We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mandarin Restaurant Rip Off”

Mandarin Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #208 of 283 Restaurants in Napa
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Mandarin Restaurant Rip Off”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Be careful when paying cash for your meal at this restaurant. I took my family of five to dinner here on 12/5/2013. The bill came to $65.00 to which I handed the waitress $80.00 cash for payment. Since I was expecting $15.00 cash back for my bill, I sat there patiently waiting for her to come back to me. After about 10 to 15 minutes, I finally flagged her to inquire about my change. Her reply, "Oh I already put it in the tip box." Seriously??? That was never mentioned when I handed her the payment. Then she reiterated in a LOUD voice the bill was $65 and that I gave her $80 cash for payment so that the whole restaurant crowd could hear it. I said I want my change! Needless to say, this place is going to be crossed off my list of dining places here in napa. Not much choices here. Panda express has much better tasting food and honest workers.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    8
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Excellent chinese food in Napal Would definitely return!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Overall
- Great quality, fresh ingredients, and ample servings of everything
- A great spot to dine in Napa when looking for authentic Chinese
- Lots of parking
- Plenty of room for all party sizes, with booths for couples and groups of 4, to the usual round tables for larger groups, and nice window seating too
- Happy, genuine and quick service - rare on most other chinese restaurants

We dined here for a late lunch as we had done enough wineries and wanted a break. This restaurant hit the spot perfectly as it was unpretentious but well-decorated with traditional round tables as well as booths.

We order both appetizers and mains, both which came out quickly with ample time between time to really enjoy both. The portions were good, and the quality would compete with any similar restaurant in San Francisco!

Our server greeted us with a friendly smile, checked on us during the meal, and only brought over the check when we requested it, unheard of in most chinease restaurants.

All in all, a great find to which we would return and I would happily recommend to any Napa visitor looking for some good old Chinese food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol8131111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“BUsy street, lots of parking”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Chinese menu in the restaurant with a full bar attached as well. I was disappointed not having Barbequed Pork on the menu, but the chicken dish was well prepared. All items are ala carte.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rainbows4Sale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Rushed experience”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We chose this restaurant in preference to the many local take-aways. We arrived after 9 and it seemed that they were close to closing although there were two tables occupied. We sat and needed to ask some questions about the menu. Wanting a fish option we asked what fish it was. The server checked with the kitchen and reported back by spelling the fish as swordfish. When served it clearly wasn't.

The food came quite quickly. The staff were clearing tables and sweeping the floor as we ate. We were presented with the bill before we'd finished. As we left it seemed the staff had signed off.

Maybe the moral is not to expect to eat late in this area. I can't even recall the food quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK Food. Lacking in warmth.”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The food was OK, but nothing special. Minimal service or attention for the price. Felt like my presence was an imposition.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iadora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandarin Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 
Napa, Napa Valley
Napa, Napa Valley
 

Been to Mandarin Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing