We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cassia Hotels(National City)
US$83
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 National City(National City)
US$85
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
44
72
60
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
72
60
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan diegoroom was cleancomic conawesome staywould stay here againhotel is locatedhot tubfreewaytijuananavytilecaliforniaaccommodations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. Hotel was quite. Our room was clean with exception of the carpet just a little dirty. Staff was very nice and helpful. Breakfast was adequate, just the basics. No problems with wifi, worked just fine. Fast food just down the street, with a little drive (about 1 mile) some very good local restaurants. Naval Base San Diego just about 5 minutes away. Close to the freeway entrance. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smoothsailing333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed here for three nights. The place was clean, beds were great, breakfast was adequate. The room had a microwave and refrigerator which got well used. The owners were replacing these two items in all the rooms, by the way, so many rooms, if not all, have new ones. The construction of the facility ensures that the place is safe. Truck drivers use the facility daily, but the place was quiet and comfortable. The cleaning ladies were efficient and thorough daily.

I would stay here again and found everything more than satisfactory. It is an excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisterb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed for six nights. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave recommendations and directions for places to find a good dinner near by and for places to go and see. They also helped us in finding our way around for the activities we had already planned. The hotel was very convenient for getting around, very close to just about everything. Although the hotel is located near the freeway, it was quiet and with one way in and out, 24 hour desk coverage, and security cameras, we felt safe. We would stay her again and would definitely recommend this as a place to stay for friends and family who are planning a trip to San Diego.

Room Tip: Check on line but call the hotel also.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debra124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

I stayed 10 days. The room was clean. The WiFi always worked. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is very convenient situated, not only by car, but also by trolley or bus. 7 to 10 min walk to the 8th Street trolley station. Very good cost/performance ratio. A good alternative, if you can´t find a cheap hotel in San Diego downtown and don´t mind driving 15min. Taxi costs from the airport: 25$. There is even a small breakfast at the reception (coffee, flakes, pastries, apples).

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mojo_rater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Upon arrival the motel seemed very nice and pleasant. The staff were friendly and immediately checked us in. However, once we entered the room, we quickly checked it out and it didn't take long to find a COCKROACH chilling out in the bath tub. I was not impressed in the slightest. I immediately went and confronted the person at the desk and she was very helpfull and put us in a different room without question.

However, the sheets in the other room were covered with cigarette burns even though we asked for a non-smoking room, I guess they just re-use sheets from each room regardless. A fairly good location for drivers, and quite a good price for a one night stay
as a stop over point.

Apart from the sheets and the cockroach, the rooms were nice and clean, although on the small side. Okay for the money, but nothing fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_boy_called_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hojonc, Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn National City/San Diego South, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2010

We are sorry about the recent incident at the Howard Johnson. We have addressed your issues seriously. First we have called in a pest control to take care of the whole wing of the building just in case his friends were having thoughts of moving in. The sheets in question are being phased out. Our first order of new sheets has arrived. We are sorry for the inconvenience of the unwelcome guest in our hotel. We work hard to maintain our rooms and would love to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy all of San Diego’s great attractions and weather we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews