We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 18:00
Save
  
Ways to Experience Platypus Wine Tours
from US$129.69
More Info
from US$129.69
More Info
from US$129.69
More Info
Reviews (6,419)
Filter reviews
6,419 results
Traveller rating
5,845
454
75
26
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5,845
454
75
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tour picnic lunch great lunch napa valley fun tour new friends small group private tour first stop army mike driver couples van host itinerary
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 6,419 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2019

My husband and I took the Platypus wine tour with our tour guide Bob. Bob was an amazing guide and made the day a fun event for everyone. We were picked up from our hotel. We visited 4 wine tasting venues on this tour. All unique and amazing tours. Our favorite was Rutherford Winery where our host Dean treated us to a variety of wine and chocolate pairings...just amazing. We had a picnic lunch outside of this venue which was delicious. Bob also served us bottled waters and cheese and crackers on the tour bus. On the drive back, Bob stopped at an amazing castle for us to take photos and he took group photos of us at the Welcome to Napa sign. We highly recommend this tour and want to thank Bob for an amazing experience.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank DERO91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Owner at Platypus Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Go, Bob! I just went on about him in a previous review, and I'll stand by that praise. Thanks so much for posting, Dero!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2019

Our tour guide Tim was a gem. Picked us up at our hotel in Napa and took us to 4 vineyards that were absolutely beautiful. We were able to take tours thru the winery's operations and because the tour was only 10 people, it was very personable. Had a great lunch at one of the wineries in a beautiful old barrel room. All the places took credit cards and some waived the tasting fee if you bought wine (not all of them did). Dress comfortable, some walking around the vineyards and operation areas. Would highly recommend. Dropped off at hotel as well. Take a camera!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank JanBNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Owner at Platypus Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Thanks so much, Jan B.! Tim has been conducting tours for us for several years now, and I think he's really got it down. I'm very glad you so enjoyed his tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2019

Chris was a very knowledgeable of all the wineries & the wines we were to taste. Lunch was very tasty. Our weather could not have been more perfect. Everyone on our tour was very friendly. We will definitely schedule another tour on our next trip to Napa.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank DianeBfor24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Owner at Platypus Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

The weather is almost always perfect in the Napa Valley. It's the most amazing thing, and I wish I could take credit for it. Chris is an awesome tour guide, and I will pat myself on the back for recognizing that potential the first time I met him...years ago, now. Thanks for your kind feedback, Diane; we'll certainly be very pleased to see you again when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2019 via mobile

Really terrific tour from start to finish (and even thereafter). Our guide Mark couldn’t have been more gracious & helpful, and three out of the four wineries visited were great (as for the fourth, the less said about them the better). As a bonus, Mark recommended a local Mexican restaurant (El Molino Central), which we went to for lunch the next day . . it was literally the best meal we had in Sonoma! Thanks Mark.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Owner at Platypus Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Thanks, Patrick! Mark has been touring for us for better than eight years, and he a pleasure to work with. I heartily agree about El Molina Central - love that place! It pays to listen to the locals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2019

With five of us, it was cheaper to hire a private guide to take us where we wanted (rather than join a pre-packaged group tour). We wanted to see some of wine country. We wanted to have great tasting locations. We wanted lovely outdoor seating with great views. We were able to work with Platypus to customized our tour to reach our goals and we got exactly what we asked for.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank mkliebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don R, Owner at Platypus Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2019

Thanks for your comments, MK! We're happy to do private tours any day, and they can indeed be a better value, depending on how many guests in your party, how many hours you want to tour, and a couple of other factors. You're also right that we can customize these tours to your preferences (specific wineries, particular experiences, remote pick-up locations, etc.) I'm very glad you, your girlfriend and your companions really enjoyed your private tour with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews