We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirming My Reservation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in National City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I called to confirm my reservation. Manny answered the phone very pleasantly and was able to assist me promptly. He inquired if I had any request since he already had me on the phone. I asked him what were some usual requests they get at their hotel. He mentioned a higher floor. I took it! Thank you Manny! You were very helpful! :)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank xHannaHx283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

463 - 469 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Woke up hungry, went to the lobby expecting to find a room with continental breakfast options like every other Best Western we had stayed at but sadly learned that this hotel did not offer continental breakfast. In fact, all they offered was coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I travel for work and this hotel is excellent!! Friendly staff, comfortable and nice room. The restaurant next door open for breakfast at 6 am and live music on weekends. Very private location , easy access from freeway 5.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Even when the hotel itself is nice and clean, its personnel at the lobby is not friendly, plus they sold out one of the two rooms I reserved without letting me know in advance. I noticed it once I got to the hotel.

Room Tip: Good hotel, make sure that if for some reason your credit card doesn;t go through (that could happen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M, Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

July 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We sincerely apologize for your experience at our property and we appreciate you providing us with feedback. Prior to your arrival our staff was unable to obtain an authorization on your credit card to guarantee your room reservations. We tried numerous times to get in contact with you to discuss the situation but we were unsuccessful. Upon your arrival to our hotel, our staff was able to accommodate both of your reservations as they were originally reserved. Our staff also went outside of company policy and allowed you to check in with a cash deposit, which is something we normally do not allow. We will be sure to follow up with our entire staff at our hotel and we will use your feedback as a training tool. As you can see from our previous reviews, this case was an out of the ordinary and guest satisfaction is our most important goal. Thank you for the time you spent responding and we will continue to strive to do a better job of taking care of our guest’s concerns.

Sincerely,

Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We only stay here when in SD. We love the location, the rooms, the staff, just Everything about this property is above par. and makes out stay in San Diego so much more enjoyable.. oh and it helps that the staff has such a great sense of humor. would recommend this hotel to Anyway needing a place in the San Diego area, that is close to almost everything ( with 15) .. unless of course you-re going to places like Lego land, but still only 45 min away. and we loved there is a restaurant onsite. which good food who also deliver for those days we were to exhausted to go out for dinner, or needed a quick place with good food for breakfast before starting the days activities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tammie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff M, Manager at Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

July 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and posting such a positive review. We appreciate your compliments and feedback in regards to our location, rooms, and staff. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you soon in the future.

Sincerely,

Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

excellant room property very clean excellant staff and close to all main attractions in san diego. will continue to stay at this hotel in the future for all my trips. the manager Rosa Ochoa is an excellent example of what professionalism is all about

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Nice clean room. Secure and quiet location. No complaints at all for the $99 package being part of a meeting.
The meeting room was sizable, comfortable. Again no complaints for the free meeting room which came together with the room packages.
Overall a very positive experience. We had a great productive meeting, in no small part contributed by the restful rooms and the meeting venue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReginaldSLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National City
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,366 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada San Diego National City
#5 of 10 in National City
238 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel

Address: 800 Bay Marina Dr, National City, CA 91950-6406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > National City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in National City
Price Range: £75 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Marina Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Gateway Hotel National City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing