for our one-year anniversary. Our room was spacious and clean and included a marble gas fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub. Though our room faced the main road, we never were really disturbed by the traffic. There are no microwaves or room safes, but the staff is kind enough to warm up your leftovers for you and will keep your valuables in a hotel safe upon request. Be sure to book a room early because there were no vacancies during our stay, and if you book a lobby-level room, be prepared to possibly hear noise from the breakfast crowd because the food is set up outside of those rooms.

The Inn staff is very warm and hospitable; I witnessed staff members go the extra mile on several occasions (e.g., providing directions, making tour arrangements, picking roses for in-room dining trays, and ensuring that guests enjoyed the complimentary breakfast). Also, I affirm that the waffles and cookies are as delicious as other reviews have noted!

We recommend a rental car to get to nearby restaurants and shopping centers. We also recommend speaking with hotel staff about vineyard tours and hot air balloon rides.

We enjoyed the following at the Inn:

+ flat screen TV with many cable channels
+ board games and books in lobby
+ nice bath products

We had the following minor criticisms:

- A/C unit and Jacuzzi were slightly noisy
- dated Jacuzzi tub and toilet
- quiet hours after 10 pm (definitely isn't a place for party people; luckily my husband and I are not)
- no meat provided at breakfast

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT777_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,564
    251
    32
    16
    3
See reviews for
242
1,180
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

While this is classified as a hotel, the ambiance is more like a B&B with superieor service.We arrived at the hotel early in the morning to meet our Wine Tour and although we had not yet checked in we were invited into the warm cozy lobby to have breakfast. The owners and staff made us feel welcome from the first moment to the last of our stay, helping us with dinner recommendations and reservations, activities, directions, taxis, etc. We felt like treasured guests for the duration of our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. The rooms were spacious and well equipped. We were upgraded the first night, but not disappointed at all with the "standard" room we moved to for night 2. I can't say enough about the quality of the service and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flower1_23_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We chose this hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews and could not have been happier. We spent the first three days of our vacation in San Francisco in a not so great hotel and when we arrived at Elm House we were very pleasantly surprised. This property is situated right off of CA 29 and California Blvd. Very convenient to all the wineries, outlet shopping and resturants. There are not a lot of rooms and the feel is like a bed and breakfast -- mornings start with a warm breakfast (waffles, oatmeal, cereal, fresh muffins) served on real placemats and a very friendly and accomodating staff. They provide discount coupons for several wineries. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The bed we had was a little uncomfortable, but the linens and everything were clean and fresh. The first night we were here, Mumm vineyard provided an informative tasting of their sparkling wines (free!). Every evening there are warm cookies with coffee and milk. It is just a lovely place and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBLVS2SKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanton, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This seemed more like an intimate bed and breakfast rather than a hotel chain. We loved everything about it! The owners were friendly and helpful in making the arrangements for our dinners and made some helpful suggestions. They also had a wonderful tradition of a fireside manager's complimentary wine party every evening. What a classy place! We'd love to go visit once again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveItalian106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

A great little place to spend an evening. The owners really care abotu their guests and are delightfully helpful. THe cookies in the evening were delicious and the waffles at breakfast were scrumptious! We will definately stay here when we visit the area!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vfarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Walked in to the "Inn", and immediately wondered why Best Western would have ever allowed their name on the outside.

Musty smell, poorly lit hallways, disgusting bedspreads, very small rooms. There was a fireplace, but you would have had to sit on the bed to even see the fireplace! Old rug in the bathroom.

Poor quality facility for such a lovely part of the country... Best Western you better take a good look at this place with your name on it!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed two nights at this great hotel that is more like a b&b. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The gardens out back are beautiful. Breakfast every morning was delicious. And the front desk staff and owners were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudCanadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.5 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#8 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
1.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Elm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Elm House Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Address: 800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#1 Family Hotel in Napa
#1 Business Hotel in Napa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Elm House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Elm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel Napa
Best Western Elm Hotel
Best Western Napa
Napa Best Western
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing